Mixtape Mondays – Anti Love – Spidey Bill & Spidette Sookie – True Blood – Part II

This guy recommends you get a taste of Part I if you haven’t already first…

Mixtape Track #5 – He Loves You Not – Dream

Lyrics:

He loves me, He loves you not.
He loves me, He loves me not.
He loves me, He loves YOU not.
HE LOVES YOU NOT.

Give it your all girl, give it all ya got.
You can take a chance, take your best shot.
Say what you want girl, do what you do.
He’s never gonna, gonna make it with you.

Pulling petals off a flower trying to get your way.
Keep pulling til’ it says what you want it to say.
Girl you can pick a field full of daisies,
But he’d still be my baby.
I know you can hardly wait til I’m away from him.
Instinctively, I know what you’re thinking,
You’ll be giving him an open invitation,
But my baby won’t be taken in.

You can pout your cherry lips,
Try to tempt him with a sweet kiss.
You can flurt your pretty eyes,
He ain’t got his hands tied.

[Chorus:]
No chains to unlock,
So free to do what he wants.
He’s into what he’s got.
He loves me, he loves you not.
No matter what you do, he’s never gonna be with you.
He’s into what he’s got
He loves me, he loves you not.

You’re the kind of girl that is always up for do or dare.
Only want him just because he’s there.
Always looking for a new ride,
The grass is greener on the other side.
You’re the kind of girl who’s not use to hearing no,
All your lovers try to take you where you wanna go.
It doesn’t matter how hard you try, you’re never gonna get with my guy.

[Chorus:]
No chains to unlock,
So free to do what he wants,
He’s into what he’s got( that’s me )
He loves me, He loves you not.
No matter what you do, he is never gonna be with you.
He’s into what he’s got
He loves me, he loves you not.

Doesn’t matter what you do, he’s never gonna be with you.

Give it your all girl, give it all ya got.
You can take your chance at a second hand shot.
Say what you want girl, do what you do.
He’s never gonna make it with you.

You can pout your cherry lips ( yeah )
Try to tempt him with a sweet kiss ( sweet kiss )
You can flutt your pretty eyes ( pretty eyes )
He ain’t got his hands tied.

[x2]

No chains to unlock,
So free to do what he wants.
He’s into what he’s got,
He loves me, he loves you not.
No matter what you do, he’s never gonna be with you.
He is into what he’s got,
He loves me, He loves you not….

Beel/Sookeh Connection:

Bill and Sookie have internal relationship conflicts aplenty, but they have just as many external ones.

Without a doubt, the most batshit insane external factor they have had to deal with is his lovelorn maker Lorena. Lorena turned Bill into a vampire against his will and led him down a depraved path, where things like having sex together in the entrails of a Parisian couple they had just viciously murdered were the equivalent of the vampire pair wearing his and hers pjs.

No chains to unlock,
So free to do what he wants

Bill’s conscience eventually came to bite him in the ass and in 1935, he begged Lorena to relinquish her maker control over him, something she did only when he threatened to stake himself otherwise. Because to her bitter end, Lorena is firmly on Team Bill.

In Hard-Hearted Hannah (S02E06), Lorena returns for some quality time with Bill, holding him hostage in her version of a declaration of love.

Give it your all girl, give it all ya got.
You can take your chance at a second hand shot.
Say what you want girl, do what you do.
He’s never gonna make it with you

Bill escapes Lorena’s clutches, but in Timebomb (S02E09) she confronts him again, this time in the presence of Sookie who goes all Springer at the thought of another woman crowding her man.

Source

Sookie, never one to be a shrinking violet, screams at Lorena to “Go find someone else, you f**king bitch! You’ve lost this one!” I’ll admit I was a little bit disappointed that Lafayette wasn’t in the crowd of onlookers to say “No she di –iint!” Ultimately, Eric’s maker Godric breaks the catfight up and banishes Lorena the area, but when he dies you know it is just a matter of time before she reappears.

Sure enough, in season three, Lorena comes back like a bad case of VD. In Beautifully Broken (S03E02), Bill is being held against his will in house of the awesomely crazy King of Mississippi, Russell Edgington. Long story short, to protect Sookie, Bill has to give up their relationship and join forces with the other vamps. Lorena moseys on into the King’s house to gloat about this development, leading him to through a fire lamp in her direction that engulfs her in flames.

I guess Bill has upgraded since his days of pulling girls’ ponytails.

In It Hurts Me Too (S03E3), Bill takes out his anger at Lorena stealing his humanity and capacity for pure love in sex so full of hatred I consider it rape even though Lorena was willing to participate in any sex act with him, no matter how degrading.

Having your head twisted 180 degrees during sex may be the ultimate expression of “He loves you not” I’ve ever seen…

requested by graciousplentyThis was made already, but once again, I couldn’t find it.

Source

Sookie stakes Lorena in Hitting The Ground (S03E07), just when I was hoping the crazy kids Bill and Lorena would work their shit out.

Mixtape Track #6 – Head (Of Medusa) – Otep

Lyrics:

In That Final Look
Does the Deer Forgive the Wolf?

You’ve Stolen My Fascination
You’ve Smothered My Holy Addiction

And Now I’m Soaked In You
Like Fat White Worms & Sad Haikus

I Woke Up
& the World Was On Fire

I Woke Up
& the Swine Had Conspired

To Erase All the Faith
That I Have In the Human Race

I Woke Up
& the World Was On Fire

It’s All In Your Head
It’s All In Your Head
They Said I Need to Flee

Are They Shephards?
Or Are They Sheep?

Are We the Butchers?
Or Are We the Meat?

In This Nest Of Lies
Living A Life Under Siege
We Sink In the Stink
& I Need My Disease

It’s All In Your Head
They Said I Need To Flee
This Neverending
Ordinary Monarchy

Beneath the Toxic Water
Where My Secrets Come To Meet
In Catacombs Of Shadow
& Wet Skies Of Mystery

I Found A Soggy Savior
A Painted Lady Made Of Eyes
She Sings To Me, Of My Deceit…
“Your Life Is A Lie”

I Woke Up
& the World Was On Fire

I Woke Up
& the Swine Had Conspired

To Erase All the Faith
That I Have In the Human Race

I Woke Up
& the World Was On Fire

It’s All In Your Head
It’s All In Your Head
They Said I Need to Flee

Are They Shephards?
Or Are They Sheep?

Are We the Butchers?
Or Are We the Meat?

In This Nest Of Lies
Living A Life Under Siege
We Sink In the Stink
& I Need My Disease

It’s All In Your Head
They Said I Need To Flee
This Neverending
Ordinary Monarchy

If We Stand Too Still,
They’re Gonna Eat Us Alive!

Watch Your Tongue,
Teach Them Young …

Medicate the Mutiny.
Better Living Through Chemistry.
Self Destruction’s Patriotic.
Money Fixes Everything.

Watch Your Tongue,
Teach Them Young …

We’re Taught
To Love & Hate,
To Fight & Obey …

I’ve Lost My Mind,
But I’ve Found My Way

(In This Nest Of Lies
Every Walls Has Eyes)

It’s All In Your Head
It’s All In Your Head
They Said I Need To Flee

In This Nest Of Lies
Living A Life Under Siege
We Sink In the Stink
& I Need My Disease

It’s All In Your Head
They Said I Need To Flee
This Neverending
Ordinary Monarchy

Beel/Sookeh Connection:

Bill had been tortured to near final undeath through his experiences with Russell and Lorena. However, his next actions are unforgiveable in my eyes.

In That Final Look
Does the Deer Forgive the Wolf?

While Tara (who had also been held captive at the King’s mansion) and Alcide Herveaux (a werewolf who helped Sookie locate Bill) sit in the front seat of a getaway truck, Sookie cradles a near comatose Bill in her arms in the back compartment. Forgetting that she is a deer in the presence of a wolf, she slashes her arm with a rusty saw to feed Bill back to health.

Bill loses control and flips Sookie over, muffling her screams and almost drains her dry unnoticed until Tara and Alcide decide to check on their friend.

Tara does this:

Source

But rather than going all Crispy Kreme, Bill survives, because Sookie has fairy blood, which allows vamps to become temporarily invulnerable to the sun.

It’s All In Your Head
It’s All In Your Head
They Said I Need to Flee

As Xander might say, the whole sucking the life out of her thing is a strain on the relationship, with Sookie breaking up with Bill in Night On The Sun (S03E08). Yet within the same damn episode they are back together having Hate Sex 2.0 that makes the earlier version seem almost tame by comparison.

Source

Having said that, this is the way you f**k someone you have no intention of f**king again, just to show them what they’ll be missing.

You’ve Stolen My Fascination
You’ve Smothered My Holy Addiction

And Now I’m Soaked In You
Like Fat White Worms & Sad Haikus

It’s impossible to miss the symbolism of this sex scene. Sookie is on top for once, embracing a newfound sense of empowered sexuality. But at what cost? The girl who once upon a time couldn’t handle hearing the “J word” now is throttling a conquest during sex, in a house strewn with bullet shells and lost innocence. She has become “soaked” in Bill; in this moment her innate goodness has been replaced with pure hate. Time will tell whether Sookie steps back from the abyss she is now peering down into or teeters over the edge completely.

Mixtape Track #7 – Cry Me A River – Justin Timberlake

Beel/Sookeh Connection:

On a completely shallow note, this song totally came to mind during the Sookie/Bill break up scene described earlier, when Bill’s sad clown tear face came on the screen.

You know who he reminded me of? This guy!

Mixtape Track #8 – Billy – James Blunt

Lyrics:

Billy’s leaving today (don’t know where he’s going).
Holds his head in disgrace (he can’t escape the truth).
He knows the price that he’s paid.
He admits that it’s too late to admit that he’s afraid.
Tomorrow comes. Sorrow becomes his soul mate.
The damage is done. The prodigal son is too late.
Old doors are closed but he’s always open,
To relive time in his mind.
Oh Billy.

Billy’s leaving today (don’t know where he’s going).
He’s got lines on his face (they tell the story of his pain).
He accepts it’s his fate.
He admits it took too long to admit that he was wrong.
Tomorrow comes. Sorrow becomes his soul mate.
The damage is done. The prodigal son is too late.
Old doors are closed but he’s always open,
To relive time in his mind.
Oh Billy.

Once he was a lover sleeping with another.
Now he’s just known as a cheat.
And he wish he’d had a mirror; looked a little clearer.
Seen into the eyes of the weak.
Tomorrow comes. Sorrow becomes his soul mate.
The damage is done. The prodigal son is too late.
Old doors are closed but he’s always open,
To relive time in his mind.
Oh Billy.

Beel/Sookeh Connection:

I’ll admit, James Blunt and I have had our differences, dating back to when one of my college friends played “You’re Beautiful” enough times to send me nearly as crazy as Franklin Mott.

(RIP hot British accented vamp)

But I am woman enough to admit when I am wrong about someone.

I discovered this James Blunt song during a random Google search for a sexy pic of Eric teasing Billy about picking a fight. What can I say, I love an alpha male, and a Viking is basically this on crack!

Here’s the photo for anyone interested!

Anyway, James, for creating this song? YOU ARE NOW MY HERO. 

Holds his head in disgrace (he can’t escape the truth).
He knows the price that he’s paid.

Sookie forgives Bill for pretty much all of his emotional f**kwittery, but the final straw comes with the reveal of his biggest betrayal of all in Evil Is Going On (S03E12).

 

Sexy cement-streaked Eric (long story!) forces Bill to confess the circumstances around the night the first met, because he believes she has the right to know.

Once he was a lover sleeping with another.
Now he’s just known as a cheat.

First, Eric dishes all the dirt on the political bedfellows who initially held Bill’s loyalties over Sookie’s best interests. Russell had informed Sookie earlier in the season that Bill had been compiling a file containing information about her family tree in it. Eric merely fills in the rest of the blanks.

Bill was ordered by vampire Queen Sophie-Anne to procure Sookie; her connection to Sookie’s cousin Hadley, had led S-A to eventually discover that the telepath had fairy blood and therefore was a valuable vamp commodity because, as mentioned earlier, it allows vamps to become daywalkers, albeit temporarily (though Sophie-Anne didn’t know this particular detail at the time). To be fair, Bill did try to keep S-A away from Sookie in the end, even earlier vowing to kill any vampire who knew about her lineage.

But it doesn’t reverse what Bill did after first meeting Sookie. He opportunistically watched in the dark while the psychotic Rattrays beat Sookie, so that he could feed her his blood and manipulate her feelings for him, making it easier to carry out his task for S-A.

Tomorrow comes. Sorrow becomes his soul mate.
The damage is done. The prodigal son is too late.

Bill, the Bon Temps prodigal son who had returned for nefarious reasons, told Sookie he later did fall in love with her for real, but it was too little, too late.

Sookie dumped Bill once and for all, rescinding his invitation. Just FYI, Sookieverse Blog provided a very satisfying list of GTFO Bill Moments in season three, which I enjoyed with sadistic pleasure. Check it out here.

She also revoked Eric’s invitation into her house, although I am sure it is only a matter of time before the latter is invited in again.

Why?

Well, chemistry doesn’t lie…

Source

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

4 responses to “Mixtape Mondays – Anti Love – Spidey Bill & Spidette Sookie – True Blood – Part II

  • kjewls

    AWESOME post, Cherie! I’ll be honest with you, I didn’t think I’d be able to stomach an entire post about that blandly awful bastard Beeeeeeeellll, but your snark and keen analysis made it all worthwhile.

    (By the way, the GIFs in here are PURE WIN! Never have I loved Tara Thornton more than when she went all Rambo on Bill’s ass this season, and threw him out of that truck, to burn to death in the sun!)

    Not until you put all the evidence together, as you did so eloquently in this post, do you really get a sense of how seriously f-d up Sookie’s relationship with Bill is. I admit that sometimes, I get annoyed at Elena on TVD, for never seeming able to break from Stefan for more than 40 minute stretches at a time, but at least those two have a somewhat HEALTHY relationship! Everytime I see Sookie and Bill engaging in hardcore dirtf*cking, following one of their weekly “Youuuu ahrr trahyin to controlll meh,” screaming matches, a part of me wants to call the Battered Women’s Hotline on Bill’s ass!

    On a lighter note, what did you think of Chapter 1 of “Dead Reckoning?” I simply loved the analysis provided in the Sookieverse Blog. It made me think I didn’t read carefully enough at all! I missed so many of Charlaine Harris’ subtle clues! *hangs head in shame* 🙂

    • Spidey Sense

      Rutina Wesley’s crazy eyes are the only ones I have seen to date that rival Ian Somerhalder’s when Damon is teetering on the abyss. I could totally buy her character having the strength to overcome Franklin “Shoney’s” Mott.

      Sookie, I think, not only was addicted to Bill’s blood but their train wreck, dynsfunctional relationship – for someone who has felt dead inside for so long, revelling in all the crap that has come with dating him seems to be something she wanted more of, like a masochist taking sick pleasure in pain. That is, of course, until she found out about his worst betrayal of all.

      “Youuuu ahrr trahyin to controlll meh”. I giggled at this line SO MUCH! Truly, Bill and Sookie’s accents are a comedy routine in themselves.

      I LOVED Dead Reckoning, and am champing at the bit for the book to be released. I was a little disappointed by the return of Sam’s Halo Hair, since I’ve been spinning conspiracy theories ever since it was shorn off. Sookieverse Blog rocks though, when it comes to in depth analysis of the Sookie worlds. Not to mention the Skarsgarding of the Loins that is rampant on the site!

      I was the same as you – I thought I had a good understanding of Charlaine Harris’ subtly clues, but there is so much I would have missed without the SVB analysis. Can’t wait to read her take on the entire book!

  • imaginarymen

    I love that you mentioned Dawson/Joey in Part I bc I think of Bill/Sookie as the Vampire version of those two idiots!!

    http://imaginarymen.wordpress.com/2010/09/02/the-problem-with-bill-compton/

    I hadn’t even realized how annoying/f’d up their relationship is bc I tend to sort of “tune them out” every time they are on. I will say that the scene where he nearly killed Sookie in the van was VERY much a rape scene IMO – much more than the head twisting Lorena one.

    Must make for some interesting conversations in the Moyer/Paquin household!

    • Spidey Sense

      Truer words were never spoken about the Dawson/Joey comparison! I definitely agree with you that Bill/Sookie have been shoved down our throats as soul mates by Ball. Show, don’t tell us!

      Dawson is really as emotionally manipulative in many ways as Bill. For me, him rejecting Joey when she offers herself to him, even though he ostensibly cares for her and wants her, was a way of controlling her sexuality. He was also content to deny her love with Pacey and threaten the loss of his friendship to keep her by his side, whereas Pacey was willing to sacrifice his own happiness for hers.

      It is interesting that you say the van scene was a rape scene for you, because the book version involved actual rape. Needless to say, Eric fans, including me, where up in arms about this whitewashing of an integral scene in the book. I know it would have been upsetting to present on screen, but this violation was a real turning point in the books, so sanitising it, and then having the heroine f**k the brains out of her attacker the very next episode just doesn’t quite ring true.

      I’m just imagining Moyer and Paquin sitting down with their parents to watch their work on True Blood too. Can you say awkward!

Leave a Reply

