Vampire Diaries Season Three – Liveblogging/Twitter Competition for Tyler/Caroline fans

Vampire Diaries is one of those shows that just makes you scream at the TV, or bounce in your seat, or some other involuntary motion – it’s impossible to sit still with all of the awesomeness that explodes across your screen.

Many of us take to Twitter, or text other fellow addicts via mobile phone, to squee and ask “have thine eyes seen what mine have?”

On special occasions, like the season three premiere, Julie from www.tvrecappersanonymous.wordpress.com, Amy from www.imaginarymen.wordpress.com and I do a little something I like to call liveblogging (well, when technology doesn’t epically fail on me).

Given that this is The Year of Forwood and Delena, and the Tyler/Caroline squeeage that has resulted from .0001 seconds of promo footage, I thought it would be fun to have a little competition for anyone who wants to get involved.

I’ll give a Forwood Unicorn Survival Kit to whoever writes the funniest or most creative Tyler/Caroline-related comment either posted in our liveblog (kind of like a running Facebook comment thread that anyone can comment in) or tweeted at my Twitter account (now @_spideysense because people didn’t realise @cheriebee27 was also me here on this blog).

This might take the form of a ridiculously funny response to an epic Tyler/Caroline moment. It might be you casting your vote for the season three premiere’s Milo moment. (A new addition to my recapper’s glossary, whereby you vote for the hottest Tyler moment of the week. It’s in honour of Milo Ventimiglia, who is insanely hot and played one of my favourite TV characters of all time, Jess Mariano, who is kind of a prototype for antihero Tyler).

Maybe you will think of a particularly clever way of showing immense disdain for Matt. You might come up with a creative way of using hashtags on Twitter.

Just know that I have a particular weakness for Tyler in black skinny jeans, and should they make their triumphant return in this episode, this is definitely something to comment on ;)

The Survival Kit will contain a Forwood Unicorn shirt courtesy of Julie and Amy’s awesome Cafepress website (I’ll PM the winner asking for their preferred size)…

http://www.cafepress.com.au/fangirlsforever.451689791

… among other things like a tin of Aussie delicacy Milo (chocolately goodness with which I also associate my two favourite boys Tyler and Jess). There might even be handfuls of confetti and glitter thrown in for good measure.

So, while you are kicking back watching the season premiere of TVD, if you feel the need to fangirl like crazy, don’t hold back. Because nothing will shock me, given that when my own Forwood Unicorn shirt arrives from the US, I plan to wear it to the gym as the closest thing to getting all sweaty with Tyler. Hee. I HAVE NO REGRETS! ;)

Stay tuned for news about the liveblog!

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

10 responses to “Vampire Diaries Season Three – Liveblogging/Twitter Competition for Tyler/Caroline fans

  • imaginarymen

    Oh now you’re just taunting me with pics of Jess Whathisface! ;-00

    • Spidey Sense

      Oh, I think you’d be pretty happy to lust over this version of Milo – his role of Peter Petrelli on Heroes (an empath whose powers stem from his ability to connect to people) is far more Paceyish than Jess.

      Hee! I actually have a Jess versus Dean versus Logan versus Marty debate post in the works, which I’m trying to be objective about. Except when it comes to Logan *hate*hate*hate*

      • imaginarymen

        When I will love a character forever, I will then always love the actor who portrayed beloved character (see Ross, Doug/Clooney, George), AND I also will eternally dislike an actor whose character I hated ;-0

        So to this day I have never seen anything w/ Milo whathisface bc he STILL annoys me!

        (Caveat: If hated actor turns their iconic role on its head and makes a snarky masterpiece of it down the line – I reserve the right to change my mind. See van der Beek, James)

        • Spidey Sense

          I know the feeling! I’ve been watching Heroes, and it took a while for me to stop thinking of Milo as Jess, which was a bit of cognitive dissonance because Peter is just the diametric opposite of Jess.

          Poor old Zach Roerig, I watched Friday Night Lights with Matt hatred entrenched in my heart, so my opinion of him as Tyra’s boyfriend was… not kind ;)

          At least Pacey and Music Sex God equalize everything. These men just transcend varying tastes, obviously.

          James van der Beek’s ability to not only turn all that animosity on its head, but to use that animosity for the greater good of snarkery, was a thing of beauty. ;)

  • kjewls

    BEST . . . IDEA . . . EVER! :) You know, I am generally so awful, when it comes to marketing, particularly marketing anything that involves me. And this is why I am SO VERY GRATEFUL to have you and Amy around to “bring the people” to all of our TVD-related events. In short, you guys are my blogging, twittering, competition-having, facebook posting, liveblogging icons / idols. :)

    I just wanted to tell you how much you rule. That is all! ;) My excitement for our upcoming TVD liveblog knows no bounds. I am starting to have liveblogging dreams, if that is any indication. (Kind of wishing I was having Naked Damon dreams instead though. *pouts*)

    • Spidey Sense

      Aww, Julie, you are the liveblogging maven! I always admire the work you and Amy put into preparing polls/images and ability to get VictiMoms in on the act. So, this is a little way of saying thank you – hopefully getting fellow Forwooders as enthusiastic as I am about squeeing about the show. This is why I held back on buying my shirts (thought it would be easier to get all of them sent over in one package).

      If it’s successful, maybe for the next liveblog I can prepare another Forwood kit but then also a non-Forwood related one!

      I am so excited about the premiere to, you have no idea. Half the fun is being able to comment and recap the show with you guys, so liveblogging is the best of both worlds – taking in an awesome new episode while also getting my squees off my chest.

      Don’t worry, KJewls, I have a feeling Soapy!Damon will lead to many Naked Damon dreams once you’ve watched the episode.

  • Gen

    I’m still on the fence on whether I will be live blogging the premiere. One, I have to work that day and I’m probably going to be late to the party if I don’t make it home on time. Plus, I’m a horrible multi-tasker. I’m so excited about the premiere that I want to have my complete focus on the show and not have to worry about live-blogging. At least not for the premiere. This is still up in the air. I’ll probably squee and make non-coherent messages on various media sites during commercials lol.

    • Spidey Sense

      Oh, bb, don’t feel you have to join in with the actual liveblogging while the show is on. I totally understand the need for undivided attention when watching scenes. Feel free to add comments on Twitter or in the liveblog screen during ad breaks and afterwards though ;) I don’t know about you, but with all the feelings we’re gonna be feeling, it would be a nice outlet!

      Tyler/Caroline fandom is going to be insane after this episode, I can just feel it. I can’t wait!

      • Gen

        Oh no, I’m so used to liveblogging during the show I knew I would do it for the premiere, but then that nano-second clip of the TC sex came up and I’m like, nope…must focus lol. I’ll most likely blog during breaks.

        I really hope so. T/C is my mother ship and the only real ship for me on TVD. I know that’s the case with most of the fandom who are first and foremost a DE or SE shipper. So I hope with all my fangirl heart that the TC fandom will not only grow but be happy with 3×01.

        10 MORE DAYS!! AAAAAH!!!!

        • Spidey Sense

          Caroline/Tyler are my major ship too, so I am going to be beside myself on the day, just like you. It really is like having Christmas come early. We have adored these characters for so long and speculated/analysed their interactions so much, that I just can’t even when it comes to the thought of them having sex.

          I’m sure your little liveblogs during the breaks will be hilarious, and I can’t wait to catch up on them after the episode has aired. I might also leave some lewd, sexual innuendo filled tweets on your Twitter feed, be warned!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

