Mixtape Part I – Spidey Damon / Spidette Elena – The Vampire Diaries

Few characters have the wicked chemistry of vampire Damon Salvatore (Ian Somerhalder) and human Elena Gilbert (Nina Dobrev) from the Vampire Diaries. Their relationship is ever-evolving and passionate – we’ve seen them go from enemies to friends and back again, and if Team Delena has our way, there will eventually be sexytimes too!

Damon Elena sexytimes

 

I was stumped about what to post today and was pumping 90s music hoping it would give me inspiration. What can I say, I work best when I’m Getting the Feelin’, having Good Vibrations (the Marky Mark kind, of course!) and Spicing Up My Life. I am not ashamed!

As the cheesiness of this music permeated brain, I thought, OMG what I should do is create a Delena mixtape, charting the different stages of their relationship. After all, we know how much Damon loves to dance…

So here is my soundtrack for Team Delena, dedicated to Julie from TV Recappers Anonymous, Amy from She Liked Imaginary Men Best of All and her awesome TVD-lovin’ mama, and new online pal Trish, the best Delena fangirls on the planet! It is heavily coloured with cheesy 90s pop, so you have been warned, but some classy tracks are thrown in for good measure. Also, unless otherwise credited, the images and picspam are from Vampire Diaries Tumblr.

Mixtape Track #1 – U Remind Me – Usher

Lyrics:

Yo, I ain’t seeing you in a minute, but I got something to tell ya, listen.

See the thing about you that caught my eye
Is the same thing that makes me change my mind
Kinda hard to explain, but girl, I’ll try,
You need to sit down this may take a while
See this girl, she sorta looks just like you
She even smiles just the way you do
So innocent she seemed but I was fooled
I’m reminded when I look at you.

You remind me of a girl that I once knew.
See her face whenever I, I look at you.
You won’t believe all of the things she put me through.
This is why I just can’t get with you.

Thought that she was the one for me,
Til I found out she was on her creep,
Oh, she was sexing everyone, but me.
This is why we could never be.

You remind me of a girl, that I once knew.
See her face whenever I, I look at you.
You won’t believe all of the things she put me through.
This is why I just can’t get with you.

I know it’s so unfair to you,
That I relate her ignorance to you.
Wish I knew, wish I knew how to separate the two
You remind me, whoa…

You remind me of a girl, that I once knew.
See her face whenever I, I look at you.
You won’t believe all of the things she put me through.
This is why I just can’t get with you.

You remind me of a girl, that I once knew.
See her face whenever I, I look at you.
You won’t believe all of the things she put me through.
This is why I just can’t get with you.

Damon & Elena connection:

Ever thought it would be fun to date twins? How about someone’s doppelganger a few generations removed?

When vampire brothers Stefan and Damon Salvatore move back to their hometown of Mystic Falls AKA Sunnydale 2.0, they discover an exact replica of their crazy vampire ex, Katherine Pierce, who they were locked in a twisted triangle with back when they were humans 145 years ago, in the form of Elena Gilbert.

Elena Katherine split image

Stefan is long since over Katherine (or so he says), after discovering that much of his love for Katherine was the result of vampiric compulsion (when you become a vampire you remember compulsion done to you as a human), and has fallen in love with Elena. Damon, on the other hand, not only had been aware of who and what Katherine was while still human, but remains obsessed with her 145 years after being turned into a vampire himself. In fact, his purpose for returning to Mystic Falls is to rescue her from a magically sealed tomb in Mystic Falls he thinks she was trapped in, and in general to be an obligatory psychotic jackass.

In Friday Night Bites (S01E03), Damon, who had exhibited no traces of humanity up until that point in the series, watches a sleeping Elena in her room and gently strokes her face. At this point, I would argue Elena is purely a proxy for Damon’s feelings for Katherine, whose betrayals are yet to come to light, and demonstrates an important point: Damon’s humanity lies in his capacity to love deeply. While his brother Stefan is generally ruled by his head and his calm, rational, logical reasoning, Damon is definitely ruled by his heart.

Damon strokes Elena's sleeping face

 Wish I knew, wish I knew how to separate the two
You remind me, whoa…

These lyrics directly relate to the dynamics between Damon, Elena and Katherine. As Ian Somerhalder said in an interview, Elena has all the qualities of Damon’s “dream girl”, and it is this romanticised version of Katherine that he fell in love with in 1864, not Katherine’s true self. When evidence of Katherine’s deceptions later come to light he learns the hard way how to separate the two: Elena is the compassionate, sympathetic, thoughtful, kind yin to Katherine’s selfish, bats**t crazy yang!
 

Katherine Whore

Though stubborn Damon would probably never admit it about Katherine and her ability to pull the wool over his eyes, I’m sure later on her felt this way when he looked at Elena.

So innocent she seemed but I was fooled
I’m reminded when I look at you.

Katherine is also FAR from a monogamist, sleeping with BOTH Salvatore brothers back in 1864, sometimes on the same night, and getting up to similar naughty minx mischief in the present day.

Thought that she was the one for me,
Til I found out she was on her creep,
Oh, she was sexing everyone, but me.

PS Vampire Diaries exec producers, I would do Nina’s job for FREE…

Mixtape Track #2 – So Real – Mandy Moore

Lyrics:

Innocence is what I got.
It’ll take true love to hit the spot.
Can’t control my every move,
When we’re together we’re in the groove.
Don’t care about your other girls
I’m the only one that rocks your world.
Gonna hafta keep me satisfied,
Because my innocence won’t be denied.
Baby it’s real.
So, so real.
That I just can’t explain the way
That it’s making me feel.
So, so real,
Baby it’s real.
I just can’t let ya go,
Baby it’s real.
Keeps me hanging on,
Baby it’s real.
My heart is under lock and key,
Together we can set it free.
Ain’t no mountain that we can’t climb-
All you gotta do is take your time.
Said I’m giving you my all and all,
Be careful you don’t slip and fall.
It’s my innocence that makes you yearn
For that perfect gift you can’t return.
Baby it’s real.
So, so real.
That I just can’t explain the way
That it’s making me feel.
So, so real,
Baby it’s real.
I just can’t let ya go,
Baby it’s real.
Keeps me hanging on,
Baby it’s real.

Damon & Elena connection:

The strength of Damon and Elena’s relationship is, as Mandy so wisely and sagely sings, that it is SO REAL. The key foundation to the connection they share is honesty and trust, even to an extreme.

Damon Elena trust

Initially, Damon sees Elena as a reminder of Katherine and a way to get under Stefan’s skin by flirting with her, not the true object of his love. Yet there is evidence early on that he sees the real Elena; he looks at her through the lens of his usual snarky cynicism, and sees quite a different Elena to the more idealised version Stefan arguably does.

Take the kitchen scene in Friday Night Bites (S01E03). Damon tells Elena that she should quit being a cheerleader since she looked miserable at practice. Elena is surprised that he noticed this; she had found that certain things that used to matter prior to her parents’ tragic death in a car accident didn’t anymore. This is the beginning of the Delena tendency to cut through to the crux of a matter rather than skirting around an issue. Contrast this with Stefan, who focused on becoming the footback jock to Elena’s cheerleader; a supportive move, certainly, but lacking the insight Damon demonstrated. Don’t get me wrong; I love Stefan and fully intend to do a Stelena mixtape during TVD hiatus, but I think this shows that Damon often understands Elena in a way that no-one else can.

Elena similarly understands the “real” Damon and the feelings beneath the snark. At the point that the kitchen scene occurs, she is not yet in the loop about the brothers being vampires, and thinks that Katherine perished in a tragic accident. She does guess correctly, however, that both brothers had been involved with Katherine, and stuns Damon into silence when she says, “I’m sorry about Katherine… you lost her too”.

Damon possesses the vampiric ability to compel humans not protected by the herb vervain. He has not been above using this power for many things, including using humans as sexy chew toys.

Caroline Damon in bed

There is one instance of trying to compel Elena to kiss him early on, when his mission in life was to annoy the hell out of his baby brother as much as possible. Stefan had been one step ahead and given Elena a vervain necklace that protected her; she gave Damon a bitchslap that left my inner Buffy cheering. He didn’t try to compel her when given the opportunity to, though, in Bloodlines (S01E11) on a Delena road trip Elena found herself on, initially against her will and minus her necklace.

His unwillingness to take advantage of Elena and compromise her agency and free will is highlighted in Fool Me Once (S01E14), in a scene that made its way onto the coveted number one spot of Julie’s indescribably awesome guide to the top Delena moments of season one. Here, Damon is feeling hurt because Stefan and Elena stole the spellbook required to break open the sealed tomb and free his still then lady love Ms Pierce, despite S and E both giving their word that they would help him reunite with Katherine.

Elena goes to the Salvatore mansion to make amends. She doesn’t apologise to Damon because she lied to protect her loved ones, but she knows that freeing Katherine is Damon’s version of the same thing. Elena says, “You and I, we have something. An understanding. And I know my betrayal hurt you – different than it was with Stefan. But I promise you, I will help you get Katherine back.”

Damon is not one to be fooled twice and tells her so, and implies he might have compelled her on their road trip. Elena removes her vervain necklace, places it on a nearby desk, and, completely vulnerable, asks him to compel her to see if she is lying now. Damon picks up the necklace and gently clasps it around her neck again, at the same time admitting, “I didn’t compel you in Atlanta, because we were having fun. I wanted it to be real. I’m trusting you. Don’t make me regret it.”

Damon Elena necklace scene

This mutual exchange of trust was a vital part of the slow burn of their relationship. From this point, Damon and Elena tell one another the truth, even when it is hurtful and the emotional fallout could damage their friendship forever. This, to me, is why the whole snapping-Elena’s-brother-Jeremy’s-neck thing was so jolting, aside from the obvious reasons. This was a deeply personal breach of trust and shook to the very core their unwritten contract that however morally ambigious Damon might be, he had moved beyond the indiscriminant violence of early season one and would not do anything to specifically harm Elena, physically or emotionally.

Also, his reluctance to compel Elena means that the one instance where he has successfully compelled her is all the more powerful.

Other fun ways to link the lyrics to Team Delena:

When we’re together we’re in the groove.

 

Damon Elena dance

Don’t care about your other girls
 

Damon Isobel

Damon and Katherine face off

Seriously, when I went searching through Damon’s black book, I had a sudden image in my head of Damon saying to Stefan, “Hey Brother, let’s have a scotch so I can tell you about all the panties I’ve dropped over the centuries!” I mean, considering his Katherine obsession, he has managed to get quite a bit of action from various girls!

I’m the only one that rocks your world.  

 
Damon Katherine as Elena kiss

OK, I know, I know, this is actually Katherine, but Damon didn't know it at the time!

 It’s my innocence that makes you yearn
For that perfect gift you can’t return.

I think that the “perfect gift” in the case of Delena is Damon switching back on his humanity and feelings. TVD watchers will know that vampires can flip the switch of their humanity on and off, though the recent episode Rose (S02E09) suggests that after a few centuries they lose this ability. Due to his vampiric nature and volatile personality, Damon may not ever be able to give this gift to Elena 100%, but in his speech on her porch in Founders Day (S01E22) he was clearly moved that she had seen some shred of humanity in him left saving. DAMMIT that KATHERINE was actually the recipient of that speech!

Mixtape Track #3 – Damaged – Danity Kane

Lyrics:

Do, Do you got a first aid kit handy?
Do, Do you know how to patch up a wound?
Tell me,
are you patient,
understanding?
Cause I might need some time to clear the hold in my heart and I
I’ve tried every remedy
And nothing seems to work for me
Baby, (baby)
this situation is driving me crazy
And I really wanna be your lady
But the one before you left me so

[Chorus:]
Damaged, damaged
Damaged, damaged
I thought that I should let you know
That my heart is
Damaged, damaged
So Damaged
And you can blame the one before
So how you gonna fix it, fix it, fix it
How you gonna fix it, fix it, fix it
(Baby I gotta know what you are gonna do?)
How you gonna fix it, fix it, fix it
(Baby I gotta know what you are gonna do?)
How you gonna fix it, fix it, fix it
(Baby I gotta know what you are gonna do?)

Do Do you got a first aid kit handy?
Do Do you know how to patch up a wound?
Tell me,
are you patient,
understanding?
Cause I might need some time to clear the hold in my heart and I
You try to gain my trust
Talking is not enough
Actions speak louder than words
You gotta show me something
My heart is missing some pieces
I need this puzzle put together again

[Chorus]

Can you fix my h-e-a-r-t
Cause it d-a-m-a-g-e-d
Can you fix my h-e-a-r-t
Tell me are you up for the challenge
Cause my heart is

Damaged,
Damaged
I thought that I should let you know
That my heart is
Damaged
So Damaged
And you can blame the one before

Damaged,
Damaged
I thought that I should let you know
That my heart is
Damaged
So Damaged
And you can blame the one before
So how you gonna fix it, fix it, fix it
How you gonna fix it, fix it, fix it
How you gonna fix it, fix it, fix it
How you gonna fix it, fix it, fix it

My heart is
Damaged,
Damaged,
Damaged

My heart is
Damaged

Damon / Elena connection:

This song was sung from the perspective of a woman, but just pretend it is a 145-year-old vampire with Blue Steel hotness, OK?

Do you remember that Simpson’s cartoon where Bart gets his heart ripped out of his chest and stomped on by his babysitter? (I tried to get a picture of this but couldn’t find it anywhere). Well, that was child’s play compared with the heartbreak Katherine would cause Damon.

It turned out that Katherine actually hadn’t been trapped in the tomb and had been gallivanting around the world, stalking Stefan over the centuries, and not bothering to check in on Damon because she simply DIDN’T CARE. Burn!

I’ve tried every remedy

I think this lyric is fitting if you rename it to every ALCOHOLANDCOLLEGECOED-related remedy in terms of Damon’s attempt to cope with this considerable steamroll to the heart. I think though that Elena’s genuine friendship and sexual tension-laced hugs are much more effective!

Damon Elena hug

Mixtape Track #4 – Bloodstream – Stateless

Lyrics:

Wake up
Look me in the eyes again
I need to feel your hand upon my face

Words are like knives
They can cut you open
And then the silence surrounds you and haunts you

I think I might I’ve inhaled you
I could feel you behind my eyes
You’ve gotten into my bloodstream
I could feel you floating in me

Words are like knives
They can cut you open
And then the silence surrounds you and haunts you

I think I might I’ve inhaled you
I could feel you behind my eyes
You’ve gotten into my bloodstream
I could feel you floating in me

The spaces in between
Two minds and all the places they have been
The spaces in between
I tried to put my finger on it
I tried to put my finger on it

I think I might I’ve inhaled you
I could feel you behind my eyes
You’ve gotten into my bloodstream
I could feel you floating in me

I think I might I’ve inhaled you
I could feel you behind my eyes
You’ve gotten into my bloodstream
I could feel you floating in me

Damon / Elena connection:

I think it is safe to say that Damon has fallen in love with Elena long before she has had the chance to fall in love with him. Unlike the Stelena insta-love (and look, love at first sight is perfectly legitimate too!), this was a gradual process, which is why I think the chorus is so fitting.

I think I might I’ve inhaled you
I could feel you behind my eyes
You’ve gotten into my bloodstream
I could feel you floating in me

This song speaks about love that hasn’t come quickly, but slowly entered the bloodstream of the singer. I also think that the line “felt you behind my eyes” is a nice reference to Elena and Damon’s unique understanding of one another.

Damon and Elena bond over shared concern for Stefan (though Damon would never admit it!), both when Stefan’s undeadness/life is in peril from the tomb vamps who escape when it is opened and his subsequent descent into blood addiction – Elena had fed him her blood so he could survive, even though he had made a point of only drinking animal blood up until that point in the series. It wasn’t until recent episodes that Damon made his feelings completely explicit, and Elena has always denied reciprocating them with him. However, sexually charged caresses, dances and gazes suggest otherwise!

Damon Elena rose

Damon Elena can't protect you

Damon Elena dance

Thanks KJewls for the awesome pics series

Mixtape Track #5 – Case of the Ex – Mya

Lyrics:

It’s after midnight and she’s on your phone,
saying come over cause she’s all alone.
I could tell it was your ex by your tone.
Why is she calling now after so long?

Bridge:
Now what is it that she wants?
Tell me what is it that she needs?
Did she hear about the brand new Benz that you just bought for me?
Cause ya’ll didn’t have no kids,
didn’t share no mutual friends,
and you told me that she turned trick
when ya’ll broke up in ’86.

Chorus:
Whatcha ‘gon do when u can’t say no?
when the feelings start to show
boy I really need to know, and
How you gonna act? How you gonna handle that?
Whatchu ‘gon do when she wants you back?
Whatcha ‘gon do when u can’t say no?
when the feelings start to show
boy I really need to know, and
How you gonna act? How you gonna handle that?
Whatchu ‘gon do when she wants you back?

There’s no need to reminisce bout the past.
It’s obvious because that sh*t did not last.
I know how a woman will try to game you.
Don’t get caught up because baby you’ll lose.

Bridge:
Now what is it that she wants?
Tell me what is it that she needs?
Did she hear about the brand new Benz that you just bought for me?
Cause ya’ll didn’t have no kids,
didn’t share no mutual friends,
and you told me that she turned trick
when ya’ll broke up in ’86.

Whatcha ‘gon do when u can’t say no?
when the feelings start to show
boy I really need to know, and
How you gonna act? How you gonna handle that?
Whatchu ‘gon do when she wants you back?
Whatcha ‘gon do when u can’t say no?
when the feelings start to show
boy I really need to know, and
How you gonna act? How you gonna handle that?
Whatchu ‘gon do when she wants you back?

Whatcha ‘gon do when u can’t say no?
when the feelings start to show
boy I really need to know, and
How you gonna act? How you gonna handle that?
Whatchu ‘gon do when she wants you back?
Whatcha ‘gon do when u can’t say no?
when the feelings start to show
boy I really need to know, and
How you gonna act? How you gonna handle that?
Whatchu ‘gon do when she wants you back?

Tell me, why she on the phone in the middle of the night?
tell me, why she in yo life tryna get what’s mine?
She don’t know me, she’s about to know me
cause I’m in your life, and that’s how it’s ‘gon be.
I saw a photo, she ain’t even all that
so if you want her back, then take her back.
cause game recognize game,
I can do the same thing
so get a right change
or take back this riiiiiiiiiiiiiing!!!!

Whatcha ‘gon do when u can’t say no?
when the feelings start to show
boy I really need to know, and
How you gonna act? How you gonna handle that?
Whatchu ‘gon do when she wants you back?
Whatcha ‘gon do when u can’t say no?
when the feelings start to show
boy I really need to know, and
How you gonna act? How you gonna handle that?
Whatchu ‘gon do when she wants you back?

Damon / Elena connection:

Hate it when your current love interest’s crazy ex comes back on the scene? They have nothing on the havoc Katherine has managed to wreak upon her return to Mystic Falls in season two!

Katherine HBIC

I'm back, bitches!

Elena’s vamp birth mum Isobel (loooooong story!) had come back into the picture towards the end of season one, and pointed out during a pivotal scene that Damon is in love with Elena. I don’t think Damon had completely admitted his love for Elena, even to himself, at this point. You know why? Because I think deep down he knew he isn’t worthy of Elena like his brother is. Yet.

It wasn’t until Damon kissed Katherine in the seasone one finale, thinking that she was Elena, that he flipped the switch in favour of his human emotions. I think it was very telling that this kiss followed a speech in which Damon thanks Elena for finding something “worth saving” in him. However, the fallout from this moment triggered a series of unfortunate events that would drive a huge wedge between Damon and Elena.

Damon confronts a confused Elena about their kiss in the season two premiere, and suddenly it dawns on him that Katherine has returned. Now, Damon has a habit of calling Elena “our girlfriend” to Stefan, so I am going to take creative licence and say the Case of the Ex song applies here!

There’s no need to reminisce bout the past.
It’s obvious because that sh*t did not last.
I know how a woman will try to game you.
Don’t get caught up because baby you’ll lose.

Damon now knows the depth of Katherine’s betrayal, yet he still manages to get caught up in her game, leading to sexy vamp-on-vamp action.

He puts on the brakes mid-action to ask her whether she ever truly loved him. When she says Bitch, please! – ahem – that she has always loved Stefan, not him, and leaves him to stew in his juices, you just KNOW that the outcome is not going to be good.

Continued in Mixtape Part II!

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

14 responses to “Mixtape Part I – Spidey Damon / Spidette Elena – The Vampire Diaries

  • imaginarymen

    Woo hoo this is great! And all the shout-out’s too! Very awesome!! You are a FanGirl Extraordinaire, we’re the lucky ones to be in your good company ;-))

  • myspideysenseistingling

    You guys make fangirling so much fun! My real thank you pressie is coming though … a Damon-centric mixtape. Mmm! Can’t wait to search for pics for THAT one!

    Hopefully I’ll also be able to get you hooked on some Aussie bands in the process the way you did with me and the Killers!

  • Marc

    I have one question – if Damon is a vampire, and Elena is a human, why hasn’t she had her throat torn out by her ravenous beau?

    Son. I am disappoint.

    • myspideysenseistingling

      Believe me, considering the other diabolical shenanigans Damon gets up to, the fact he hasn’t torn out her throat yet is a huge display of restraint – although if you watch the series you’ll discover he prefers to rip out people’s hearts from their chests… literally!

      On the other hand, it might be because their love is the greatest love to have ever loved 😉

      • Marc

        It’d be perfect though.
        Built up the ‘awwww’ and then SHABANG – missus blood all over his hands as he gorges himself on what was once the greatest thing his heart had ever known.

        Like bringing a kitten home for the kids to play with, then having them discover at dinner time the kittens name is stir fry.

        • myspideysenseistingling

          Haha, you should write some insane Damon/Elena fan fiction and get all the purists up in arms!

          • Marc

            I generally steer clear of fan fics because I don’t like being restricted to someone elses characters. But I like a challenge. I’ll see what I can do.

            I would include Stir Fry as well … but ummmm, I finished off those left overs for lunch. Sorry kitty, you’ve been excluded.
            Tasty though.

            • myspideysenseistingling

              Some of us TVD fans toyed with some Salvatore Sitcom scenarios some time back. Kitty Stir Fry would be a LOLarious inclusion if we ever get this post category off the ground. It would be a Marc TM!

              Your point about fan fics is very true though, but I think highly satirical fics or alternatively parodies give you a lot more scope for creative licence.

              • Marc

                Did I forget to mention that fan fics are also the ultimate decent into nerdy nerdy fanboi/fangirl obsessiveness?
                And leaves you open to the scary, spittle flying scorn of even nerdier, more obsessed fanbois and girls?
                I did a 40k fan fic once. Never again.

              • Marc

                But then again …

                • myspideysenseistingling

                  Haha! I’ll admit that I am yet to do one, but the fact that I have read the Twilight book series means that I am familiar with fan crack fiction of the highest order! The unintentional hilarity of a lot of the fic is what I love.

                  It is pretty damn hilarious that people can selective about what geekery is an acceptable level of obsessiveness. As long as it is funny and somewhat snarky, it is all fine by me 🙂

  • Marc

    From what I’ve seen of fan-fics, they’re mostly about attention seeking anti-social foodges and muppets who can’t handle criticism and think they’re God’s gift to the literary universe.

    • myspideysenseistingling

      I’m sure some are like that, but I know some fan fic writers who are honestly just so in love with the certain worlds that they want to inhabit them and so decide to write the fic as this is the closest thing to actually doing so 😉

  • Where the Falls Meets the Creek: Damon and Elena versus Pacey and Joey | TV Recappers Anonymous

    […] whenever they pop up in daily conversation (which is quite often); the Always Awesome Cherie who analyzes TV couples like nobody’s business; and Madeleine, who’s insightful comment to one of my posts caused me to go on a tirade […]

Leave a Reply

