Mixtape Part II – Spidey Damon / Spidette Elena – The Vampire Diaries

The epic mixtape saga of Damon and Elena from The Vampire Diaries continues! Be sure to read Mixtape Part I so you are all up to speed.

Damon eye thing

OK, I have no real reason for putting this image in here other than that I can!

Mixtape Track #6 – Desperate – The Killers

This track is thanks to Amy from She Liked Imaginary Men Best of All, who introduced me to the awesomeness that is Brandon Flowers!

Lyrics:

Send me away
I’m here on my own
Hammer, stutter now
Lets rock, lets roll now

She says I’m obsessed
I say I’m in love
Hold Me
You’ve done it now
Now send me way out
I feel insecure
And Desperate
But not right now
I feel it now
And you don’t see
The way I see
I’ve got it now
I’m desperate

Desperate
Desperate

I’m better off like this
I’m better off
I’m better off like this

Don’t you know I care
No, no

Desperate
Desperate
Desperate
Desperate

I’m better off like this
I’m better off
I’m better off like this
Don’t you know I care
No, no

I wish I was myself
Again
I wish I was myself
Again

Damon / Elena connection:

At the end of the season two premiere, Damon is waiting for Elena in her room, nursing his newly steamrolled heart. Elena, for her part, obviously cares for him but earlier had said that she was surprised he thought she would kiss him back. A large section of the female Vampire Diaries-watching population begs to differ, but clearly Elena’s mileage varies from ours!

Damon’s mileage also varies: “You’re surprise I thought you would kiss me back? You can’t imagine that I would belive you would want to? You’re the liar Elena. There is something going on between us and you know it. And you’re lying to me and you’re lying to Stefan and most of all you’re lying to yourself.”

She says I’m obsessed
I say I’m in love

Damon tries to force Elena to kiss him following this speech, in what I think was a desperate attempt to validate that he could be worthy of someone like her; that he had not been robbed of the moment he thought he had shared with her by Katherine the way Katherine had taken away so much from him.

To me, this song is about someone who is so madly in love with a girl and is so desperate not to lose her that he would do anything. At the same time, “I wish I was myself again” is the singer saying he doesn’t want to be the destroyed soul he has become because of his obsessive love. Now, if this doesn’t perfectly capture the Katherine/Damon dynamic, I don’t know what else does.

Katherine Whore

Sorry, but this image cannot be used enough to underscore how bats**t crazy Katherine is!

Source

Katherine corrupted Damon, who she tellingly calls “sweet” and “innocent” in the season two premiere – this suggests that he was perhaps even purer of heart than Stefan before he became enthralled by her. However, having been so seduced by his love for Katherine, Damon engaged in morally reprehensible acts, even as an uncompelled (to a degree, anyway) human.

When Elena rejects Damon’s kiss, she tries to be kind and tells him that he is better than this. Then she unwittingly wounds him deeply, saying “I care about you, but it’s always going to be Stefan”. Her words mirror Katherine’s words (at least, the second part) earlier that day. Damon snaps at the realisation that his love for both Katherine AND Elena has been completely unrequited.

He then lashes out in his most impulsive, reckless act so far. Jeremy, Elena’s younger teenage brother, wanders into her room when he overhears part of the intense scene to see if she is okay. Damon snaps Jeremy’s neck (it is worth mentioning that in the season one finale, Jeremy had tried to kill himself with a vampire’s blood in his system in order to become one himself). Jeremy was wearing his uncle’s magical ring that protects against deaths caused by supernatural forces and came back to life, but the damage to Delena had been done.

Rob Pattinson, scholar of Team Delena, puts the situation best:

“He’s essentially self-hating and prone to being self-destructive. And that’s a very typical thing for guys to go through – when you love something so much that you just start compulsively destroying it because you think you’re not good enough.”

(OK, so he was really speaking about Bella and Edward, but his sentiment still applies to the Delena relationship!)

Mixtape Track #7 – I Hate Everything About You – Three Days Grace

Lyrics:

Everytime we lie awake
After every hit we take
Every feeling that I get
But I haven’t missed you yet
Every room-mate that we rape
By every sigh and scream we fake
All the feelings that I get (buttsex)
But I still don’t miss you yet

Only when i stop to think about it

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?
I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?

Everytime we lie awake
After every hit we take
Every feeling that I get
But I haven’t missed you yet

Only when I stop to think about it

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?
I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?

Only when I stop to think about you,
I know
Only when you stop to think about me,
do you know

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?
You hate everything about me
why do you love me?

I hate
You hate
I hate
You love me

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?

Damon/Elena connection:

Understandably, Elena hates Damon for his actions, particularly as her (adoptive) parents died recently in a car crash and Jeremy is one of her few remaining living family members (useless Aunt Jenna is another).

I think it is worth noting in the immediate aftermath of Jeremy’s neck-snapping, Elena is able to understand the reasons behind Damon’s actions: “He doesn’t want to feel, he wants to be hated. It’s just easier that way.”

The reason I chose this specific Hate Song is for the following lyrics:

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?

I think this perfectly encapsulates that, as much as Elena wants to remove Damon from her life entirely after this incident, there is some part of her that is still drawn to him and connected to him in some way. Remember boys and girls, hating someone is the start of a lovestory for the ages!

Elena kisses Stefan in front of Damon

Elena doth protest too much (and kisseth Stefan in front of Damon too much) about hating Damon!

Mixtape Track #8 – I Want You Back – N’Sync

Lyrics:

You’re all I ever wanted
You’re all I ever needed (yeah)
So tell me what to do now cuz
I want you back

It’s hard to say I’m sorry
It’s hard to make the things I did undone
A lesson I’ve learned too well for sure
So don’t hang up the phone now I’m trying to figure out just what to do
I’m going crazy without you

You’re all I ever wanted
You’re all I ever needed (yeah)
So tell me what to do now when I want you back

Baby I remember the way you used to look at me and say
“promises never last forever”
Told you not to worry
I said everything would be all right
I didn’t know then that you were right

You’re all I ever wanted
You’re all I ever needed (yeah)
So tell me what to do now when I want you back

I want you back, yeah
You’re the one I want
You’re the one I need
Girl what can I do?

You’re the one I want, you’re the one I need
Tell me what can I do?

You’re all I ever wanted
You’re all I ever needed (yeah)
So tell me what to do now when I want you back

Damon/Elena connection:

One of the big questions following the Jeremy neck-snapping was whether or not Damon had seen the magical ring on his finger. In Bad Moon Rising (S02E03), Damon comes clean and admits that he didn’t see the ring, but was incredibly thankful that Jeremy had been wearing it. He asks Elena whether he has lost her as a friend forever.

It’s hard to say I’m sorry
It’s hard to make the things I did undone

Damon knows she has every right to hate him for the things he can’t undo. Elena thanks him for his honesty, which I think is worth highlighting – honesty is so important to this relationship that Damon makes this confession even when he knows it could cost him any chance of them sharing a positive connection again.

The sentiment of the song in relation to Delena is pretty self-explanatory.

Mixtape Track #9 – Sway – The Perishers

Lyrics:

I talk to you as to a friend
I hope that’s what you’ve come to be
It feels as though we’ve made amends
Like we found a way eventually

It was you who picked the pieces up
When I was a broken soul
And then glued me back together
Returned to me what others stole

I don’t wanna hurt you
I don’t wanna make you sway
Like I know I’ve done before
I will not do it anymore
I’ve always been a dreamer
I’ve had my head among the clouds
Now that I’m coming down
Won’t you be my solid ground?

I look at you and see a friend
I hope that’s what you wanna be
Are we back now where it all began
Have you finally forgiven me?

You gathered my dreams in
When they all blew away
And then tricked them back into me
You saved me I was almost dead

Damon / Elena connection:

The fact that Elena dates Stefan for some time after the Jeremy neck-snapping and there is a Scooby Gang for dealing with Katherine that she and Damon are both part of means that Delena share moments, whether Elena likes it or not.

It was you who picked the pieces up
When I was a broken soul
And then glued me back together
Returned to me what others stole

I think this is a beautiful summary of how Elena, as Damon’s only true friend aside from Stefan (who he has a ridiculously complicated relatioship with) was the catalyst for him flipping the switch and acknowledging his humanity, which Katherine had stolen piece by piece.

The song also talks about a damaged friendship being repaired.

I talk to you as to a friend
I hope that’s what you’ve come to be
It feels as though we’ve made amends
Like we found a way eventually

AND

I look at you and see a friend
I hope that’s what you wanna be
Are we back now where it all began
Have you finally forgiven me?

Ironically, Damon’s attempts to make amends with Elena via an apology had little effect, but a selfless act he does that is entirely separate to their relationship helps to start make amends. In Kill or Be Killed (S02E05), Damon doesn’t kill Sheriff Liz despite her discovering the Salvatore brothers are vampires and torturing them to the point of death, because he valued the frindship they had shared up until that point. Instead, he chose to keep her under lock and key until the vervain is out of her system and he can compel her into forgetting.

It was also obvious that it hurt Damon to see the dysfunctional nature of Liz’s and baby vamp Caroline’s relationship, because it mirrored his own poor relationship with his father. He sought out Caroline to tell her to stop being so hard on Liz.

Hi Mom

Hi Mom! I promise to be nicer!

Elena witnesses all of this and says later: “What you did for Caroline’s mom? That’s the Damon that was my friend.” Despite this acknowledgement, Damon’s action had nothing to do with Elena and winning her back – proof that he isn’t changing because Elena is a prize he wants to pursue, but because he is becoming better. It also shows that Elena remains invested in his choices and wants him to make the right ones. Nevertheless, their relationship remains pretty strained.

Mixtape Track #10 – Tears of Pearls – Savage Garden

Lyrics:

And we stare each other down
Like victims in the grind
Probing all the weakness
And hurt still left behind and we cry
The tears of pearls
We do it. Oh we do it.
Is love really the tragedy the way you
Might describe?
Or would a thousand lovers
Still leave you cold inside?
Make you cry…
These tears of pearls

[Chorus:]
All these mixed emotions we
Keep locked away like stolen pearls
Stolen pearl devotions we
Keep locked away from all the world

Your kisses are like pearls,
So different and so rare
But anger stole the jewels away
And love has left you bare,
Made you cry…
These tears of pearls

Well I could be the tired joker
Pour my heart to get you in
Sacrifice my happiness
Just so I could win
Maybe cry…
These tears of pearls

[Chorus]

We twist and turn where angels burn
Like fallen soldiers we will learn
That once forgotten, twice removed
Love will be the death…
The death of you

[Repeat chorus]

Damon/Elena connection:

Team Delena fans, I bet you can see where I am leading with this song title, can’t you?

damon tear

Savage Garden is one of my favourite bands of all time, and their poetic lyrics have many interpretations. For me, Tears of Pearls is about two people who care deeply for one another who are locked in an impasse, and they keep hurting one another rather than reconciling their conflicts and differences.

Damon and Elena, at this point in the series, are locked in a similar position. Tentative steps towards a reconciliation aside, they aren’t quite able to return to the relationship they once had. Damon recognises that they have reached a tipping point, and in a Team Delena scene that is epic in every sense of the word (and my vote for #1 spot on the best Delena moments of season two, KJewls!), Damon tells Elena that he loves her.

Here is his declaration in its entirety:

“What I am about to say is… probably the most selfish thing I’ve ever said in my life… I just have to say it once. You just need to hear it. I love you, Elena. And it’s because I love you that… I can’t be selfish with you, and you can’t know this. I don’t deserve you. But my brother does. God, I wish you didn’t have to forget this. But you do.”

Oh, and a tear as beautiful and rare as a pearl runs down his cheek as he compels Elena to forget his words. Sniff!

Crystal Ball Track for the Future – Touch It – Monifah

I’ll let this song speak for itself 😉

So there you have it, Team Delena fans! More mixtapes are in the mix for other Vampire Diaries couples during hiatus, and I will have a Part III for Delena at some point in the future.

Let me know which songs you think perfectly capture Delena moments!

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

16 responses to “Mixtape Part II – Spidey Damon / Spidette Elena – The Vampire Diaries

  • kjewls

    CHERIE! This is AMAZING! You have really outdone yourself! *rushes to download every song referenced in post to her iPod*

    You have basically created the musical BIBLE for Team Delena fans! (And the visual aids aren’t bad either ;)). Tears of Pearls, U Remind Me, Sway *sighs recalling one of her FAVORITE Veronica Mars scenes featuring that song* — All of these songs seem MADE for D and E!

    And your analysis is spot on! I’m absolutely in awe of the way you’ve illustrated the many changes Damon’s and Elena’s relationship has undergone, from the pilot through last week’s episode. Pure perfection! I’m so honored to have been referenced in this work of art. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    If I were you, I would tweet this to EVERYBODY! Vampire Diaries.net, Julie Plec, Kev. Williamson, Ian, Nina, the fansites. This is something to share with the world! You are a TVD GENIUS! 🙂

    • myspideysenseistingling

      *blushes* (and because I have fair skin, it is always a technicolour event :))

      I was listening to Usher like crazy because I’m going to his concert when he comes to next year when U Remind Me came on and I thought OF COURSE, Katherine/Elena/Damon!

      The great thing about this song is that you can take a slightly different interpretation. One of my friends is convinced that Usher is singing about the same girl – just two versions before and after she cheated on the singer and made it tough for him to see her in the same way again. If Damon is right and Elena has some of Katherine’s traits underneatht the surface, in some ways this intepretation is even truer. Who said 90s pop isn’t DEEP 😉

      I’m really excited about the next mixtapes I have in mind – it was so much fun to do the first one! I think I’ll have to do some True Blood ones as well. I actually have an anti-love mixtape in the works for Bill/Sookie, with one track being You’ve Got the Dirtee Love by Florence + the Machine and Dizzee Rascal for the Graveyard Hate Sex scene.

      Oh, and I LOVE that you caught the Veronica Mars song reference. The scene of Veronica and Logan dancing and slowly becoming closer again was definitely the inspiration for the inclusion of that track. I’m not surprised that I love Delena so much considering LoVe is my number ship ever… they share so many similarities (e.g. snarky, jerky but insanely hot and witty boy, smart, knows-what-she-wants-girl, high-stakes and high emotion environment etc).

      And I could hardly do a Delena mixtape without mentioning you, Amy and her VictiMom and Patricia 🙂

  • imaginarymen

    BRAVO!! What a great job you’ve done Cherie! I love making playlists for characters and shows I love – so I am glad to know I am not the ONLY one who does this sort of thing!

    Plus – I mean – you have THE KILLERS for godssakes! And that “She says I’m obsessed, I say I’m in love” is one of my FAVE lyrics of Brandon’s! So I’m very glad to have introduced you to his “awesomeness”.

    I agree w/ Julie – this should be tweeted to TPTB for sure!

    • myspideysenseistingling

      I love the Killers so much now I can’t believe they barely registered on my radar before! Brandon’s lyrics remind me of Savage Garden’s – so beautiful and witty and poetic.

      And it is so easy to overlook how complex and multifaceted the meaning of BF’s words are, given that a lot of Killers tracks are very uptempto and powerhouse rock. I had a TOUGH time choosing just one Killers track to use. They will definitely be making an appearance on future mixtapes!

      “She says I’m obsessed, I say I’m in love” is my favourite Killers line ever. God, I hope they come out to Oz for a tour. I will be FIRST IN LINE for tickets 🙂

      • imaginarymen

        Hey if they go to Australia to tour again – I may just have to make a trip ;-0

        (don’t hold me to that – I’m horrified by the flight time ;-))

        One of the (many) things I love about The Killers is that they are really diverse. Their songs can sound very different – and they’re willing to try sounding different from their other stuff because they’d rather make good music – then just re-hash the same stuff over and over again bc they know it works.

        And they have Brandon ;->

        • myspideysenseistingling

          Oh, believe me, I understand – I’ve made the Australia-America roundtrip twice in economy and am happy to have lived to tell the tale 🙂

          But there is a contingent of fangirls I would love you to meet if you ever did come here!

          Honestly, as hot as Brandon is, it is his way with words that make me melt like a puddle at his feet. And don’t get me started on his voice 🙂

          • imaginarymen

            Yeah – I get so caught up in the swooning and fangirling that I need to remember more that his voice is what made me want to find out all about him in the first place! I could listen to him sing ANYTHING FOREVER and be pretty happy about it 😉

  • Patricia

    Cherie! what an incredible post! What a great description of a great relationship. Now I am on my way to go read everything else you have on this great site. **waves to Amy and Julie** btw, you guys are forcing me to download some Brandon Flowers stuff 🙂

    • myspideysenseistingling

      Awww, thanks for the nice words! I’d like to say I wrote this post purely because I wanted to get all deep and meaningful about the Delena relationship, but I think a large part of it was having an excuse to hunt for Hot Somerhalder pictures to use 🙂 – though the more I analysed Damon/Elena, the more I realised what an AMAZING job the writers have done of creating a multi-layered, ever-evolving connection between them.

      Some people scoff when I say that I love The Vampire Diaries (I think it is the Diaries part of the name that makes them think it will be ridiculously cheesy – not that I have a problem with cheese anyway :)), but the fun of the series and hot men aside, few TV shows or movies in recent memory have made me analyse the character motivations and relationship ingredients so much. I mean, I can and will describe Ian’s pretty blue eyes until the cows come home, but Damon would be a really interesting, complex character even if he looked like the Hunchback of Notre Dame!

      Hope you enjoy all the other stuff on the site, and be sure to download all the Killers stuff you can get your hands on – you won’t be sorry!

    • imaginarymen

      Oh Sweetie – you don’t have to download Brandon Flowers stuff! You know I’ll give you the hook-up ;->>>

      You ladies don’t know how exciting it is for me to have my Obsessive Worlds colliding! Now gotta work on that Julie ;-P

  • Marc

    Well, I’ve got all the Killers albums, don’t have flowers solo stuff though.
    Best album would have to be Sawdust. Why? Because it has a song that features the King of New York – none other than Lou Reed.

    • myspideysenseistingling

      I’m a HUGE fan of The Velvet Underground, though not as familiar with his solo stuff. Is his solo work a radical departure from TVU?

      • Marc

        Yes and no.
        He keeps his distinct sounding ‘noise riff’ sound on guitar, many of the lyrics are very different from what you would expect from the velvet underground.

        Still, my all time favourite song is Venus in Furs. My preference in Velvet Underground probably sways more towards John Cale than Lou Reed.
        That Veolia of his brings me out in goosebumps.

        Anyway, I’m in danger of rambling, but make sure you keep an eye out for The Stone issue 3 – John Zorn, Lou Reed and Laurie Anderson working together.
        Issue 1 is also fantastic – John Zorn, Mike Patton and Bill Laswell.
        And now I’m rambling …

        • myspideysenseistingling

          Hey, never underestimate the value of a good ramble 🙂
          Heck, that’s pretty much why I started this blog… so I could get all my rambles off my chest.

          Plus, your rambles are always interesting and intelligent, so ramble away!

          I will definitely check out Lou Reed’s solo stuff and The Stone issue 3. I think I’ll have to keep the VU in mind for future mixtapes I do too.

          • Marc

            You get some albums by Lou Reed which are really depressing, like Berlin. Some which are weird, like Transformer, but in the end – they’re all brilliant.

  • Get Your Riggins-on-a-thon!! « she liked Imaginary Men best of all

    […] vampires, shirtless men) and this week made me adore her further by proclaiming that because of me she now loves The Killers (in a Damon-centric post no less!) Hey I don’t make money on this blog – but you know […]

Leave a Reply

