Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Tyler & Spidette Caroline – The Vampire Diaries – Part I

 

daylong:  The Vampire Diaries / Tyler & Caroline

Source

Human-vampire relationships abound on The Vampire Diaries. But one of my new favourite star-crossed pairs is baby were Tyler Lockwood and baby vamp Caroline Forbes.

If you’d asked me a year ago what I thought of either Tyler OR Caroline, I would’ve given a dismissive shrug and in the words of Damon said “Ugh! Who cares?” But with a speed that has practically given me whiplash, Cyler, Forwood, Taroline or whatever you want to call them have become the heart of the show to me, just like Delena are the soul.

Getting too philosophical for you? 

“It’s elastic” aka “It’s the CW” lol. 

There, is that better? 😉

Alright, let’s get into it! Hope you like it, kids, because this one just about gave me RSI for life! 

Update! Blogger pal Julie has written an AWESOME Michael Trevino post. Check out here why she wants to chain him up and ride him like a ponyVamp Willow style is hooked on him like all the rest of us. 

Mixtape Track #1 – To The Moon And Back – Savage Garden

Lyrics:

She’s taking her time making up the reasons
To justify all the hurt inside
Guess she knows from the smiles
And the look in their eyes
Everyone’s got a theory about the bitter one

They’re saying

2-Mama never loved her much
And daddy never keeps in touch
That’s why she shies away from human affection
But somewhere in a private place
She packs her bags for outer space
And now she’s waiting for
The right kind of pilot to come
(and she’ll say to him)

She’s saying

1-I would fly you to the moon and back
If you’ll be, if you’ll be my baby
Got a ticket for a world where we belong
So, would you be my baby?

Ooh-ooh
She can’t remember a time
When she felt needed
If love was red then she was colour-blind
All her friends they’ve been tried for treason
And crimes that were never defined

She’s saying

Love is like a barren place
And reaching out for human faith is
Is like a journey I just don’t have a map for
So baby gonna take a dive and
push the shift to overdrive
Send a signal that she’s hanging all her hopes on
the stars

(What a pleasant dream) just saying

Mamma never loved her much
And daddy never keeps in touch
That’s why she shies away from human affection
But somewhere in a private place
She packs her bags for outer space
And now she’s waiting for the right kind of pilot
To come (and she’ll say to him)

She’s saying
(repeat 1, 2, 1)

Caroline/Tyler Connection:

Bad moon rising

A lot of fans have expressed surprise at the speed at which the Caroline and Tyler friendship has developed in season two, but I actually think that even their season one backstory provides a solid foundation for their current connection.

Caroline tyler hot

To The Moon And Back applies to both Caroline and Tyler’s character arcs, though in slightly different ways. On one level, the song is about experiencing rejection from the world and feeling isolated, yet hoping a “the right kind of pilot” or soul mate will come along who will take all this away. Caroline projects a Queen Bee exterior in early episodes of the series, but it soon becomes plain that she feels lost, unloved and unappreciated.

Mamma never loved her much
And daddy never keeps in touch

Liz Mason

OK, much as Liz probably wishes, that is not Caroline's baby daddy. I just COULD NOT find a pic of Liz alone.

These feelings are partly the result of an absent father and an estranged relationship with her mother, who may as well be from another planet when it comes to the different ways that the two view the world. They are also because of her, in my opinion completely justified, feeling of coming second best to girls like Bonnie and Elena.

In fact, far from shying away from human affection as the song also talks about, Caroline goes to the reverse extreme; she is so desperate for acceptance and love she unwittingly turns people off. In the Vampire Diaries pilot, after Stefan spurns her advances in favour of cosying up with Elena, it is telling that she says to Bonnie that she tries so hard, but can never seem to win.

Caroline Elena There Goes The Neighborhood

Now play nice girls!

This is reinforced by her relationship with Matt Donovan. Matt is her first real love, but this is overshadowed by the reality that she is really just a placeholder for his ex Elena, who he is still hung up on despite caring for Care. One heartbreaking example of this is Matt seeking comfort from Elena rather than Caroline upon the discovery of his sister Vicki’s body in Let The Right One In (S01E17).

She can’t remember a time
When she felt needed

Her feeling of never being needed is probably part of what will later be so intoxicating about her connection with Tyler, who needs her more deeply at one point than a person has probably ever needed another.

Caroline is also hyper conscious of peoples’ perception of her as a shallow flake. That is why Damon’s remark in 162 Candles (S01E07) that she is shallow and useless cut so deeply. As she later drunkenly cries to Matt, who she isn’t dating at that point, she wants to be “abyss deep” but feels like she is a “kiddie pool”.

Send a signal that she’s hanging all her hopes on
the stars

Although Caroline’s feelings of being unloved are absolutely understandable, as this lyric suggests, it works both ways. For instance, her jealousy of Elena may be warranted, but it is also her own inferiority complex that is stifling her. Becoming a vampire seems to change a lot of this. However, as a human, she hangs “all her hopes on the stars”, waiting for a magical person to come and take her away from this place where she feels she doesn’t belong. I think that is why she persists so much with Matt – because he is her idealised image of who this person should be.

Caroline Matt kiss

When after a kiss a boy says "this isn't gonna work out", even half-jokingly, that is what we call an anvil, people!

Tyler, who quite frankly is an arrogant douche a lot of the time, is deeply flawed and yet ironically represents someone she can have a much more authentic bond with.

To The Moon And Back works equally well for Tyler, but with a different slant.

Tyler Wererwolves out

Not just because Tyler werewolves out eventually, I promise!

Tyler embodies these lyrics:

Love is like a barren place
And reaching out for human faith is
Is like a journey I just don’t have a map for

And:

All her friends they’ve been tried for treason
And crimes that were never defined

Aside from his friendship with Matt, Tyler initially doesn’t have any strong emotional ties at all and he doesn’t seem inclined to try to develop any. He is presented as an aggressive bully who pushes people away in season one, though tiny, eensy, weensy glimmers of depth come through. At a careers fair in the Turning Point (S01E10), despite earlier animosity over their triangle with Vicki Donovan, Elena’s brother Jeremy compliments Tyler on his drawing abilities; Tyler responds by snarling “It’s an elective” and basically demanding to know what the hell this friendliness is all about.

Jeremy, taken aback, manages to stumble out it is something else they have in common, to which Tyler (kinda awesomely, actually!) says, “What’s the other thing, Vicki? Let’s hang out because we did the same chick? Go be friends with one of the many other guys that she screwed. There’s no shortage of them.” Jeremy, who has had a gutful of being “tried for treason” without even being given a chance, then does what Jyler pretty much did all through early season one… The Bad Touch, Jyler slash fans! Exhibit A, B & C:

Image

Then – gasp! – Tyler shows us a hidden layer, you guys!

OMG Caroline

We're right there with you, Caroline, honey!

Tyler’s father, Mayor Lockwood, catches the boys mid-I’m-Totally-Gonna-Go-Face Punch-Onya-Face-Only-Not-Seriously and drags them outside to force them to have a fight for real in his shining attempt for Parent of the Year Trophy. The whole situation obviously makes Tyler feel hugely uncomfortable and intimidated, and is only salvaged by Alaric Saltzman, who steps in and pretty much squashes the Mayor like a bug under his foot WITH WORDS! Swoon!

Naked Alaric

C'mon, you think I'd miss this chance to show kinda, sorta Naked Alaric?

 

Chunky Monkey

Chunky Monkey, anyone?

Jeremy later finds Tyler sitting alone and extends an olive branch, asking if this is the normal MO for Mayor Lockwood. If so, Jeremy “gets” why Tyler is the way he is. Tyler, charmingly, punches Jeremy in the face and says he doesn’t need his pity and orders him to “just go”. Jeremy asks “Dude, what’s your problem?” and stalks off. By the light of the FULL MOON, and when he is alone again, Tyler answers, with more pathos than we had seen from him up until then, “I don’t know.” Sounds like a job for Vampire Barbie!

Mixtape Track #2 – Sugar Water – Cibo Matto

Be sure to watch the video, because it is AWESOME!

Lyrics:

The velocity of time turns her voice into sugar water

I’m on a concrete way
The wind is blowing to the north-northwest
It smells like sands of the southern island
When a black cat crosses my path

A woman in the moon is singing to the earth
A woman in the moon is singing to the earth

La la la, la la la la la la
La la la, la la la la la la
La la la, la la la la la la
La la la, la la la la la la

I’m riding on a camel that has big eyes
The buildings are changing into coconut trees
Little by little
When a black cat crosses my path

A woman in the moon is singing to the earth
A woman in the moon is singing to the earth

La la la, la la la la la la
La la la, la la la la la la
La la la, la la la la la la
La la la, la la la la la la

La la la, la la la la la la
La la la, la la la la la la
La la la, la la la la la la
La la la, la la la la la la

We are taking sugar water shower
Shower

Caroline/Tyler Connection:

Sugar Water consists of non sequiturs that, when added up, don’t really make sense as a cohesive whole, but parts are perfect for Cyler.

When a black cat crosses my path

The idea of a black cat crossing someone’s path clearly symbolises bad luck or a curse, and this directly relates to Tyler and Caroline in season two. In The Return (S02E01), Elena’s evil vampire doppelganger Katherine kills Caroline, knowing full well she has Damon’s blood in her system, thus causing Caroline to turn into a vamp herself.

Source

As sexy and wonderful as an immortal and powerful undead “life” of a vampire sounds, it undoubtedly carries with it many curses, like watching all your loved ones evolve, grow old and die while you remain unchanged and eventually alone.

Though vampires in this mythology can choose to keep the switch of their humanity on, at least as young vampires, bloodlust inevitably sets in for Caroline, leading to a conflict between her primal instinct for killing humans and her desire to keep her human loved ones safe. After losing control and feeding on Matt, Caroline realises her vampirism by its nature puts him in jeopardy no matter how good her intentions are. She orchestrates a break up with Matt in Bad Moon Rising (S02E03) despite Matt finally having told her he loves her, a selfless gesture but one that shows the definite curse of being a vampire.

Around the same time, a black cat crosses Tyler’s path too, or rather a big, black, smelly dog. His Uncle Mason swings into town at the start of season two, and eventually drops the bombshell that the male side of the Lockwood family carries the werewolf gene, in what had to be one of the least heart-warming family deep-and-meaningfuls ever.

The trigger that activates the werewolf gene? Either killing someone, whether accidentally or on purpose. It is still debateable whether Tyler’s aggression issues are really because of his latent inner wolf or because he plain, straight up, fair dinks is just an ass.

Anyway, of course, after the werewolf trigger revelation any random drunk chick who has the misfortune of coming into his orbit instantly has a target on her back as Potential Werewolf Gene Triggering Victim for several episodes, until Tyler finally comes through for Team Murder in Masquerade (S02E07), after accidentally being goaded into killing a drunk slutty chick by a compelled-by-Katherine Matt.

Dead chick

Look, my lip quivered when she died... oh, who am I kidding!

There are two other important points about this scene. First, Caroline helps cover it up because her vampirism means she is in the Salvatore supernatural loop.

Tyler Caroline masquerade

Source

Second, this comes after Mason’s gruesome end in Damon’s carpet in Kill or Be Killed (S02E05), so Tyler is without a mentor or someone to guide him through the experience of phasing into a werewolf.

Oh yeah, and the fact that Tyler (a werewolf) and Caroline (a vampire) are OMGWHATACOINKIDINK keys to breaking a Mayan Curse that Big Bads of season two want to break kinda sucks ass for them too.

A woman in the moon is singing to the earth

Vampire Caroline kicks ass, so I like the idea of a gender inversion of a woman being in the moon rather than a man. The idea of the “woman in the moon singing to the earth” also makes me think of the caretaker role she takes for Tyler when she discovers he has become a werewolf, both in the lead up to the full moon and, as Thomas Galvin would say, when the full moon is like “Hi!” The “singing to the earth” makes me think of the calming, soothing force she later becomes for him.

Mixtape Track #3 – Feel it in My Bones – Tiesto featuring Tegan & Sara

Lyrics:

Blow by blow, I didn’t see it coming
Blow by blow, sucker punch
Rushes in
Here to stay
Rushes in
You are here to stay

What rushes into my heart and my skull, I can’t control
Think about it, feel it in my bones
What rushes into my heart and my skull, I can’t control

I feel you in my bones
You’re knocking on my windows
You’re slow to letting me go
And I know this feeling oh, so
This feeling in my bones

Left hook, I didn’t see it coming
Left hook, you’ve got dead aim
Rushes out
Run away
Rushes out
You always run away

What rushes into my heart and my skull, I can’t control
Think about it, feel it in my bones
What rushes into my heart and my skull, I can’t control

I feel you in my bones
You’re knocking on my windows
You’re slow to letting me go
And I know this feeling oh, so
This feeling in my bones

I feel you in my bones
You’re knocking on my windows
You’re slow to letting me go
And I know this feeling oh, so
This feeling in my bones

I feel it in my bones
At night my skull feels pressure
I feel it in my bones
I feel it in my skull

I feel you in my bones
You’re knocking at my windows
You’re slow to letting me go
And I know this feeling oh, so
This feeling in my bones

I take a breath, take a breath with me blow by blow
I take a break, take a break, tell me you are here to stay
I take my heart out of my chest,
I just don’t need it anymore
Take my head out of the game,
I just don’t need it anymore

Take a breath, take a breath with me blow by blow
Take a break, take a break, from me you are here to stay
I take my heart out of my chest,
I just don’t need it anymore
Take my head out of the game,
I just don’t need it anymore

I feel you in my bones
You’re knocking on my windows
You’re slow to letting me go
And I know this feeling oh, so
This feeling in my bones

Caroline/Tyler Connection:

Bet you knew that Vampire Caroline was awesome from the moment she teased Stefan about his “serious vampire” face. But did you expect her to also be able to do vampire judo? Neither did Tyler!

After Caroline does an admittedly lame ass cover up of HER reasons for covering up Tyler’s Team Murder triply herky (for the uninitiated, that is a cheerleading move according to a Sweet Valley book. So it must be true!), Tyler  tries to force a confrontation with Caroline…

 Vampire Diaries : Lonely Monsters

 and THIS happens:

  Vampire Diaries : Lonely Monsters

 Source

HIYAAAAAAAAAAAH!

Left hook, I didn’t see it coming
Left hook, you’ve got dead aim

OK, so it wasn’t quite a left hook, but close enough!

Later, when Tyler makes the admirably persistent though deeply stupid move to confront her AGAIN, despite Caroline’s earlier display of superior strength, something happens that he totally didn’t see coming: he discovers she is a vamp!

Big mistake Tyler

 Vampire Diaries : Lonely Monsters

Fun fact for people who love to hate Twilight. Based on her strength, Tyler had thought she was another werewolf. He was determined to have her “say it” (i.e. say what she was).

 Vampire Diaries : Lonely Monsters

 Vampire Diaries : Lonely Monsters

 Vampire Diaries : Lonely Monsters

Remind you of another famous scene?

new_moon_edward_bella_running

Whoops! Wrong scene!

 

 Source

So, kudos to Julie and Kev for making Caroline CRACK UP IN HIS FACE and basically says “nup buddy, I’m higher than THAT and YOU on the food chain and a kickass vamp!”

Tyler/Caroline <3 [The laugh] - tyler-and-caroline fan art

Jokes aside, this song actually has a deeper meaning for me than Caroline being a HBIC.

Taken figuratively, this song is about the protagonist being taken aback by someone suddenly becoming an influential presence in their life. They didn’t expect this person to blow into their life with such abrupt force (“blow by blow, I didn’t see it coming”), but the person can feel it all the way down in their bones and marrow that they are there to stay. The feelings in this song are almost primitive.

I mean, seriously, the nicest thing I had ever heard Tyler say about Care was this little gem in Plan B (S02E06): “She’s an insecure, neurotic, bitchy little twit. But the girl’s got heart, she means well.” Gee, Tyler, tell us what you are really thinking!

The life-altering events that catalyse this change in Tyler and Caroline’s relationship are of course their respective transitions into supernatural creatures. They forge a bond through shared experience.

I love the lyrics “I take a breath, take a breath with me blow by blow”. The secrets they started sharing with each other freaked Tyler out, and just like this part of the song is essentially saying “Let’s slow it down, it’s more than I can handle”, Tyler tells Caroline he is “scared” by what is happening and they share a sweet hug.

 Vampire Diaries : Lonely Monsters

You know, for all the supernatural elements on the show, seeing Tyler do that was more out of this world than practically anything else that’s been thrown at me, including identical vampire doppelgangers and hearts ripped fresh from chests. You’ll discover in a little later on what topped this moment in the Spidey-is-having-an-aneurism stakes.

Here’s hoping this line comes true: “Take my head out of the game. I just don’t need it anymore.” Roughly translated? I’ve quit playing stupid boy games and scamming on chicks and you are the only one I wanna share my scratching post with. 

You know what other song the scene of Tyler in Vampire Barbies’ house reminded me of? This one (or at least the bolded parts!):

Mixtape Track #4 – C’Est La Vie – B*Witched

Lyrics:

Oh-Oh
Hey hey oh-oh
Oh-oh

I said, “Hey boy,
sitting in your tree
Mummy always wants
you to come for tea
(Oh-oh)
Don’t be shy,
straighten up your tie
Get down from your
treehouse in the sky
(oh-oh)
I wanna know just
what to do
Is it very big, is there
room for two?
(Oh-oh)
I got a house with
windows and doors
I’ll show you mine if
you show me yours

(Bridge)
Gotta let me in
Hey hey hey
Let the fun begin, hey
I’m a wolf today
Hey hey hey
I’ll huff, I’ll puff
I’ll huff, I’ll puff,
I’ll blow you away

Say you will,
say you won’t
Say you’ll do
what I don’t.
Say you will
say the truth
say to me
C’est La Vie
(Repeat)

Do you play with the girls,
play with the boys?
Do you ever get lonely
playing with your toys?
(oh-oh)
We can talk, we can sing,
I’ll be the queen and you’ll
be the king

(oh-oh)

Hey boy, in your tree
Throw down your ladder,
make a room for me
(oh-oh)
I got a house with
windows and doors
I’ll show you mine if
you show me yours

(Repeat bridge)

Gotta let me in
Hey hey hey
Let the fun begin, hey
I’m a wolf today
Hey hey hey
I’ll huff, I’ll puff
I’ll huff, I’ll puff,
I’ll blow you away

Say you will,
say you won’t
Say you’ll do
what I don’t.
Say you will
say the truth
say to me
C’est La Vie
(Repeat)

Ah ah

Hey hey
Na na na ey
Na na na oh
Na na na ey
Hey hey hey hey

Say you will,
say you won’t
Say you’ll do
what I don’t.
Say you will
say the truth
say to me
C’est La Vie
(Repeat)

Na na na ey
Na na na oh
C’est La vie
Na na na ey Hey Hey
C’est La Vie Hey Hey
Hey Hey

Caroline/Tyler Connection:

Because I was starting to ship the pair by that point, I totally wanted Caroline, the baby vamp who told Damon “you suck” with no irony when she remembered the horrible stuff he had compelled her to forget, to serenade Tyler with “I’m a wolf today…” and “I’ll be the queen and you’ll be the king” 😉

Mixtape Track #5 – Come As You Are – Nirvana

Lyrics:

Come as you are, as you were
As I want you to be
As a friend, as a friend
As a known enemy
Take your time, hurry up
Choice is yours, don’t be late
Take a rest as a friend
As an old

Memory, yeah x4

Come dowsed in mud, soaked in bleach
As I want you to be
As a trend, as a friend
As an old

Memory, yeah x4

And I swear that I don’t have a gun
No, I don’t have a gun, no, I don’t have a gun

Memory, yeah x4
(No, I don’t have a gun)

And I swear that I don’t have a gun
No, I don’t have a gun, no, I don’t have a gun
No, I don’t have a gun, no, I don’t have a gun

Caroline/Tyler Connection:

In the context of Cyler, Come As You Are refers to not being judgmental about how someone in your life has changed and accepting them for who they are.

Once their supernatural baby selves are newly established to one another, Caroline and Tyler bond together as they prepare for what KJewls brilliantly called his Werewolf Coming Out Party (I’m not even gonna TRY to top that one!), revealing different selves that they seem to bring out even more strongly in each other. Caroline, the bitchy little twit, is strong and snarky around Tyler without losing her bubbliness, while Tyler is, dare I say it, more SEN-SI-TIVE and less aggressive in her presence.

Source

One Cyler interaction in particular is relevant to this song in showing why Matt/Caroline are dunzo or should be, in my opinion.

Tyler (referring to Matt’s blissful ignorance about all things supernatural and Caroline being a kickass vamp): “It’s not really fair to be with someone and not really let them know who you are.”

It’s not really fair to be with someone and not really let them know who you are. I get it. [2x10] - tyler-and-caroline fan art

People, it is like peeling an onion – another layer! This is the moment where I knew they were completely Chuck Bassing his ass (ala season one on Gossip Girl anyway) and became a full-fledged member of Team Cyler.

Also, I LOL’d at Caroline’s expression, which screams “Tyler has actual thoughts about human feelings?!”

Tyler is actually right though, and Caroline knows it. Her new supernatural identity brings danger into Matt’s life that he doesn’t know about and doesn’t deserve. Tyler, as a fellow supe, fortunately is in an entirely different position. The thing is, she is actually lying to Tyler too to protect him – she has claimed to be the only vamp in town, kept him in the dark about Mason’s messy end and hasn’t told him that a werewolf’s bite is fatal to a vampire. Bet THAT will end well!

More Cyler goodness in Part II!

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

10 responses to “Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Tyler & Spidette Caroline – The Vampire Diaries – Part I

  • kjewls

    Another AMAZING Mixtape Post, Cherie! You’ve completely managed to embody the angsty smouldery essence that is Taroline. Wow, some of those songs are real blasts from the past! C’est La Vie, To the Moon and Back! Awesome!

    I think if I had to choose a favorite of the songs you suggested, at least in terms of Tyler’s and Caroline’s relationship, I would choose Nirvana’s “Come as You Are.” Not only is it an amazing song, that absolutely puts you in the broody, introspective, raw and intensely emotional mood Tyler Lockwood is probably in ALL THE TIME, it also perfectly embodies the couples’ budding relationship on multiple levels.

    First, from a psychological perspective, as you mentioned, Tyler and Caroline (well, more Tyler than Caroline for now, but her time will come ;)) have seen one another at their most raw and vulnerable. They have shared secrets with one another, and supported eachother through dark times, ensuring that neither ever has to be truly alone.

    Then, from a more literal perspective, the “doused in mud, soaked in bleach” line definitely brings up images of Tyler during his werewolf transformation, naked, sweaty, dirty, in chains, in agony, and drinking poisonous vervain to “cleanse” himself, as one would use bleach to clean a floor or shirt filled with dirt and bad memories.

    Rather than being repulsed, Caroline empathizes with Tyler,and supports him, showing him that he need not hide his true self from her. She cares about him and loves him, even when he is at his absolute worst. When it comes to Caroline, Tyler can “come exactly as he is.” (Sexual connotation sort of intended ;))

    It’s actually ironic that you chose to do this post today, because I am planning on writing a Michael Trevino Tribute post tonight, in honor of the upcoming TVD Season 2 marathon. Expect a pingback from me in the wee hours of the morning . . . (and perhaps some borrowing of your kickass GIFS ;))

    • Spidey Sense

      Then, from a more literal perspective, the “doused in mud, soaked in bleach” line definitely brings up images of Tyler during his werewolf transformation, naked, sweaty, dirty, in chains, in agony, and drinking poisonous vervain to “cleanse” himself, as one would use bleach to clean a floor or shirt filled with dirt and bad memories.

      I was so fixated on the overall theme of Come As You Are that I can honestly say I didn’t even think about that aspect of the song in relation to Tyler’s transformation – the best part of writing posts like this is reading brilliant fangirl comments like this that turn my interpretations on their head or make me think about something I would otherwise overlook.

      One of the major issues for Carat (shipper name suggested by a Twitter friend :)) is that Matt only loved certain aspects of Caroline rather than the whole package, yet as Tyler intuitively and insightfully notes with the bitchy little twit comment “you’ve gotta take the good with the bad”. So Matt is in love with the Barbie side of Caroline, which Tyler doesn’t mind the Barbie and Vampire (flawed) parts of her.

      Your post was AWESOME, of course! And since I am going through a little Trevino obsession at the moment, you are giving fuel to the fire ;0

  • Jesse

    Hey Cherie!
    Okay, so you noticed how crazy it was on twitter today… and yeah, I have to admit it, I was a little lazy 🙂

    I’ll post a comment on your MaliseForKatniss Post, I will!! I know you’d come after me otherwise….

    So Cyler – or Forwood, Taroline? I’ll just stick to Cyler for now 🙂

    After “By the light of the moon” I got sooo hooked on this couple so I was eagerly waiting for this post!!

    I agree with you – a year ago, I wouldn’t have spent a secound thought on either Caroline OR Tyler, but yeah, as I noticed, I really want to make them work things out.

    Oh my… Delena is the soul of TVD? I’m not going to say anything to that. Cuz I can’t find any words. I do agree tho, that Cyler will be the Heart of it.

    You know how I can’t resist any of that hotness that we see from Michael Trevino! Good gif that you got there 🙂

    I didn’t know “To the Moon and Back” yet, but awwww it is sooo good 😉 You know how happy I am that every time after I read one of your mixtape post I got at least 3 new fav songs?!?! You brighten my weeks here honey, every time 🙂

    I actually haven’t really thought about their back story, but you def have some great points figured out and it’s a joy to read it 🙂

    Yeah, Caroline did shy people away a lot in season 1. She never figured herself worthy enough to be loved by Matt – she was always jealous when he was with Elena and couldn’t understand the deep bond that they are sharing due to their long friendship. I mean Elena and Matt grew up together, so they care for each other deeply and share an understanding Caroline could never achieve with Matt.

    Tyler wasn’t around that much in season 1 so it was hard to get to know him and see more in him than just the “arrogant douche” as you said.

    OMG….. You managed to get Jyler into this post! I love ya 😉 (oh shit, now you seriously know I’m crazy… lol)

    And another YAY! Alaric is right here too 🙂 You rock! I’d love to get a chunky monkey 😉

    “Sugar Water”??!! Are you serious??!! I haven’t heard that song in AGES – but I like it sooo much!! I can’t remember why I don’t listen to it more often. I also get flashbacks to this awesome and epic “Buffy” episode – I’m sure you remember it!! 🙂
    It fits them, all their different curses that they have to go through – both are just changing into supernatural beings and have to leave their friends behind. Especially Matt I the one who is left behind, cuz everyone else (except for useless Aunt Jenna) knows what’s going on in Mystic Falls. Neither Caroline nor Tyler can share their experiences with their friends which make them two stranded souls within an ocean running wild.

    Your fun fact made me laugh sooo much! I didn’t make that connection when I saw it on TV, but now that you’ve mentioned it – it is so Twilight! 😉

    What I think is so special about them is that both are undergoing a lot of change – Caroline has to learn how to handle being a vampire and Tyler is about to turn into a werewolf for the first time – and although those are unique experiences they still can connect to each other and express their feelings of being alone and scared.

    Oh yay! “Come as you are” is a great song!! 🙂 And it’s true, Tyler is much more sensitive around Caroline – he seems to have his aggression under control and shows a lot more depth of his character.

    This first part was an amazing read!! 🙂

    I know it took me forever to comment, but I’ll try and comment also to the second part asap.

    • Spidey Sense

      Hi Jesse! I *squeed* *EnjoyTheSilencedanced* *giggledwithglee* when I saw this post was up!

      I completely understand about the lazy part. I love blogging, but there are occasional moments where bloggers’ block sets in and I really have to push myself to get my thoughts down on paper. My incentive is always – but I don’t want to miss reading what everyone else thinks! And your comments are always so awesome and in depth, and I know you are the type of person who wants to write something great or not at all, so it’s like a blog post in itself!

      Haha, the MaleseforKatniss and the Cyler posts really took it out of me – mucho research and time went into them. But The Hunger Games has made such an impact on me and I thought it was important to thoroughly consider each possible actress candidate. And Cyler love has completely enveloped me out of nowhere, so the post had to do the pair justice!

      You know, with the soul and heart comments, I was close to writing Stelena are the backbone, but I thought people would find that icky. To clarify, Delena are the soul because the pair are always in danger of losing this part of themselves to inner darkness (yes, even Elena, who is more like Katherine in terms of being manipulative than she would like to think), and this point is reinforced to me the most when I see them together. Cyler are the heart for me because the, without getting too “deep”, the heart is the part of the body that is most ever-changing and a little bit unstable, in my opinion – pumping, changing and evolving at a rapid pace. And also the heart because they are so sweet and heart wrenching together, of course!

      In contrast, Delena are much more of a slow burn and Stelena are a steadier force. So yes, Stelena are the backbone, the grounding anchor of the show, which explains why I missed them being together when they were broken up even though I’m a Delena shipper. But backbone you doesn’t sound as sexy as heart or soul, so I left it out. Forgive me?!

      I still can’t believe how quickly I’ve been hooked on the Cyler pair. When Tyler explained why he could “get” why Caroline was choosing to stay away from Matt and showed he understands the human condition on an intimate level and isn’t just another stereotypical jock, I was ON BOARD, DAMMIT! I can handle conflicted, snarky and jerky attributes in my TV men as long as they are intelligent, my primary catnip. Anything less and I switch off.

      I’m so happy to have introduced you to To the Moon and Back, one of my all time fave Aussie songs. Very unlike any other pop song I’ve ever heard. And the lyrics almost seem to have been written as a character study for Taroline.

      And by the way YOU brighten my week with your incredible song suggestions. You have such great taste in music, and there are so many acts I wasn’t even aware of that now are mainstays on my iTunes thanks to you, and I could hardly imagine being without some of the songs now.

      And Jyler… well, I am going to work them in whereever I can until the producers succumb to the temptation to have another HoYay subtextual moment between the two of them. Believe me when I say you are not the only crazy one when it comes to them. I stand by the fact that there is canon proof of eye sexin’ between the two!

      Love chunky monkey, but I would’ve been Alaric’s girl forever if he had offered Phish Food (mmm!)

      Sugar Water was THE song moment for me from Buffy, and I actually saw Cibo Matto live back in the day. I just love how atmospheric and cool the song is. Plus I was a little Buffy Xander shipper back in the day, so that one little sexy dance they shared to this tune is pretty much all that I got!

      “Two stranded souls” = very poetic way to put Cyler.

      You know, so many people have commented to me that they didn’t see the Twilight connection to the Cyler standoff, but as a little Twilight obsessive (I love to snark that series SO much) it was the first thing I thought of. The blocking is so similar that there is no way it is an accident.

      Loved your comment as much as I love hot, shirtless vampires (suffice to say I like it a lot!) and am waiting with bated breath for part II! 😉

  • imaginarymen

    Cherie your posts are so well researched and thoughtful – it makes me realize how lazy a blogger I am!

    Nice job!

    • Spidey Sense

      Awww, thanks! Though researching for Tyler-related GIFs is not my toughest gig, I must admit 🙂

      And you are definitely not a lazy fangirl – your Freezing for Flowers trip is proof of that, as is the inspired hilarity of your posts!

  • TV Couples Showdown: Veronica and Logan (of Veronica Mars) versus Caroline and Tyler (of The Vampire Diaries) | TV Recappers Anonymous

    […] tumblr, for many of the fabulous GIFs and screencaps you see here; and to my brilliant blogger pal Cherie, for her inspiration, and for allowing me to pick her brain on many occasions, regarding what makes both of these […]

  • Mixtape Mondays – Spidette Caroline – The Vampire Diaries « myspideysenseistingling

    […] done a full Forwood post, but all you need to know is that I’m gonna party like it’s my birthday when the Forwood Ambush […]

  • (Late) Tingling Trevino Tuesdays – Tyler Mixtape « myspideysenseistingling

    […] my Tyler/Caroline mixtape and Got Forwood recaps, I go into a lot of depth about the connection baby vamp Care forges with […]

  • wecreateourowndestiny

    Hey Cherie, I really enjoy ur mixtapes!! Just wanted to throw in a song that is also perfect for forwood:

    COLDPLAY

    “A Message”

    My song is love
    Love to the loveless shown
    And it goes up
    You don’t have to be alone
    Your heavy heart
    Is made of stone
    And it’s so hard to see you clearly
    You don’t have to be alone
    You don’t have to be on your own

    And I’m not gonna take it back
    And I’m not gonna say, “I don’t mean that”
    You’re the target that I’m aiming at
    Got to get that message home

    My song is love
    My song is love, unknown
    But I’m on fire for you, clearly
    You don’t have to be alone
    You don’t have to be on your own

    And I’m not gonna take it back
    And I’m not gonna say, “I don’t mean that”
    You’re the target that I’m aiming at
    And I’m nothing on my own
    Got to get that message home

    And I’m not gonna stand and wait
    Not gonna leave it until it’s much too late
    On a platform I’m gonna stand and say
    That I’m nothing on my own
    And I love you, please come home

    My song is love, is love unknown
    And I’ve got to get that message home

Leave a Reply

