Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Stefan & Spidette Elena Part I – The Vampire Diaries

 

Stefan Elena cute bed scene Credit Vampire Diaries Tumblr

The Vampire Diaries is that rare show where I am almost equally invested in all points of its love triangle. Though I have become a rabid Delena fan recently, I still have a soft spot for the coupling of Stefan and Elena. As true SEsters are rare in my corner of the internet, I was excited to become Twitter friends recently with Jesse, an avid Stelena fan who has an awesome blog of her own. So this mixtape is dedicated to Jesse, who has reminded me that the flutterings of first love that has come quickly has its place just as much as the burn of love that has come slowly.

Unless otherwise credited, all picspam is from Vampire Diaries Tumblr.

Oh, and for Delena fans feeling mutinous about this post, here is my gift to you:

Post coital Stefan

I compel you not to be mad at Spidey Sense!

Mixtape Track #1 – Cut – Plumb

Lyrics:

I’m not a stranger
No I am yours
With crippled anger
And tears that still drip sore
A fragile frame aged
With misery
And when our eyes meet
I know you see

(chorus)
I do not wanna be afraid
I do not wanna die inside just to breathe in
I’m tired of feeling so numb
Relief exists I find it when
I am cut

I may seem crazy
or painfully shy
And these scars wouldn’t be so hidden if you would just look me in the eye
I feel alone here and cold here
No I don’t wanna die
But the only anaesthetic that makes me feel anything
Kills inside

(chorus)
I do not wanna be afraid
I do not wanna die inside just to breathe in
I’m tired of feeling so numb
Relief exists I find it when
I am cut

I am not alone
I am not alone

I’m not a stranger
No I am yours
With crippled anger
And tears that still drip sore

(chorus)
I do not wanna be afraid
I do not wanna die inside just to breathe in
I’m tired of feeling so numb
Relief exists I find it when
I was cut

stefan-elena-picnic

Stefan/Elena Connection:

I think Julie Plec captured the essence of the Stelena relationship best: she said it’s about a girl who feels dead inside and a boy who IS dead inside who bring each other back to life.

I know that some feel the lyrical content of this song was a strange backdrop for the first Stelena love scene, but I think it was a poignant reminder of the healing power the connection Stefan and Elena share has brought into their lives. This song is all about living through pain. Taken literally, it is about someone who cuts themselves in order to feel. But the song can also be interpreted figuratively, and be seen as referring to any kind of self-destructive behaviour. Stefan and Elena aren’t outwardly self-destructive in the way that Damon is, but when they first meet they have turned inward to the point that they feel numb and lifeless emotionally. Stefan has become this way by, in his own words, “hiding in the darkness” from the human world due to his vampirism; in Elena’s case the recent tragedy of her parents’ deaths has caused her to become a shadow of her former lively self.

I do not wanna be afraid
I do not wanna die inside just to breathe in
I’m tired of feeling so numb

A comet passes over Mystic Falls early in season one, and is viewed by some as a harbinger of evil to come. Stefan, on the other hand, describes the comet this way: “You know, that comet has been travelling across space for thousands of years all alone. I think it’s just a ball of snow and ice trapped on a path that it can’t escape and once every 145 years it gets to come home”. Let’s face it, this is a pretty on-the-nose metaphor from the perspective of an EXTREMELY unsentimental person like me, but effective nonetheless.

Metaphor comet

Source

At this point in the series, Stefan could be likened to the comet – no, not because he is a ball of ice and snow, but because turning into a vampire, though something he embraced initially, has become a cursed, lonely path that he is trapped on. He has been closed off emotionally for 145 years, but being with Elena represents his chance of “coming home”. Similarly, being with Stefan is the one thing that has allowed Elena to feel good for the first time since her parents died.

So no, it is no accident that Stelena’s first kiss occurs against the backdrop of the comet flying across the nightsky on the brightest night of its orbit towards Mystic Falls. Also, hence the significance of the line echoed by both Stefan and Elena in Night of the Comet (S01E02) that “today will be different”.

Mixtape Track #2 – Strange and Beautiful – Aqualung

Lyrics:

I’ve been watching your world from afar
I’ve been trying to be where you are
And I’ve been secretly falling apart
Unseen

To me, you’re strange and you’re beautiful
You’d be so perfect with me
But you just can’t see
You turn every head but you don’t see me

I’ll put a spell on you
You’ll fall asleep
I’ll put a spell on you
And when I wake you, I’ll be the first thing you see
And you’ll realize that you love me

Yeah, yeah

Sometimes the last thing you want comes in first
Sometimes the first thing you want never comes
I know that waiting is all you can do, sometimes

I’ll put a spell on you
You’ll fall asleep
I’ll put a spell on you
And when I wake you, I’ll be the first thing you see
And you’ll realize that you love me

I’ll put a spell on you
You’ll fall asleep
I’ll put a spell on you
And when I wake you, I’ll be the first thing you see
And you’ll realize that you love me

Yeah, yeah
Yeah, yeah

Stefan/Elena Connection:

Stefan was initially drawn to Elena due to her identical resemblance to Katherine, the female vampire involved in a twisted ménage a trois with him and his brother Damon while they were still human.

I’ve been watching your world from afar

Stefan investigated Elena’s background, even going so far as to look up her birth certificate, to find out if Katherine (who at that point he thought had gone to the final death) had come back, or perhaps to see if Elena was some kind of reincarnated version of our Kitty Kat. Now, this investigation has some shades of Edward Cullen about it, and some people actually read this song as being about stalking, but let’s just chalk it up to vampiric intensity. Intensity like this:

Insanely hot Stefan stare

Stefan soon found himself falling in love with Elena from afar, because he could see her warmth, sweetness and compassion, qualities so different to those possessed by Katherine.

To me, you’re strange and you’re beautiful
You’d be so perfect with me

It got to the point where, say it with me, Stefan “knew the risks, but he had to know her” – as KJewls would say, thank you season one previouslies – I couldn’t have written this mixtape without you!

My favourite lyrics in the song are the following:

Sometimes the last thing you want comes in first
Sometimes the first thing you want never comes
I know that waiting is all you can do, sometimes

Waiting for the one thing you want can be so hard yet waiting is all you can do. Sometimes, what you wait for never comes. In Stefan’s case, what he has been waiting several lifetimes for is true, and yes epic, love. Like Damon, in many ways he has been waiting for the girl who would be the person Katherine had presented herself to be when they first met.

Mixtape Track #3 – 7 Days – Craig David

Lyrics:

On my way to see my friends
who lived a couple blocks away from me (owh)
As I walked through the subway
it must have been about quarter past three
In front of me
stood a beautiful honey with a beautiful body
She asked me for the time
I said it’d cost her name
a six digit number & a date with me tomorrow at nine

Did she decline? No
Didn’t she mind? I don’t think so
Was it for real? Damn sure
What was the deal? A pretty girl aged 24
So was she keen? She couldn’t wait
Cinnamon queen? let me update
What did she say? She said she’d love to
rendezvous
She asked me what we were gonna do
said we’d start with a bottle of moet for two

(Chorus)

Monday
took her for a drink on Tuesday
we were making love by Wednesday
and on Thursday & Friday & Saturday we chilled on Sunday
I met this girl on Monday
took her for a drink on Tuesday
we were making love by Wednesday
and on Thursday & Friday & Saturday we chilled on Sunday

(Verse 2)

Nine was the time
cuz I’ll be getting mine
and she was looking fine
Smooth talker
she told me
She’d love to unfold me all night long
Ooh I loved the way she kicked it
from the front to back she flipped it (back she flipped it, ooh the
way she
kicked)
And I oh oh I yeah
hope that she’d care
cuz I’m a man who’ll always be there

Ooh yeah
I’m not a man to play around baby
Ooh yeah
cuz a one night stand isn’t really fair
From the first impression girl hmm you don’t seem to be like that
Cuz there’s no need to chat for there’ll be plenty time for that
From the subway to my home
endless ringing of my phone
When your feeling all alone
all you gotta do
is just call me call me

(Chorus)

Monday
took her for a drink on Tuesday
we were making love by Wednesday
and on Thursday & Friday & Saturday we chilled on Sunday
I met this girl on Monday
took her for a drink on Tuesday
we were making love by Wednesday
and on Thursday & Friday & Saturday we chilled on Sunday

(Break it down, break it down)
Since I met this special lady
ooh yeah
I can’t get her off my mind
She’s one of a kind
And I ain’t about to deny it
It’s a special kind of thing
with you-oh…….

Chorus

Monday
took her for a drink on Tuesday
we were making love by Wednesday
and on Thursday & Friday & Saturday we chilled on Sunday
I met this girl on Monday
took her for a drink on Tuesday
we were making love by Wednesday
and on Thursday & Friday & Saturday we chilled on Sunday, Sunday Sunday Sunday….

Stefan Elena lost girls

Stefan/Elena Connection:

On the topic of epic love, one of the major problems I’ve had with Stelena is their “poof! we’re! in! love!” relationship, the kind of relationship on speed described in the 7 Days song. Basically, as an audience, we were told that they are an epic couple from the word go without really seeing any convincing evidence to this effect initially for non-believers in love at first sight like me – I actually think their true epicness as a couple came later.

The more I analysed their relationship for this mixtape, the more I realised that the reason for their break up circus in the first half of season one is because their love WASN’T epic or settled at this point. Like any normal couple their relationship was tested and shaky before it began to form a firm foundation; vampire hijinks just heightened this phase of coupledom. Elena and Stefan’s insta-love was in many ways them being swept up in coming alive for the first time in so long, but their epic love wouldn’t develop until later in the first season.

Mixtape Track #4 – Human – The Killers

Lyrics: 

I did my best to notice
When the call came down the line
Up to the platform of surrender
I was brought but I was kind

And sometimes I get nervous
When I see an open door
Close your eyes, clear your heart
Cut the cord

Are we human or are we dancer?
My sign is vital, my hands are cold
And I’m on my knees looking for the answer
Are we human or are we dancer?

Pay my respects to grace and virtue
Send my condolences to good
Hear my regards to soul and romance
They always did the best they could

And so long to devotion
It taught me everything I know
Wave goodbye, wish me well
You’ve got to let me go

Are we human or are we dancer?
My sign is vital, my hands are cold
And I’m on my knees looking for the answer
Are we human or are we dancer?

Will your system be all right
When you dream of home tonight
There is no message we’re receiving
Let me know, is your heart still beating?

Are we human or are we dancer?
My sign is vital, my hands are cold
And I’m on my knees looking for the answer
Are we human or are we dancer?

You’ve got to let me know

Are we human or are we dancer?
My sign is vital, my hands are cold
And I’m on my knees looking for the answer
Are we human or are we dancer?

Brandon Flowers hearts Amy

Hi Amy! Just so you know, a weekend with you is never long enough.

Source

One of the most important aspects of the Stelena relationship, which was in place from the early days of the first season, is Stefan’s respect for Elena’s free will and agency. Vampires have the ability to compel humans not protected by the herb vervain to do their will, and Stefan could easily have taken advantage of this fact before Elena found out that Mystic Falls is Sunnydale 2.0, but chose not to.

Stefan vervain

In this particular Killers song, the key theme is the idea of being a puppet (“dancer”) in contrast to being a human. For instance, the play on words “My sign is vital, my hands are cold” implies that as a “dancer” the singer is lifeless; similarly “cut the cord” gives the impression of a puppet on strings. To be a “dancer” is to be someone’s puppet controlled by someone else’s cords, whereas to be fully human if to have free will and choice.

Stefan had experienced being a “dancer” himself. He was compelled to continue loving Katherine against his will after recoiling in horror when she revealed the demon beneath her human façade. However, the power of prior compulsion drops once one has become a vampire, and vampires remember all acts of compulsion committed against them. As Stefan would later say, it took years for him to sort out exactly what Katherine had done to him and Damon.

Stefan Elena necklace

In Friday Night Bites (S01E03), Stefan gives Elena a vervain necklace at the gift, the significance of which she doesn’t realise at the time. It is a token of his great respect for Elena’s agency; he doesn’t want her to fall into a similar situation where she is compelled to do something she doesn’t want to do. This holds true even when the pair aren’t being lovey dovey.

Stefan lexi cute scene

For example, when Stefan and Elena are estranged in162 Candles (S01E08) following her discovery that he is a vampire, Stefan’s best vampire friend Lexie comments that Stefan could compel her into forgiving him. Stefan’s answer? “She has to want to be with me, on her own terms.” Stefan and Elena’s mutual respect is one of the strongest ingredients of their relationship. Another illustration of the importance Stefan places on Elena being free to make her own choices is his way of dealing with her reaction to finding out he is a vampire in Lost Girls (S01E05): “Elena, give me today. I will answer any questions that you have. And when it’s over, you can decide for yourself what you wanna do with what you know. It will be your choice.” It’s also why he tried to counter Elena’s decision to ask Damon to compel Jeremy to forget Vicki’s death (S01E07). Stefan’s suffering at being denied his own free will with Katherine has clearly shaped the kind of relationship he wants to have with Elena.

Continued in Spidey Stefan & Spidette Elena Mixtape Part II!

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

5 responses to “Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Stefan & Spidette Elena Part I – The Vampire Diaries

  • Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Stefan & Spidette Elena Part II – The Vampire Diaries « myspideysenseistingling

    […] Stelena Mixtape saga continues! Be sure to read Spidey Stefan & Spidette Elena Mixtape Part I to make sure you are up to speed. Again, all picspam is from Vampire Diaries Tumblr unless […]

  • Jesse

    As you know, here’s my second comment… Hope my computer won’t mess up again!

    OH MY SALVATORE!! I’ve waited sooo long for this blog post, and as it seems it’s all been worth the wait!

    First off, THANK YOU sooo much for dedicating this mixtape to me!! and you’ve mentioned my little german blog as well! I’ve no idea how I can make up for that!!(Can I actually say this like that?)

    The songs & the pics you’ve chosen for this part were fantastic!! This is something all SEsters have been waiting for, and I’ll spread the word for sure! I wanna thank you for taking your time working on a couple you don’t actually ship and still making this epic post! That’s great!

    Okay, I’ll start my real babbling now(that’s what you’ve been waiting for ;))

    “Cut” – This song is perfect! It’s one of my favs and once you forget about the literally meaning of it and dug deeper into its meaning – just like you did – you can see how it perfectly fits SE! This is THE SE song!(Okay, I haven’t read the second part yet, but so far… :))

    Stefan: “once every 145 years it gets to come home”
    Soo true. He’s been hiding so long, and when he fell for Elena, he certainly was “coming home” – which reminds me of the OneRepublic song 😉

    “Strange & beautiful” I didn’t know that song yet, but as I listened, it turned out to fit just as neatly in their relationship as “Cut” did(and prob every other song you’d picked!)!
    Of course Stefan was fascinated by the similar looks from Elena and Katherine, but as ypu pointed out, he didn’t let that fool himself. He stood back watching her, and fell for her.

    Your fav lyrics of that song match mine! When SE fell in love, Stefan finally found the one who truely and passionately loves him BACK even without being compelled to do so(I know you’ve mentioned that one later!) and he so deserves that!

    I know, you’re going to say: “Damon deserves that too”, and I’m not going to disagree on that point. The only thing I’m saying is that it obviously shouldn’t be Elena but another girl! (and yes, I’m all for Bamon!)
    Quoting Elena: “I care about you, but I love Stefan. It’s always gonna be Stefan.” – Do I need to say anymore?? 🙂

    Let me tell you a story about love at first sight(and yes, this is actually TRUE!): My best friend fell for her boyfriend when they first met, they became a couple 2 days after, and they still are. It started out 4 years ago and they will get married next year.

    So, yeah, I’m a beliver in that point, and it’s not soo fast that SE fell for each other, just like you’ve said.

    And it’s true, you’re right. Epicness isn’t just “there” at the beginning of a love story. It develops, it needs time to grow and sometimes it needs to overcome difficulties (or break ups). But in the end, that doesn’t change the way they feel about each other. Love isn’t just going away.

    You notice that you put Craig David up twice?? It says the Killers(great song, btw) but it’s Craig David’s vid… 😉

    Did I tell you that I love the references you make to Buffy?? That reminds me of my mom(she watches TVD, but isn’t as obsessed as I am). A few days ago, we talked, and out of the blue she was saying: “You know how much TVD reminds me of the Buffy/Angel/Spike drama?? Well, at least Elena and Stefan can have sex, they are sooo lucky nowadays.” I laughed so hard about this! 😉

    And… oh my gosh I love “Lost Girls” when she finds out and I kept wishing that she wouldn’t run and keep her distance, and I was so happy when Elena didn’t!! When you feel soo much for the other, it doesn’t matter what or who he is, as long as he loves you back. And that’s just so special about SE….

    Continued in part 2!

    THANKS again for this blog post! I love ya!

    Oh and just a random thought… “Beauty & the Beast” (Celine Dion) keeps running through my head. I’d say it fits them very well, too!
    And I wanna see the Disney movie again… 😉

    (Have I already mentioned: You MADE my day!!!)

    read more on part 2!

    • Spidey Sense

      I giggled with as much glee as Elena did when Stefan dipped her during the dance scene in Unpleasantville when I saw this comment. Sorry it has taken me a little while to respond to; I wanted to make sure I could do your AWESOME replies justice :). You made my WEEK! Reading clever, witty fangirl comments is what I love best about blogging!

      BTW, your blog is so clever and funny and feeds my TVD obsession; I’ve added you to my blogroll because you deserve it!

      I’m so excited you liked the mixtape!! You are without doubt the most amazing SEster I know, so once I posted it I thought “I can’t wait to read what Jesses says about it!” The funny thing is, even though I consider myself a Delena shipper, there is still part of me that just can’t help but want Stelena to work everything out and stay together.

      I truly can’t think of another show where I have shipped one couple yet regularly felt torn about who truly deserves to end up with the heroine (as she usually seems to be the centre point of these triangles).
      I completely agree that Cut is the signature Stelena song, just like I consider Bloodstream to be the signature Delena song and Enjoy the Silence the signature Damon one. I think the imagery of the lyrics really suits two normal people suffering pain even if they were both human; the vampire aspect just adds a whole other layer of meaning.

      Strange and Beautiful has been one of my favourite songs for so long – stripped back, simple, haunting and slightly melancholy but also hopeful. As much as I analysed the lyrics of the songs, I also tried to include songs that just evoke a sound that suit Stelena – because after all we experience songs aurally as well as lyrically. I was thinking about this yesterday and a track that would have worked really to capture early Stelena in this way is Comfort You by Eskimo Joe, an amazing Australian band, which is almost purely instrumental apart from a brief refrain.

      You know, it is funny, as much I love Delena, I actually don’t think he is worthy yet of Elena. I’m a very demanding fangirl and want him redeemed further (minus being woobified) before he ever actually deserves to properly kiss Elena, because otherwise I’ll feel a little cheated out of the potential emotional impact.
      Oh, you’re a Bamon fan?! I’ll be doing a mixtape for them at some point. I am a bit of a Jonnie fan but more because I think Steven R McQueen is smoking hot than anything else and want to see him get hot and heavy with someone, but Damon’s little “Judgy” nickname made me very happy inside (partly because I miss Sawyer’s nicknames so much) 🙂

      That’s an amazing story about your best friend and love at first sight. Who knows? Maybe I experience it myself one day!

      I LOLed about Buffy. Your mum is so right – however tragic the circumstances of TVD vamps may be, at least they can get it on without worrying about losing their souls . Actually, unlike most Buffy vamps, these vamps seem to have more capacity for humanity and control. Angel had to be cursed with a soul, the human personalities and feelings seem to remain intact for people who have been vamped on TVD. I think Caroline is a perfect example of this.

      Hmm, different vamp temperaments… future post idea!

      Also, love Disney and love ya too 😉

  • imaginarymen

    “OH MY SALVATORE” is my new Exclamation of Choice! Thanks Jesse!

    Awww – a TK song AND a “message from Brandon”? You know the way to a Blogger Girl’s Heart Miss SpideySense!!!

  • Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Stefan & Spidette Katherine – The Vampire Diaries « myspideysenseistingling

    […] and there is a slightly obsessive quality to the way that he pursued Elena. As I argued in my Stelena Mixtape, despite their proclamations at the very start of the series, I personally don’t believe […]

Leave a Reply

