Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Jeremy & Spidette Bonnie – The Vampire Diaries – Part I

 remember-my-december:  “We tested you. You failed.”

The possibility of levitating wicca sex never looked as appealing as it did when Jeremy Gilbert from the Vampire Diaries started falling for his sister’s BFF, Bonnie Bennett.

Ever since Jeremy clenched his SuddenlySmokingHotJaw…

Look at that jaw work.

This is the Jaw Thing Magnum Opus!

… I’ll happily admit that I would be content to ship him with potted vervain if it means I get some little Gilbert action.

Brilliant GIFS and picspam from F**k Yeah Steven R McQueen as usual.  

Mixtape Track #1 – Crush – Jennifer Paige

Lyrics:

(aah crush
aah crush)

I see you blowin’ me a kiss
it doesn’t take a scientist
to understand what’s goin’ on baby

if you see something in my eyes
let’s not over-analyze
don’t go too deep with it baby

so let it be what it’ll be
don’t make a fuss
and get crazy over you and me

here’s what i’ll do,
i’ll play it loose,
not like we have a date with destiny

it’s just a little crush
not like I faint,
every time we touch

it’s just some little thing
not like everything i do
depends on you

sha-la-la-la
sha-la-la-la

it’s raisin’ my adrenaline
you’re bangin’ on a heart of tin
please don’t make too much of it baby

say the word forevermore
that’s not what i’m lookin’ for
all i can commit to is maybe

so let it be what it’ll be
don’t make a fuss
and get crazy over you and me

here’s what i’ll do,
i’ll play it loose,
not like we have a date with destiny

it’s just a little crush
not like I faint,
every time we touch

it’s just some little thing
not like everything i do
depends on you

sha-la-la-la
sha-la-la-la

vanilla skies (vanilla skies)
white picket fences in your eyes
a vision of you and me

it’s just a little crush
not like I faint,
every time we touch

it’s just some little thing
not like everything i do
depends on you

sha-la-la-la
sha-la-la-la

not like I faint,
every time we touch

it’s just some little thing
not like everything i do
depends on you

sha-la-la-la
sha-la-la-la
(repeat to end)

Jeremy/Bonnie Connection: 

GQMF Jeremy jaw thing

It doesn’t take a scientist
To understand what’s goin’ on baby

Jonnie seemingly came out of nowhere. Prior to Masquerade (S02E07), the pair had not shared a single scene together, and their only connection was Jeremy being the little brother of Bonnie’s BFF, Elena. Ordinarily I prefer a slow build towards a relationship, but I actually think that the pair’s lack of prior screen time worked in favour of authentically establishing a sudden attraction or, yes, CRUSH between the pair.

I think their age difference is sometimes overemphasised; I mean, Christ, if Bonnie saw Jeremy running around in superman undies, she was probably still wearing Care Bear panties at the time herself, not the Victoria’s Secret lingerie some comments I’ve read would practically lead you to believe.

In actual fact, the age disparity is really not the key issue at hand so much as Bonnie’s perception of Jeremy as “just Elena’s little brother”. So it would take a shocking change to shift this perception, even just a little. If Bonnie had been constantly in Jeremy’s general orbit and witnessed his evolution into SuddenlySmokingHot Jeremy over a period of time, his coming of hotness age probably would have had less impact than her having her first major interaction with him after a long period of time; it is implied that a fair amount of time in the Mystic Falls world has passed in the series since it began.

1.02 “Night of the Comet”

From this… (aww, I totally want to put him in my pocket ;))

tvdgifs:  2.11 | By the Light of the Moon  just look at that swagger. 

To this… Ovaries! Stand to attention! Hut!

So with Jeremy going all GQMF at the ball and no doubt looking almost comically different than the last time she had seen him (probably with permabitchface circa Vicki era), Bonnie would have to be made of stone not to be affected at least just a little. 

So, yes, the appearance of Jeremy’s Jaw Thing when he and Bonnie are thrown together at a party as part of a plan to bring evil vamp Katherine doesn’t surprise me. Not only were they in a heightened, charged situation and not only did Bonnie say that she doesn’t know how to stay out of the supernatural shenanigans around them (something impulsive Jeremy can definitely relate to), but as can suddenly happen with people you know well in one way but not another, they started becoming aware of how attractive the other was.

It’s raisin’ my adrenaline
you’re bangin’ on a heart of tin (*cough* Bonnie early season two*cough*)
please don’t make too much of it baby

say the word forevermore
that’s not what i’m lookin’ for
all i can commit to is maybe

However, I think that Jonnie has a slightly uneven crush dynamic, with Jeremy more the lovER and Bonnie the lovEE, if you get my drift. In Masquerade, it is obvious to US that Bonnie is seeing Jeremy in a new light, but it is probably happening more for her on a subconscious level at first. But Scrappy Doo (TM KJewls) is nothing if not prone to being overeager and wearing his heart and hormones on his sleeve, and starts James Bonding…

UNF. Ugh, oh my god. 

…on Bonnie with a sledgehammer subtlety that only someone in a coma could miss.

Examples?

theresmagicintheair:  Jeremy/Steven hand.  SAKJFLASD.  touchy touchy… 

Placing a chivalrous hand on the small of her back when heading through the crowded party with her. Asking her if she is “cold” when she reacts to a bad vibe from what turns out to be another witch; the implication being that he would give her his jacket, an equivalent to the old yawn-and-stretch-your-arm-across-the-back-of-her-chair move. Responding to Bonnie’s slightly disbelieving question about when he had gotten a driver’s license with, “I’m not a kid anymore” (as blogger pal Amy would say, reading between the eyef**king, he would be more than happy to show her how much this is true).

for claudiahhxx, cos afterall poorly-lit topless Steven is better than none.

Who knew that underneath that boyish facade was this?

At this stage, though, Bonnie and her vampire-hating “heart of tin” (look, I’m sorry, but no one chargrills my beloved Damon with her witchy powers and gets away unsnarked, OK ;)) “can commit to is maybe”. When Jeremy asks her to dance, she immediately blurts out “NO!”, but then, wisely, reconsiders the pretty before her and amends her statement to a more gracious “I mean, no, thank you.” For all the Jonnie anvils I had to duck during Masquerade, I liked this understated way of demonstrating that even if she isn’t yet ready to go down that path with him, she isn’t shutting him out entirely.

 Bonnie: When did you get your driver’s license? Jeremy: I’m not a kid anymore, Bonnie.   His laugh, sweet LORD. *flails*

Similarly, her acceptance of a ride home despite the license question is another little way of indicating to him that, if he plays his cards right, he might be able to make something more of their sudden connection.

Oh, you know who else looks good in a suit?

Source

Mixtape Track #2 – Ladidi Ladida – S.O.A.P.

Lyrics:

I wanna see you come into my life
Before I give you some ladidi ladida
I wanna see you come into my life
Before I give you some ooooooooo

Baby you can touch my…..
If I can get a taste of your….
But you only seem to care for money
And I don’t wanna wait a minute more

If you don’t give it up I still gotta stop it cause I’m never gonna spend it on you….

I wanna see you come into my life
Before I give you some ladidi ladida
I wanna see you come into my life
Before I give you some ooooooooo
oh oh oh oh
Ladidi Ladida (ladidi ladida)
Ladidi Ladida

Baby you can drive my…..
And maybe I could ride your….
But there’s so many girls in your jacuzzi
And you’ll never get a piece of my….

If you don’t give it up I still gotta stop it cause I’m never gonna spend it on you….

I wanna see you come into my life
Before I give you some ladidi ladida
I wanna see you come into my life
Before I give you some ooooooooo
oh oh oh oh
Ladidi Ladida (ladidi ladida)
Ladidi Ladida (la ladidi ladida!)
Ladidi Ladida (ladidi ladida)
Ladidi Ladida-I wanna see you come!

I wanna see you come!
I wanna see you come!

I wanna see you come into my life
Before I give you some ladidi ladida
I wanna see you come into my life
Before I give you some ooooooooo
oh oh oh oh
Ladidi Ladida (ladidi ladida)
Ladidi Ladida (la ladidi ladida!)
Ladidi Ladida (ladidi ladida)
Ladidi Ladida
I wanna see you come!

Jeremy/Bonnie Connection:

Unpopular opinion (apparently): I prefer his hair NOT pushed back

Oh, you thought I’d forgotten the infamous “sex spells” quote in Masquerade, did you? Clearly you overestimate my powers of fangirl control. No, this little baby has been popped in the mixtape pipe and smoked with its very own track.

reblogging for the lulzy comment. Clearly, Jeremy Gilbert needs to get laid.

All that matters with Ladidi Ladida in this case is the chorus. Remember Bonnie’s eyes bugging out behind her mask when Jeremy admits that if he had witchy powers like the ones she has, he would cast sex spells? That is one hell of a forward pick-up line masquerading (see what I did there ;)) as a joke that is actually fitting in the context of the supernatural Mystic Falls world. (Hmm, what would be a good cheesy pick up line to use on a vamp? “Bite me, baby!”, “You have such pretty, compelling eyes”, “I wanna see you sparkle”. Conversely, for vampire slayer Alaric? “Is that a stake in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?”, “When you’re done with Useless, call me”).

I wanna see you come into my life
Before I give you some ladidi ladida

Jeremy, honey, Bonnie may feel this way, but feel free to come into my life so we can get our ladidi ladida on, no spells necessary.

Mixtape Track #3 – On Melancholy Hill – Gorillaz

Lyrics:

Up on melancholy hill
there’s a plastic tree
are you here with me?
just looking out on the day of another dream

where you can’t get what you want
but you can get me
so let’s set out to sea
cause you are my medicine
when you’re close to me
when you’re close to me

so call in the submarine
join the world, we’ll go
does anybody know her?
if we’re looking out on the day of another dream.

if you can’t get what you want
then you can with me

up on melancholy hill
a manatee
just looking out for the day
when you’re close to me
when you’re close to me
when you’re close to me

Jeremy/Bonnie Connection:

Jeremy’s perceived lack of residual feelings for his season one vamp love Anna has caused much understandable distress for fans of the twosome of cuteness.

poisonrain:  i miss them so much  miss them too :(

I actually think Jeremy’s Anna feelings were acknowledged and dealt with in a moment Jonnie share in Rose (S02E08) while they wait for news about Elena, even though there was no direct mention of Anna.

This particular mixtape track is open to vastly different interpretations, but for me it is about two lonely people who can’t be with someone they love, but they console each other up on “melancholy hill”, a state of mind Bonnie and Jeremy were both locked in at the time.

How he goes from the sad puppy eyes to this smolder of hotness is truly fascinating.

In Bonnie’s case, she explicitly states that she is missing her Grams and feels “alone in this” because her remaining family don’t want to know about her witchy legacy; associated with this is an uneasy alliance with the vampire Salvatore brothers which she is finding difficult to come to terms with.

Jeremy, who comes from a lineage of vampire hunters, would no doubt empathise with how a family legacy of working alongside or against supernatural beings can lead to a feeling of alienation from the normal world. Yet notice Jeremy doesn’t say anything other than, “that’s how I feel a lot of the time; alone” in that sexy Jeremy drawl of his with the Jaw Thing working overtime and his eyes all soft and… OK I’m back! Momentary fangirl lapse ;).

He may not mention Anna by name, but we can fill in the blanks and remember the crippling feelings of loneliness that caused him to try to turn into a vamp with Anna’s vial of her blood and mouthful of pills in a season one cliffhanger. So I read Anna as being the loved one he misses in terms of this song.

Jeremy and Bonnie. Have a moment.

Bonnie and Jeremy help ameliorate these feelings of being alone by the very act of talking about them together. The song’s reference to a “plastic tree” at the beginning refers to a normally living thing that is deadened, but towards the end of the song the protagonist is coming alive again (“join the world”). The friendship and first real inklings of deeper feelings Jonnie forge in this moment does the same for them (“cause you are my medicine”).

The more romantic Jonnie fans may not like this next point, but I’m going to make it anyway. Towards the end of the song, the protagonist tells the person with them on “melancholy hill’ that rather than continuing to long for what they can no longer have, they can still find love with them (“You can’t get what you want, but you can get me”). In the context of Jonnie, this is the difference between Jeremy’s superficial attraction to Bonnie and seriously seeing her as a contender for his heart in place of Anna. From this point on, J is heavily emotionally invested. HOT JONNIE ALMOST KISSES HERE WE COME!

 Bonnie: She’s going to be fine.Jeremy: You don’t know that…Bonnie: …No… no I don’t.   Vampire Diaries, 2.08 “Rose”

But notice the pair in the song never actually leave “melancholy hill”; it is just more bearable “when you’re close to me”; similarly, Bonnie and Jeremy will never forget their loved ones, but will learn to move on while honouring their memories.

Mixtape Track #4 – Try Again – Aaliyah

Lyrics:

What would you do
To get to me
What would you say
To have your way
Would you give up
Or try again
If I hesitate
To let you win
Or would you be yourself
Or play your role
Tell all the boys
Or keep it low
If I say no
Would you turn away
Or play me off
Or would you stay

[Chorus]
If at first you don’t succeed
Dust yourself off and try it again
You can dust it off and try it again

If at first you don’t succeed
Dust yourself off and try it again
You can dust it off and try it again

I went to you
You went to me
But I cant let it go
So easily
Not ’til I see
What this could be
Be eternity
Or just a week
Your chemistry
Is off the change
Is perfect now
But will it change
This aint a yes
This aint a no
Just do your thang

If at first you don’t succeed
Dust yourself off and try it again
You can dust it off and try it again

If at first you don’t succeed
Dust yourself off and try it again
You can dust it off and try it again

[Hook]
If you dont wanna throw it all away
Might be shy on the first date
What about the next date
um, um, um, um

If you dont wanna throw it all away
You might be buggin’ on the first date
But what about the next date
um, um, um, um

Jeremy/Bonnie Connection:

This song is all about recovering from the epic fail of a first date. What better song then to analyse how Jeremy’s game was salted by a salt lick trick on his first extracurricular-to-supernatural-stuff “meeting” with Bonnie (never actually properly defined as a date, but if it looks like a date and acts like a date, to me, well you know).

Attraction and the beginnings of emotional investment from both sides, particularly Jeremy’s, firmly established, the next phase is dateville. The hurdle of the unspoken boundary of not breaking girl code and dating your BFF’s younger sibling and for that matter a younger boy is brought to the fore in Katerina (S02E9).

:P

Jeremy runs into Bonnie in the school parking lot and sweetly, albeit laughingly, picks up the books she has dropped conveniently as soon as he was in the vicinity.

The fact that he GIVES THEM BACK rather than carrying them for her to her class is what we call noxious foreshadowing for episode developments to come, people. In any case, he asks Bonnie if she would like to shoot some pool after school so Spidey can become a poet before she knows it.

I went to you
You went to me
But I cant let it go
So easily
Not ’til I see
What this could be

It is a significant point that Bonnie initially almost balks at his audacity to ask her out. She says “You’ve never wanted to play pool with me before. Why now?” provoking a “Shut up Bonnie and just go with the pretty” from the normally even-tempered Spidey. Jeremy says “Never mind” and is about to let the matter drop and walk away, but apparently Bonnie sees reason because she stops him to accept at the last minute.

Your chemistry
Is off the change
Is perfect now
But will it change
This aint a yes
This aint a no
Just do your thang

The truth is, I was not going to be at ease till I had done a detailed analysis of HIS SHOULDERS in this scene. I can’t be the only one obsessing over this, right? RIGHT?

Despite accepting Jeremy’s invitation, it is telling that she says, half-seriously, “It’s just that you’re Elena’s brother.” And the terms of what invitation exactly she is accepting are kept vague; neither one of them clarifies whether this is a date, which is what makes the whole thing possible but also is ultimately what lets it crumble.

Some guy called Luka shows up in the episode pretty much for the sole purpose of wasting J’s flava (points if you get THAT reference).

There are basically three things you need to know about Luka.

One: Bonnie may as well take out pom poms and spell “Take me, I’m your’s” when she sees him, despite clearly crushing on our J at the same time.

Two: His snuffling around Bonnie makes Spidey…

Spiderman_by_superdot

… have this reaction:

pumpkin vomit

Three: He is a warlock (i.e. relatable catnip for Bonnie).

Jeremy is late to the pool date at the local bar/grill, giving Bonnie the chance to have a run in with Luka and his creepy dad. Despite some flirty cuteness between Jonnie (which has Luka interruptus)…

 Jeremy: Well, feel free to cheat if you need your dignity back.Bonnie: Come on, hit the ball!   ♥__♥

…Jeremy makes the mistake of letting his hottie witch out of his sight so he can continue playing a game after she loses dismally.

This gives Luka the chance to impress Bonnie with, um, moving table salt with his warlocky powers, and starts getting closer to her. Whatever floats your boat, I guess, Bonnie?

Jeremy watches the two clicking from afar…

;___;

…and indignant on J’s behalf for his shabby treatment by Bonnie, I will have my revenge on the final track of this mixtape. *deep breaths* But apart from that, Jeremy needs to take Aaliyah’s words to heart:

If you dont wanna throw it all away
You might be buggin’ on the first date
But what about the next date
um, um, um, um

If at first you don’t succeed
Dust yourself off and try it again
You can dust it off and try it again

After all, Luka/Bonnie aren’t a sure thing yet.

Continued in Part II!

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

7 responses to “Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Jeremy & Spidette Bonnie – The Vampire Diaries – Part I

  • kjewls

    Your VAST knowledge of late 80’s, 90’s and 00’s music never fails to impress me, Cherie! That “Crush” song simply rocks. It just NEVER gets old! And “Try Again” definitely embodies the Jonnie dynamic!

    I’m with you, Cherie. I think the age difference between Bonnie and Jeremy (two years tops, right?) is vastly over-emphasized. It’s kind of ironic how everyone harps on Bonnie for cradle-robbing, and yet NO ONE ever mentions the 100 + year age difference between Elena and HER two suitors. 🙂

    Sure, both vampires “stopped aging” during their tender years . . But, even if you consider the brothers to be halted forever, at the age of their death, Damon had to be at least 21 when he died, making him AT LEAST 4 years older than Elena, in terms of physical maturity. (BTW: The double standard that chastizes women for dating younger men, when men dating younger women is totally accepted, has always bugged me a bit.)

    On the other hand, in a sense, I can sort of relate to Bonnie’s feelings on this matter (which is odd, considering how much her character tends to irk me). You see, when I was in high school, I found myself suddenly attracted to my childhood friend’s younger brother, who, you guessed it, was two years younger than me. I remember being TOTALLY ashamed by it, and feeling really pervy at the time. (I never admitted my feelings to my friend or her brother, BTW) My embarrassment was NOT because I was 16, and he was 14, mind you. But rather, because I remember being 10 when he was 8 . . . And when you are little kids, those two years make a HUGE DIFFERENCE in terms of maturity . . .

    Another fabulous post, Cherie. I can’t wait for Part 2!

    • Spidey Sense

      I just will NEVER EVER be able to quit 90s music! It always just makes me feel so happy!
      Fun little tidbit – the Anything song is actually from the dream sequence in Buffy episode Surprise. Hopefully it doesn’t piss off too many Buffy fans – I just have been dying to find an excuse to include the song in a mixtape post, and the opportunity presented itself here, so… 😉 I guess I could always have saved it for a Buffy/Angel post, but let’s face it, Spuffy is the couple that gets my love so I don’t hold it sacred as Buffy/Angel fans probably would.
      Yeah, it is funny how fixated everyone is on the whole jailbait angle with Jeremy. It really all comes back to him being Elena’s little brother and Elena’s protective streak regarding him, not his age, I think. Someone gave me their theory about why 100+ year old vamps could possibly be interested in teen girls as is the case in Vampire Diaries and Twilight, and said that they believe the emotional maturity of a vamp stalls at the age they are turned. I think we will see definite character growth with both Stefan and Damon, but this is pretty good explanation for why this is roughly where they stand emotionally!
      Also, Bonnie is inexperienced when it comes to dating in comparison to Jeremy, who has had loads of sex for his age (all that really matters, Bon Bon!)
      I agree about the older woman/younger man double standard being annoying. It also peeves me that there is a taller woman/shorter man differential, since I have a little height (not Amazonian by any means but still not too bad) and have been attracted to several shorter guys. Having said that, I found it DELICIOUS when Skars stood over petite Paquin and ducked his head, just before The Kiss in season three.
      Julie the cradle robber sounds so cute! Were you attracted more by his personality or looks? I think guys at that age are still sweet compared to the jackasses they turn into at 16 when hormones REALLY kick in (fun to watch on TV, not quite as much fun to experience!), so I can understand your attraction 😉 Particularly if he had icy blue eyes, pale skin, natural blush in his cheeks and an Adonis Belt to die for…

  • Mixtape Mondays – Spidey Jeremy & Spidette Bonnie – The Vampire Diaires – Part II « myspideysenseistingling

    […] – The Vampire Diaires – Part II By Spidey Sense Don’t forget to read Part I so you are all up to speed if you haven’t already . Also, as before, all awesome GIFs and […]

  • imaginarymen

    Ok that’s it – we definitely need a t-shirt for “You’ve got to read between the eyef**king”!!

    • Spidey Sense

      That line truly was a stroke of genius. It has even creeped into my TV watching party lexicon – when a True Blood newbie needed to be filled in on Sookie/Eric dynamics so she could watch some season three eps I found myself saying this 😉

  • Jesse

    Okay, let’s say it: I’m just commenting because of the “SuddenlySmokingHotJaw” from Jeremy and because I love your first song “Crush”!! 🙂
    I never really wanted Jeremy with Bonnie… Not because of the “age” thing(that totally doesn’t exist!), but because I don’t really get where that chemistry comes from. It happened all in a rush and I don’t know, maybe I just need some time to get used to this idea…
    So Jeremy has a crush on her for sure – you pointed that out in your awesomeness – and is trying to “win her over” so to say.
    But then again… I think he really is just hoping to forget his past feelings for Anna (gosh I loved those two together!) – and that his feelings may wear off at a later point.
    Now, bring in Luka. Bonnie is hooked from the very first moment she meets him – which then turnes the probably otherwise cute Jonnie date in “Katerina” into a kinda Luka/Bonnie date. I’m really feeling sorry for Jeremy! His girlfriends either die or fall for another guy 😦
    Let’s hope there is still hope for Jonnie (or shall we not hope for them??)

    • Spidey Sense

      Tehe! You’ll be happy to know that SuddenlySmokingHotJaw is inspired by the Jesse TM OhSoHot Damon!

      To be honest, I totally agree their chemistry is totally contrived by the writers, who just want to put two main secondary characters together. I put a major part about Anna in there because I feel like her memory should be honoured more than it has. A mention here or there of her importance in Jeremy’s life, particularly because he tried to commit vampirecide when she died, would be nice.

      But, all that aside, I can fanwank where the chemistry has come from. Bonnie and Jeremy haven’t really shared a scene together EVER since the very start of the show. In show time, it is feasible to say that seeing one another after enough time had passed for Jeremy to look dramatically different and for Bonnie’s hotness to be a faint memory for him, means that they were experiencing a variation of love at first sight, or hormones at first sight, at any rate.

      I’m probably a little mean to Luka because I love Jeremy so much. Basically, if he wasn’t Jeremy’s love rival, I would be going on and on about what a cutie is. But my loyalty is strong because of that damn Jaw Thing 😉

      Oh, did you know that Bonnie is meant to get a kiss in the first episode back? I wonder who it will be with!

Leave a Reply

