Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Stefan & Spidette Elena Part II – The Vampire Diaries

Stefan abs

This pic is part two of my charm offensive to win over mutinous Delena lovers with this post. Is it working?

The Stelena Mixtape saga continues! Be sure to read Spidey Stefan & Spidette Elena Mixtape Part I to make sure you are up to speed. Again, all picspam is from Vampire Diaries Tumblr unless otherwise credited.

Mixtape Track #5 – One Line – PJ Harvey

Lyrics:

Do you remember the first kiss?
Star shooting across the sky
To come to such a place as this
You never left my mind

I’m watching from the wall
As in the streets we fight
This world all gone to war
All I need is you tonight

And I draw a line
To your heart today
To your heart from mine
A line to keep us safe

All through the rising sun
All through the circling years
You were the only one
Who could have brought me here

And I draw a line
To your heart today
To your heart from mine
A line to keep us safe
And I draw a line
To your heart today
To your heart from mine
And pray to keep us safe

Watch the stars now moving
Across the sky
Keep this feeling
Safe tonight

Stefan/Elena connection:

For me, One Line is about two things. First, it describes two people who love one another but have been separated by circumstances reconnecting (“And I draw a line, to your heart today, to your heart from mine”). At the same time, the song also shows the vulnerability inherent in relationships, and that there are areas of one another’s lives that two lovers can’t always protect (“This world all gone to war, all I need is you tonight”; “And pray to keep us safe”).

 

Stefan Elena sex scene

In The Turning Point (S01E10), Stefan had planned to leave Mystic Falls because he believed that by leaving he would remove the dangers felt he brought into Elena’s life along with his love. But in a moment of intense, heightened passion, Elena tells Stefan “I know you think you brought all this bad stuff into my life, but it was already there. I was drowning in it.” And she tells him that if he leaves it will be for him, not for her, in one of my favourite kickass heroine moments of all time. As the song so simply and powerfully describes, there is always some degree of madness in life, but the key is finding the person who can navigate that madness with you. Elena’s subsequent declaration of love for Stefan leads to a sex scene that touched my icy, cold, Delena-loving heart.

Plus how perfectly does this couple’s backstory work with the first part of the song?

Do you remember the first kiss?
Star shooting across the sky
To come to such a place as this

Stefan Elena first kiss

Stefan and Elena's first kiss. Because of the bad lighting, you're just gonna have to trust me!

Metaphor comet
Source

In a supernatural world like Mystic Falls, it is impossible to ensure a loved one’s safety, so sometimes all that you can do is “keep this feeling safe tonight”. In Unpleasantville (S01E12), at a dance fraught with danger because Elena is being pursued by a mysterious vampire, Stelena sweetly keep the feeling between them safe in a simple scene that I think speaks volumes about them. Elena begs Stefan to show her some 1950s moves at a decade-themed dance. Stefan, being naturally reserved, initially refuses. In the face of her disappointment, however, he dips, spins and finally kisses her with a vigour you would think would be impossible when Elena is in mortal danger. Similarly, in Brave New World (S02E02), Stefan reminds Elena of the importance of living the life he came to Mystic Falls to have with her by Edward Cullening her to the top of a rollercoaster. Stelena’s ability to seize moments of happiness and joy even in “this world all gone to war” is part of what makes them such a great couple.

Mixtape Track #6 – It is you (I have loved) – Dana Glover

Lyrics:

There is something that I see
In the way you look at me
There’s a smile, there’s a truth in your eyes

But an unexpected way
On this unexpected day
Could it mean this is where I belong
It is you I have loved all along

It’s no more mystery
It is finally clear to me
You’re the home my heart searched for so long
And it is you I have loved all along

There were times I ran to hide
Afraid to show the other side
Alone in the night without you

But now I know just who you are
And I know you hold my heart
Finally this is where I belong
It is you I have loved all along

It’s no more mystery
It is finally clear to me
You’re the home my heart searched for so long
And it is you I have loved all along

Over and over
I’m filled with emotion
Your love, it rushes through my veins

And I am filled
With the sweetest devotion
As I, I look into your perfect face

It’s no more mystery
It is finally clear to me
You’re the home my heart searched for so long
And it is you I have loved
It is you I have loved
It is you I have loved all along

Stefan/Elena Connection:

Stefan has clearly always been afraid of what Elena’s reaction would be to the discovery that he is a vampire, and later what she would see the dark side he tries to keep under wraps by staying on a bunny-only diet. When he first discovered what Katherine was as a human, he was repulsed: “your face, it was like a demon”. I think his greatest fear was that Elena would similarly see him as a monster and turn away from him, because unlike Katherine, he would never compel her to stay with him anyway.

There were times I ran to hide
Afraid to show the other side
Alone in the night without you

Stefan's vamp face

During their first sex scene, Stefan turns away in shame when he vamps out, but Elena tells him not to hide away from her. Then she lovingly touches and passionately kisses his vamped out face until his human visage returns. In other words, she accepts Stefan for who he is. Her faith in him and belief in his goodness remains even when he becomes addicted to human blood later in the first season and reveals a darkness that up until then she hadn’t seen. It was only during this story arc, in the episode Blood Brothers (S01E20) that the true epicness of their relationship became apparent to me.

stefan tries to intimidate elena

Elena saw the ugliest sides of Stefan in this episode; in flashback it was revealed Stefan forced Damon to turn into a vamp against his will, and when he tried to physically frighten her away from him by pinning her against a dungeon wall. Elena refused to be intimidated and walk away. That, to me, is epic love, so different to the infatuation that we first saw blossom between the pair.

Mixtape Track #7 – Bleeding Love – Leona Lewis

Lyrics: 

Closed off from love
I didn’t need the pain
Once or twice was enough
And it was all in vain
Time starts to pass
Before you know it you’re frozen

But something happened
For the very first time with you
My heart melts into the ground
Found something true
And everyone’s looking round
Thinking I’m going crazy

But I don’t care what they say
I’m in love with you
They try to pull me away
But they don’t know the truth
My heart’s crippled by the vein
That I keep on closing
You cut me open and I

Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
I keep bleeding
I keep, keep bleeding love
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
You cut me open

Trying hard not to hear
But they talk so loud
Their piercing sounds fill my ears
Try to fill me with doubt
Yet I know that the goal
Is to keep me from falling

But nothing’s greater
Than the rush that comes with your embrace
And in this world of loneliness
I see your face
Yet everyone around me
Thinks that I’m going crazy, maybe, maybe

But I don’t care what they say
I’m in love with you
They try to pull me away
But they don’t know the truth
My heart’s crippled by the vein
That I keep on closing
You cut me open and I

Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
I keep bleeding
I keep, keep bleeding love
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
You cut me open

And it’s draining all of me
Oh they find it hard to believe
I’ll be wearing these scars
For everyone to see

I don’t care what they say
I’m in love with you
They try to pull me away
But they don’t know the truth
My heart’s crippled by the vein
That I keep on closing
You cut me open and I

Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
I keep bleeding
I keep, keep bleeding love
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
You cut me open and I

Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
I keep bleeding
I keep, keep bleeding love
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
You cut me open and I
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love

Stefan/Elena Connection: 

Like other songs in this mixtape, the lyrics of Bleeding Love address the idea of being emotionally closed off because of experiencing pain and taking the risk to open your heart again. The chorus actually has quite literal relevance to the Stelena relationship due to the final scene of Kill or Be Killed (S02E05).

You cut me open and I
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love

Earlier in the episode, Stefan is brutally honest about his need to start transitioning into a human blood diet so that he can be strong enough to protect Elena from Katherine. It is debateable how much difference human blood would have really made in this instance, given Katherine is older and therefore a stronger vampire than Stefan. I believe that a large part of his decision to take in human blood was to finally stop fighting his vampiric nature as he has been for over a century by staying on a strict bunny-only diet. Even Damon acknowledged that Stefan needs “people’s blood”. Elena was deeply concerned about this choice given her earlier experiences with Stefan on human blood, and the pair had a rare fight about the issue.

Stefan tastes Elena picspam

Stefan takes sip of Elena

However, in a post-fight scene that showed the intensity of the connection between Stefan and Elena, Elena offered him sips of her own human blood. The confluence between blood and passion is shown when they make out hotter than I had ever seen them do. Now, I doubt that I need to go into the symbolism of blood sharing and the emotional and erotic intimacy it implies, but the important thing to take away from this moment is that Stefan and Elena have been bonded in a way that hadn’t been possible before this, because this act represents her total acceptance of his nature. As a Delena supporter, I’d like to point out that Damon was the catalyst for this moment, showing his growing selflessness for the happiness of Elena and his brother.

Mixtape Track #8 – Even When I’m Sleeping – Leonardo’s Bride

Lyrics:

Don’t be confused by my apparent lack of ceremony, my mind is clear.
I may be low or miles high off in the distance, I want you near.
I love you
Even when I’m sleeping.
When i close my eyes you’re everywhere.
And if they take me flying on the magic carpet, see me wave.
If our communication fails I’ll reconnect it, I want to rave.
I love you
Even when i’m sleeping.
When i close my eyes you’re everywhere.
No matter where the road is leading us remember don’t be afraid.
We have a continent that sometimes comes between us, that’s ok.
I love you
Even when I’m sleeping.
When I close my eyes you’re everywhere…

As mentioned earlier, one of Stelena’s strengths has been their ability to be a stable couple despite the madness that swirls around them. Elena has been willing to be with Stefan because she understands that he isn’t the sole reason that there is peril in her life; this was underscored by the revelation that her status as Katherine’s doppelganger is responsible for much of the supernatural drama that has recently come into her life. However, she knows that Stefan being a vampire and the baggage (i.e. Damon and Katherine!) he carries intensifies the danger in her own life. Unlike the night of her first love scene with Stefan, where she talked about all the bad things in HER life, she has since been more focussed on the danger that being with Stefan could cause her family and friends. Seeing Useless Aunt Jenna stab herself in Plan B (S02E6) as a result of compulsion from Katherine was the final straw and led her to break up with him even though the pair still deeply loved one another.

Aunt Jenna stabs herself

I won't lie. This was a strangely cathartic scene for me.

For me, Even When I’m Sleeping speaks of love that still exists between two people who are kept separate by circumstances (“I may be low or miles high off in the distance, I want you near”) but remain connected regardless (“If our communication fails I’ll reconnect it”). Stefan’s hug for Elena during her mini-breakdown at the end of Katerina (S02E09) shows that their bond remains intact and transcends being boyfriend and girlfriend.

As much as the beautiful path of Stelena means that part of me would love to see the pair reunited, a slightly larger part of me thinks, hmmm, if the “continent that sometimes comes between us” happens to be a Damon-shaped continent, then so be it!

Sexy irresistible wrecked Damon

 

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

12 responses to “Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Stefan & Spidette Elena Part II – The Vampire Diaries

  • kjewls

    “As much as the beautiful path of Stelena means that part of me would love to see the pair reunited, a slightly larger part of me thinks, hmmm, if the “continent that sometimes comes between us” happens to be a Damon-shaped continent, then so be it!”

    I second THAT! 🙂

    You know me. And you know that Stelena isn’t MY ship. (Delena, Delena, Delena! All the way, Baby! ;)). However, as you mentioned in your post, Stefan is a complex, well-written, and tremendously well-acted character. (Kudos, Mr. Wesley!) And so, his happiness is important to me. (Though, honestly, I wish he’d find happiness with somebody else. ;)).

    I think you did a brilliant job of capturing the quiet beauty of Stefan’s and Elena’s whirlwind romantic relationship. The pain and inner turmoil they both experience, the comfort they find in one another, the mutual understanding they have for eachother’s wants and needs — it’s all expressed beautifully in this post. (The hot abs pictures certainly help.)

    To make a True Blood Comparison. Just as Sookie’s inner voices are silenced, when she is among vampires, Stefan’s and Elena’s emotional (and sometimes physical) pain is soothed, when they come together. The songs you chose, particularly Cut and Bleeding Love (I adore the subtle vampire imagery in both, whether or not such imagery was intended by the artists) really embody that comforting feeling that anesthetizing pain with love can provide, even if that salve is only temporary .. .

    Is it Thursday yet? 🙂

    • Spidey Sense

      Awww, I loved your comment so much!

      Your True Blood comparison is brilliant. It is also probably the reason why Sookie puts up with the supernatural community and having her life in jeopardy every other day. Unlike Elena, she isn’t anyone’s doppelganger and forced into the dangerous situations she has been place in; she actively chooses to be part of the supe community, whereas she could try to shy away from it as much as would be possible in a society where vamps are out of the closet.

      In many ways Stefan and Damon fulfill different emotional needs for Elena and have helped her heal in different ways – Stefan through kind, caring compassion and Damon by using snark and humour to help bring back a liveliness that has been dimmed by her parents’ deaths. The thing is that there isn’t a clear right and wrong in this triangle (I’m looking at you, Dawson and Joey!), just two men who connect deeply with the same woman on different levels. Having said that, if I don’t get some Delena sex in the future I’m going to fly all the way to America to stage a protest 🙂

      I think what also pushes me in the Delena direction is that Damon is much different to Elena and complementary to her (he is volatile, she is steady; he is rarely serious, she is rarely light-hearted) – this means there is more potential for fireworks that lead to amazing character growth AND sparkage. But you are right, Stefan is such a complex and multi-layered character that he is absolutely a deserving suitor and not some annoying kind of Damon-c**k-blocking cipher 🙂

      Can’t wait for Thursday! And the KJewls recap that will follow 🙂

  • Jesse

    Here I am! Back to babble on even more!!

    This first song actually reminded me so much of the books! Have you read them? Well, if not, there’s the part when they are apart from each other cuz he is kept by some demons and she somehow discovers that they are soulmates connected with a line between their hearts!! So knowingly or not, you’ve just picked the perfect song here!!

    They are truely connected with each other, I have a feeling that they know what the other one wants without the need to say it.

    And Elena fights for him sooo badly! Not only did she gave us SEsters this amazing speech in The Turning Point”, she alsoran into a house with at least 20 vampires ready to kill her just to save Stefan(remember “Under Control”??).

    But you can’t always protect the ones you love. There was the near-kill of Jeremy(yeah, I knew, he had the ring, so basically no danger, but SERIOUSLY??) and him trying to save her when they first opened up the tomb? It wasnt even sure that he could go back outside once he was in, and he still went cuz she was in danger, major danger!

    Of course I’m remembering their first kiss, and it was the first thing I had in my mind when I started reading the lyrics 🙂
    I also loved Unpleasantville – it’s great that they (although they’re in danger) still can enjoy their life together and have fun! I was all in my giggling mood when I saw it the first time and after he did this dancing stuff with her I was like “Awwww, that was sooo cute!” They really need more scenes like that where you can see them happily together!

    I’ve just noticed you summed that up amazingly:
    “Stelena’s ability to seize moments of happiness and joy even in “this world all gone to war” is part of what makes them such a great couple”

    I can’t find any better words!

    You’re sooo sweet!!! You’ve used 3 of my suggestions for Stelena songs! (Have I already mentioned that I love ya for that??)

    Next up is one of my fav songs ever, “It is you(I have loved)”!
    I basically can’t say anything to that song. I love it, I love it, I love it (that’s all I can say!)!

    What makes me love SE so much is Stefan’s care for Elena – he is so afraid to let her know what he really is and soo ashamed when she finds out – and Elena’s will not to give up on him no matter what! She’s a strong person, way stronger than I would’ve thought at the beginning.

    So I wasn’t surprised when during his blood addiction, he tried to scare her away. To me, that was just another sign from his careness about her – he didn’t want her to see him like this and was afraid he could hurt her. That she stayed just showed that things like that will never make her go away. As long as she thinks she and her friends& family are safe, no one will ever make her leave Stefan.

    Well yes, except for when she thinks they are in danger. That led up to the most heart-breaking scene so far, the break up in “Plan B”.

    Before we went through this we had this great scene(and I agree with you, they never made out hotter than after he had her blood(except their first love scene)) at the end of “Kill or be killed” when she decides that no matter what they will have to go through – they will do it together – so she gives him her blood to make him stronger.

    Again I have to tell you, from the books we know that the vampiristic “Superpowers” work better when they drink human blood. 🙂 Meaning they hear and see a lot better, are faster and stronger. 😉 And sometimes… they are hotter 😉 (Right Damon?) Even Damon says this to Stefan in 1×02 after Elena first met Damon.

    Quote Damon: “Remember if you don’t feed properly none of this little tricks work right”

    So I’m positive that changing his diet to human blood will have an impact on his strength.

    There are some other lines that fit them perfectly…

    “Trying hard not to hear
    But they talk so loud
    Their piercing sounds fill my ears
    Try to fill me with doubt”

    Those remind me of “Under Control” when Alaric tries to talk her off of Stefan and I think Jenna tried to convince her to stay away from him too at the beginning, and of course Bonnie – mostly everyone wanted her to leave Stefan. And still, she didn’t. (What a smart person she is! ;))

    Okay, I’m not taking any notice of Damon in this post here… so I’m not going to comment on any of your sayings about him today… 🙂

    Sooo, this brings me back to the heart-breaking break up. (Btw, I’ve never seen someone acting sooo good before!This was real! Go Paul, you rock!)
    I understand that Elena needed to do that(somewhere deep down inside of me I know it. But on top of this I’m just asking: WHY??? – You are safer with him!)

    But it also shows that her feelings haven’t changed – remember my last comment on epic love?! They won’t change! And it’s great that Stefan comforts her even if their not a couple – yeah, that’s the “Katerina” scene I’m talking about!

    As said before… I’m going to ignore that (OhSoHot) pic of Damon and won’t say anything about it.

    Just a random question: (And please tell me stupid, if that’s what I am!) That’s not Paul body on the last pic there, is it? It looks a lot like Ian’s body underneath the shirt(and don’t you dare asking me how I know that!)! Anyway, if it is, then that’s a great pic and it’ll keep me wondering how anyone can do that! 😉

    Yeah, so you may have noticed that this was the end. No more post sayings to comment about… 😦

    Now I’m back to your post about Damon’s looks – I haven’t decided yet, and I have no idea how I will ever be able to do so!

    Going to spread the word about this amazing mixtape you did here!!! Can’t wait for any other post you’re doing.

    You totally made my day and I love the songs! (and YES: I love ya too!!!! ❤ )

    Waiting for your comments.

    Babbling end. 😉

    • Spidey Sense

      Hmm, how to describe how much I love this comment? It is a many-splendoured, beautiful thing, much like the sight of Paul Wesley’s spunky shoulders of rippedness!

      You know, I’ve only had the chance to read the first book, so I was stoked to find out the song has a connection to Stelena that transcends the original Vampire Diaries source. At some point I’ll read the series so that I can blog about it and babble away happily with you and the rest of TVD book fans out there!

      Elena does have her kickass moments, doesn’t she? I remember her little feminist speech in Unpleasantville about feeling good because she “fought back”. Seeing her snap the broomstick over her leg reminded me of Willow using her witchy mind powers to stake a vamp with a pencil. These gals might seem a little comical in their approach to taking on vamps at times, but no one can doubt that they are resourceful and brave.

      I also love how Elena proves time and again that she is needed in dangerous situations and that her humanity is often an asset. Damon needed her to remove the vervain-laced ropes holding Stefan captive in the tomb vamp house; Caroline could only watch helplessly as she rapelled down the walls of the well where the moonstone was hidden to save Stefan from the vervained water at its base.

      The Stefan moment where he went into the tomb even when he wasn’t sure he could leave it because he heard her scream killed me. And I loved when Elena refused to back down with a strong “NO!” when he tried to scare her away when in the throes of his blood addiction. This shows why I love these characters on their own terms as much as they are fabulous as a couple.

      I agree that we need more cute moments like those in Unpleasantville, from Stelena AND Delena. A lot of my favourite shipper moments are filled with bubbles and lightness, like the 1950s dip or Damon playing around with Elena’s teddy bear and underwear drawer. I love sunlit moments!

      Isn’t it amazing that the blood bonding moment between Stelena seemed so sweet to me, yet Bill and Sookie blood sharing squicks me out? Though Sookie sucking the bullet out of Eric’s chest was strangely erotic, I must admit! (Viking lover here). You have convinced me about the need for Stefan to take in some human blood in his diet – particularly if one of the blood superpowers is making him hotter 😉
      You’re so unbelievably sweet and amazing for giving me so many fabulous song suggestions. My iTunes is also much happier now – it loves discovering awesome new tracks! It is you (I have loved) is my absolute favourite of them all – and I had never heard it before *hands head in shame* so thank you for introducing it to me. I just might have to seek your expert advice for future mixtapes… there will definitely be a Stelena Vol 3 later down the track!

      Paul Wesley had me feeling all snuffly with his acting during the break up scene, which trust me, says A LOT, considering one of my nicknames is Ice Eyes – I’m notorious for not needing tissues on girls’ movie nights like all of my friends. Maybe I have a little Katherine in me???

      That’s Paul Wesley’s body at the end. I think he has trained so that his body is extremely lean and svelte because that is the physique he imagined a vampire on human blood would have. So where Damon is ripe with the fullness of a regular human blood diet, Stefan’s body is basically like that of a recovering addict.
      Oh, also just wanted to say that you are a stronger woman than me to ignore that OhSoHot pic at the end – let’s just say that Delena shipping has its aesthetic benefits 🙂

      • Jesse

        Oh wow…. I don’t know how to reply to that one!
        I’ll try anyway and it will be… No, it won’t be short! 😉

        You MADE my day – and I didn’t think this was possible today, cuz I need to do a presentation tonight in law class and it just got me terrified! But you did it.

        Sometimes I catch myself sitting in front of the computer staring. At Paul Wesley. Hours of staring. Can’t do anything about it 🙂

        You seriously should read the books! I think the latest, “Shadow Souls” will make you swear at Damon in the end. It sure made me swear a lot, although I saw “Rose” before reading the end, which made me feel so sad and caring about Damon – but when I read the end, all I could think of was “You f*** ass!”…

        I’m sure this will make you wonder what happens – well, I’m not the one telling you! 😉

        Oh yes, I also love all the sunlit moments!! ❤ What you're saying about all the characters is so true. It bothers me sometimes when I read that Damon is the one who always has to save Elena. She's not as weak as some of the fans think she is!

        I cannot talk enough about Stefan's blood addiction. He's so freaking hot during that time! And the moment when Elena refuses to go is one of my favs too. You'd expect her to "run and hide" but she wants him to believe in himself. How could he trust himself if she doesn't?

        I got the same problem. Sookie and Bill blood sharing is … I don't know, it's kinda creepy! I have to admit, Eric and Sookie in that scene were hot(see? I've got the same strangely erotic impression on that!)! 🙂

        I don't know for sure if it's because if human blood that they get hotter, but on the other hand – have you ever seen Stefan hotter than during his addiction? 😉
        Just a theorie tho….

        Those songs just gave me the right feeling for Stelena, so I was happy to suggest them to you. And I'll be happy to help out later on.
        Actually, once we have Stelena back together, "Coming Home" by OneRepublic would fit even better! But, yeah we have to be patient before we'll see them back together.
        How about we wait til tomorrow night and be happy then, Julie and Kev?? 😉

        Maybe we all have a little Katherine inside of us. I used to be very unemotional too (I actually used to laugh at the end of "Titanic" when Jack dies…), but that changed lately(and mostly because Paul did such an amzing job there!).

        Okay, I don't know how I could get that wrong. It's most likely because he trained so much! I'm used to his season 1 body. Soo can't wait to see season 2!

        I'm not saying I could ignore that OhSoHot pic at the end – I'm just not saying anything and quietly enjoying myself here, staring.

        Btw, your praise for me was waaaay to much! I'm just a little fangirl, babbling on my fav topic 😉 and this happens to be Stelena and TVD…

        Check out my new tumblr blog: addictedtotvd.tumblr.com

        Hope you like it! 🙂

        • Spidey Sense

          Just checked out your new Tumblr blog and it is AWESOME! I know that I’ll be visiting it a lot and have posted it to my Blogroll 🙂 It is in addition to your other blog or a replacement for it?

          Promise to write a longer reply tomorrow – just in throes of next blog post!

        • Spidey Sense

          Hope you kicked butt in your presentation and imagining the audience as Shirtless Salvatores!
          I don’t blame you about gazing upon the hotness that is Paul Wesley for hours upon end – it would be almost criminal not to appreciate such a fine work of God 🙂

          I’ve started reading the rest of the book series, so expect a post of some description about them all in the future…

          Watching Sacrifice, it raised an interesting point about Elena and a lot of heroines and perceived weaknesses and strength . Elena wanted to sacrifice herself for the sake of her family and friends, and this was viewed as short-sighted, suicidal behaviour by a lot of other viewers in comments I read, yet I think there is a double standard at work – if a man wanted to sacrifice himself, it would probably be seen as a brave and noble deed in comparison. Food for thought!

          I agree that human blood Stefan was scorching hot. This is part of the reason why I was so happy when Elena decided to start giving him daily sips. Stefan is a badass in subtle, sexy ways that are quite different to Damon’s in-your-face sociopathy, and excess human blood consumption seems to bring this side out in him.

          Hehe! Fun fact! My brother is a personal trainer, and looked up Paul Wesley’s workout regime after seeing his hot bod 😉

  • SVB

    Sorry C you’ll have to work a bit harder to woo me over to Stefan! Damon…as it was and always shall be…for me 🙂

    The blog is looking fantastic! I love what you’re doing!

    Hey, I also just wanted to let you know that I’m having some major email issues at the moment, and I’m not ignoring you…I just can’t answer them!!! Hopefully it’ll be sorted in the next day or two and I can start working through the backlog lol.

    Anyway, just wanted to say that you’re doing a great job 🙂

    • Spidey Sense

      Hmm, why am I not surprised you are a Damon fan? Let’s see, your legendary love of a certain Viking Vamp is a pretty big tip in that direction 🙂

      I’m actually Team Delena, but have a soft spot for Stelena in spite of myself. Paul Wesley is pretty undeniable!

      I’m so excited that you like the blog so far 🙂 Just wait until I start doing some ANTI-love mixtapes – Katherine/Stefan and, yup SOOKIE AND BILL. One key track for the latter, which I’ve been hard at work on, You’ve Got the Dirtee Love by Florence + The Machine & Dizzee Rascal for the Bill/Sookie Graveyard Hate Sex Scene.

      You poor thing with the email issue. You must have hundreds piling up!

  • imaginarymen

    I began watching TVD thinking I would hate Stefan bc he was the “Dawson” of the show – the annoying guy who has no chemistry w/ the girl – but the writers keep shoving down our throats screaming “THEY ARE SOULMATES RIGHT?!??!?”

    So I was MORE than pleasantly surprised to find Stefan a complex, interesting, intense character who not only had chemistry w/ Elena – but was indeed a viable “leg” in the Salvatore Love Triangle 2.0.

    I’m Team Delena, but this is one instance where our heroine could end up with either Salvatore, and I’d be good with it – as opposed to taking to the internet to scream like a crazy person over a love triangle on a cheesy teen drama when my ‘ship didn’t win!!

    • Spidey Sense

      You have no idea how glad I am that I am not the only one who has gone slightly crazy over a ‘ship not winning 🙂

      One that I will never get over is Summer beating out Anna for Seth. An unpopular opinion, I know, but I loved this twosome of cuteness so much and HATED Josh Schwartz for ending the relationship on the “we are so much like brother and sister” note. ARGH! Even now, my blood boils so much 🙂

      All shipping aside, I’ll be curious to see how they keep the integrity of the Elena character intact if she bounces from one brother to the other over the course of the series. I want Delena to happen, but not at the expense of my love for her character. Because this is one situation where an Evil Douchebag can’t incur all the wrath of the fangirls and legitimise emotional f**kwittery on the part of the Triangle Girl.

Leave a Reply

