Mixtape Mondays – Anti Love – Spidey Damon & Spidette Katherine – The Vampire Diaries

Source

(I’m sorry this is so late guys, but I have been sick with bad headaches this week, which has made anything other that adding comments to other posts impossible. But at least now you have a flurry of posts to look forward to!)

As evil vampire Katherine Pierce noted on The Vampire Diaries, there is a thin line between love and hate, and her relationship with Damon Salvatore has gone from one extreme to the other. The feelings of obsession Damon had for Katherine for 145 years were too strong to be killed outright in the immediate aftermath of the revelation of her betrayals, but he has slowly come to terms with the great love he thought they shared being an illusion. So let’s check out the gloriously f**ked up opera from start to finish so far, shall we?

Mixtape Track #1 – Tearin’ Up My Heart – N’Sync

Lyrics:

It’s tearin’ up my heart when I’m with you
But when we are apart I feel it too
And no matter what I do I feel the pain
With or without you

Baby I don’t understand
Just why we can’t be lovers
Things are gettin’ out of hand
Tryin’ too much but baby we can win

Let it go
If you want me girl let me know
I am down on my knees
I can’t take it anymore

It’s tearing up my heart when I’m with you
But when we are apart I feel it too
And no matter what I do I feel the pain
With or without you

Baby don’t misunderstand
What I’m tryin’ to tell ya
In the corner of my mind
Baby it feels like we’re running out of time

Let it go
If you want me girl let me know
I am down on my knees
I can’t take it anymore

It’s tearin’ up my heart when I’m with you
But when we are apart I feel it too
And no matter what I do I feel the pain
With or without you

Tearin’ up my heart and soul
We’re apart, I feel it too
And no matter what I do
I feel the pain with or without you

Tearin’ up my heart and soul
We’re apart, I feel it too
And no matter what I do
I feel the pain with or without you

It’s tearin’ up my heart when I’m with you
But when we are apart I feel it too
And no matter what I do I feel the pain
With or without you

And no matter what I do
I feel the pain with or without you

Damon/Katherine Connection:

Katherine left an imprint on Damon’s heart even more twisted than the Stephenie Meyer werewolves-in-love variety.

Source

It’s tearing up my heart when I’m with you
But when we are apart I feel it too
And no matter what I do I feel the pain
With or without you

Damon’s love was shot through with pain in Katherine’s presence as a human or alone as a vampire for more than a century and a half, desperately trying to find a way to unlock her from the mystically sealed tomb he thought she was trapped in. It’s this pain, along with her siring him as a vampire, that is responsible for turning Damon from a “sweet” and “innocent” man, as Katherine calls him in The Return (S02E01), clearly referring to his old self, into a killer barely hanging onto the threads of his conscience when we first meet him in the pilot episode.

 

Source

I’ve always thought that the Katherine Damon fell in love with was entirely an illusion. But I was re-watching some early episodes and a line stood out to me that there was at least some awareness on his part of her real nature even before her major betrayals were revealed. In Friday Night Bites (S01E03), he describes Katherine to her human doppelganger Elena Gilbert, who at that point is in the dark about vampires and only knows Katherine is the woman who came between him and his brother Stefan: “She was also very complicated and selfish and at times not very kind but very sexy and seductive.”

 

Source

Katherine kept things from Damon when he was a human, and even occasionally compelled him when he was annoying her, despite his belief to the contrary that their relationship was entirely compulsion-free, but I think she was living less of a lie with him than with Stefan. Damon knew she was a vampire, and he knew that she was also hooking up with his brother while being involved with him, yet he didn’t need to be compelled to accept these parts of her; he told Stefan in History Repeating (S01E08), “Katherine never compelled me. I knew everything. It was real.” It didn’t mean that he didn’t feel jealousy or pain, but his love for her was strong enough that it could withstand or at least ignore these emotions. In contrast, Stefan had to be compelled not to be scared of the monstrous nature beneath her beautiful shell after she first showed it to him.

 

Source

Damon went so far as to learn vampiric party tricks from Katherine while still a human to prepare for his life with her when he turned. For example, Katherine taught him how to play dead in the road and trick a victim into stopping to help him, as shown in Children Of The Damned (S01E13); he even kissed her bloody mouth when she had fed on this victim. Ultimately, what he couldn’t handle about Katherine is that she never loved him, or at least not in the way he wanted her to.

I mean, Damon died with vampire blood in his system trying to save Katherine’s “life” from an anti-vampire mob in his town, Mystic Falls. When he thought she had been taken to a Mystic Falls church and burned and killed with other vampires, he didn’t want to turn any longer and only did so because his brother Stefan forced him to.

Source

Later, when he discovered that the vampires in the church had actually been protected in a mystically locked tomb and not burned, he became obsessed with releasing her. In Fool Me Once (S01E14), he learned she wasn’t in the tomb after all, and hadn’t even bothered to tell him she was alive in all the years that had passed since he turned. Yet the most hurtful thing, as Damon tells Stefan? “I hated you, and I still do. Not because you forced me to turn, but because she turned you. It was supposed to be me, Stefan. Just me.” 

To me, it is less Damon’s illusions of who Katherine was, but of her love itself, that hurt him so much. Yet perhaps his acting out over the years as a vampire was him always knowing on some level that “she’s not that into you” indicators were there, and was a desperate attempt to ignore them.

Source

I think a major reason he has tormented Stefan as a vampire is because he couldn’t get answers from Katherine, about why she lied about it just being him who would be turned and about her feelings for him; Stefan was the only available target for lashing out at when he felt that sick, desperate feeling you get when a relationship you really want is slipping away from you, which is how things were with Katherine. No wonder he was so urgent to get the tomb open; he needed answers.

Mixtape Track #2 – Stupid Thing – Nickel

Lyrics:

I did a stupid thing last night
I called you
a moment of weakness
no, not a moment
more like three months of weakness

I’m one step away
from crashing to my knees
one step away
from spilling my guts to you

I did a stupid thing last night
I called you
I’m doing alright
no, don’t feel sorry for me
really, I’m alright

and I’m one step away
from crashing to my knees
one step away
from spilling my guts to you

you see, there’s this huge chunk of me missing
it’s gone
and I can’t feel it, I can’t feel it
I can’t feel…

I did a stupid thing last night
I called you
it’s the last time
and maybe tomorrow night
will be the last time…

when I’m one step away
from crashing to my knees
one step away
from crashing to my knees
one step away
from spilling my guts to you

Damon/Katherine Connection:

 As I mentioned earlier, Damon’s obsession with Katherine was too strong to be killed outright, even when her betrayals came to light.

I did a stupid thing last night
I called you
a moment of weakness

This song is about being hung up on an ex and going back to them even when you know better.

Though admittedly Katherine was the one who sought Damon out for hate sex in The Return (S02E01) after blowing back into Mystic Falls, like a funnel cloud which you never know when is going to touch down and rip things apart, Damon was the one who had to choose whether or not to give into weakness. As Katherine said: “Kiss me. Or kill me. Which will it be, Damon? We both know that you’re only capable of one.” Before you know it, the vamps are going at it like sexy jackrabbits and I had to defog my TV screen and resist the urge to make fang marks like that iconic Titanic hand sex scene.

 

Source

However, experience has made Damon wiser, and before they can get fully hot and heavy, he asks Katherine to wait for just a second.

when I’m one step away
from crashing to my knees
one step away
from crashing to my knees
one step away
from spilling my guts to you

Finally, we see Damon stripped down to the man he had been before Katherine created him in her image; there was not an ounce of his usual snark or Eye Thing, for that matter, in this scene, the latter which I have always partly seen as an affectation he uses to put on his vampire Damon persona.

 DamonKatherinereturn1

 DamonKatherinereturn2

DamonKatherinereturn3

DamonKatherinereturn4

Source

Damon’s willingness to forgive everything and start fresh is evidence of him clinging to the hope that she had loved him in some way. Her telling him point blank that she never had was probably the only way he was ever going to accept it. But doing the “stupid thing” of allowing her to get under his skin and tear off the scab forming on the wound unhealing she had created in him would have repercussions for the much healthier relationships he had been developing in Mystic Falls up until then. 

Mixtape Track #3 – I Turn My Camera On – Spoon

Lyrics:

I turn my camera on
I cut my fingers on the way, on the way
The way I’m slipping away
I turn my feelings off
Y’made me untouchable for life
And you wasn’t polite

It hit me like a tom
You hit me like a tom
On on and on

When I turn my feelings off
I turn my feelings on inside
Feel like I’m gonna ignite
I saw them stars go off
I saw them stars off at night
And they’re looking alright

Keep on blowin’ up
Keep on blowin’ ’em off
Get up roll it out
Keep on showin’ ’em out
Y’hit me like a tom
Y’hit me like a tom
On and on a tom

I turn my camera on
I cut my fingers on the way
I feel me slippin’ away
I wipe my feelings off
It made me untouchable for life
Yeah and you wasn’t polite

Y’hit me like a tom
I don’t know where it’s from
It hit me like a tom

Damon/Katherine Connection:

Katherine telling Damon she didn’t love him was like the punctuation at the end of a very long sentence where his illusions about her love crumbled. Yet hearing it direct from her was brutal (“Y’hit me like a tom”) and the final major blow he had suffered at her hands.

That this came the day after he had shared an emotionally vulnerable moment and kiss with who he thought was Elena on the Gilbert porch, but it turned out to be Katherine, was doubly tragic.

When I turn my feelings off
I turn my feelings on inside
Feel like I’m gonna ignite

The narrator of this song is someone who copes with things by being apathetic or “turning his feelings off”, as a result of personal devastation caused by a person in his life. Young vampires can turn their humanity switch on and off, and Damon first dealt with life without Katherine, then the heartbreak she caused him, by shutting his human feelings off. However, as we all know, when feelings get bottled up they can threaten to explode. And for all vampires’ talk about being in control of their emotions, I would actually argue they are among the most emotional creatures on their Vampire Diaries! When their feelings are switched on they seem to be magnified compared to those of humans, just like their human traits are amplified after they are turned.

 

Just like Stefan hadn’t learned to manage his thirst for human blood and build up a tolerance to its effects by sticking to the bunny diet, Damon hadn’t learned to control his human emotions when he finally switched them back on.

I turn my camera on
I cut my fingers on the way

In the porch scene with “Elena” it was the first real case of “Damon, we can see your emotions”; he was having an epiphany about wanting to protect the town he was originally intent on destroying, and the moment was about the impact she had had on him. “Elena” kissing him back was the fulfilment of a wish he didn’t know he had made; that just maybe he was worth loving honestly and unconditionally.

The scene he shares with Elena at the end of The Return (S02E01), where he tries to get her to admit that she has feelings for him, is for me about him trying to recapture yet another thing that Katherine had taken away from him. Katherine knows how to push the buttons of both Salvatore brothers very well, and knows that Damon is ruled by his heart and emotions while Stefan is ruled by his head. Although she couldn’t have possibly predicted that Damon’s failed attempt to recreate his porch moment with Elena ended in him snapping Elena’s brother Jeremy’s neck, no doubt she knew that telling Damon she had never loved him would result in something like this.

At least Damon has had a defining moment where all of his illusions with Katherine seem to be have been completely broken. Has Stefan? I don’t think he has hit rock bottom in the same way Damon has with her, despite claiming to hate her, but I’d be curious to know what everyone else thinks on this point.

Mixtape Track #4 – Breakeven – The Script

Lyrics:

I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing
Just prayed to a god that I don’t believe in
Coz I got time while she got freedom
Coz when a heart breaks no it don’t break even

Her best days will be some of my worst
She finally met a man that’s gonna put her first
While I’m wide awake she’s no trouble sleeping
Coz when a heart breaks no it don’t break even, even no

What am I supposed to do when the best part of me was always you?
What am I supposed to say when I’m all choked up and you’re OK?
I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces

They say bad things happen for a reason
But no wise words gonna stop me bleeding
Coz she’s moved on while I’m still grieving
And when a heart breaks, no it don’t break even, even, no

What am I gonna do when the best part of me was always you?
What am I supposed to say when I’m all choked up and you’re OK?
I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces
I’m falling to pieces

You got his heart and my heart and none of the pain
You took your suitcase, I took the blame
Now I’m trying to make sense of what little remains
Coz you left me with no love, with no love to my name

I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing
Just prayed to a god that I don’t believe in
Coz I got time while she got freedom
Coz when a heart breaks, no it don’t break–
No it don’t break, no it don’t break even, no

What am I gonna do when the best part of me was always you?
What am I supposed to say when I’m all choked up and you’re OK?
I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces
I’m falling to pieces

Oh, it don’t break even, no (x3)

Thanks Awesome Jesse from Addicted to TVD Tumblr for this amazing song suggestion, as usual! 

Damon/Katherine Connection:

Although the specific story at the heart of this song can’t be directly applied to Datherine (“Her best days will be some of my worst; She finally met a man that’s gonna put her first”), its essence can; it is about how when a relationship ends hearts rarely “break even”, or in other words there are different levels of pain experienced by the two people involved.

 

Source

Clearly, Damon was the one who was “falling to pieces” in this scenario as a result of Katherine’s emotional f**kwittery. As blogger pal Amy was happy I noted in another Vampire Diaries post, Katherine even managed to break Damon’s will to button his own shirt without Elena’s help for a while.

But I think sometimes we overlook Katherine’s investment in the relationship and the emotional fallout for her of Damon well and truly cutting ties with her, something she may have imagined the lovesick vampire would never do. When Katherine was incapacitated by a witch in Masquerade (S02E07) and gave Damon the opportunity to heartlessly lock her back in the tomb he thought she had been sealed in all this time, her view of him had to have changed a little. She basically had him trapped for a century and a half, and now the power dynamic had shifted; he was finally trapping her too, making things come full circle.

Her clawing at the walls of the tomb and begging him not to lock her in is the most emotionally vulnerable we’ve seen her apart from when her baby was taken away and her human family died, and I think there was a little heartbreak mixed in there with her claim to fearing for her doppelganger’s life. It is inevitable that she will emerge from the tomb at some point, and I wonder if it will be with a renewed interest in him. Well, we all know that she loves a challenge, and making him love her again certainly would be one now.

 

Even before that, though she seemed dismissive of him and called his human self a bore in Masquerade, I wonder if she really was completely unaffected by Damon being totally accepting of her and unconditionally in love with her. In the centuries she had been alive, he seemed to be the only one who had felt like that, and it has to have some impact. Also, if he was such tedious bore to have around, it begs the question of why she fed him her blood to turn him in the first place. I guess you could argue she did it so Stefan would be willing to transition, but wouldn’t having his lovesick brother around cause more complications that he was worth? Why create a daywalker ring for him too? That is evidence that she wanted him to live well as a vampire, and that she originally wanted both brothers to be part of her vampire “family”. And remember her saying in one flashback scene that she has such big plans for both of the brothers? I just can’t buy that he has purely been a pawn to her.

Her heartbreak, assuming it exists, is nowhere near “even” to what Damon has suffered. But I’d be surprised if she doesn’t try to get him back or start to realise his worth and what she is missing. How Damon would respond if that happened is the big question.

Crystal Ball Track – Stake In The Heart – Demented Are Go

Lyrics:

I thought it was love
You should’ve seen her
A gothic bitch with schitzophrenia
But I guess it’s all over now

Yeah she thought I was a vampire
A web of poison she took me in there
Hypnotised with her loves, lies, deceit

Stake in the heart
Mistake from the start
Thought it was love never ending
The stakes too high the price my life
She took an axe and she went crazy

She took me back to her padded cell
Opened the door and said welcome to hell
But I guess it’s only me to blame

She tied me up for a night of passion
All my fears were forgotten
But the stake came down
My life blood flowed away

Now I lie on the sofa bleeding
That gothic bitch she starts cleaning
As the stake came down
She dusts away

Damon/Katherine Connection:

Stake in the heart
Mistake from the start
Thought it was love never ending
The stakes too high the price my life
She took an axe and she went crazy

I can’t think of any other lyrics that more perfectly encapsulate the whole Datherine relationship. She has figuratively staked him in the heart time and time again with her emotional f**kwittery, and for that reason I would be profoundly disappointed if anyone but Damon ends up staking her for real. While Stefan, Elena and the others absolutely have legitimate cause to hate her, Damon is the one who has been damaged the most by her.

The writers constantly reiterate her influence over him beyond the loving her for 145 years angle, by seeing him mirror her actions as a vampire.

Katherine compelled Jimmy to fight with Mason to trigger his werewolf gene…

…Damon compelled carnie Carter to fight with Tyler to find out whether or not Tyler was a werewolf himself.

 Katherine is rejected by Stefan and Damon (in Damon’s case in the sense he wanted answers and not just sexy vamp time) so she smothers Caroline…

…Damon is rejected by Elena and Katherine, and snaps Jeremy’s neck.

Source

And Damon, who presumably cared about human life enough to not be willing to fight in the civil war, must have learned his lack of respect for human life from Katherine, evident when she trained him in the ways of being a vampire while still a human. And of course, Damon playing dead in the middle of a road in the pilot to lure an unsuspecting couple is a tactic we saw Katherine teaching him in a flashback.

Staking Katherine is a key part of Damon’s redemption arc; it is like coming full circle as a vampire. It could be seen as an act of remorse for everything he has done since he met her. So I predict that whether it happens this season or a couple seasons down the track, Damon will be the one to kill her. Anything less and I will feel cheated, and so should he if someone else gets to kill her.

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

9 responses to “Mixtape Mondays – Anti Love – Spidey Damon & Spidette Katherine – The Vampire Diaries

  • kjewls

    You never cease to amaze me, Cherie! You know, of all the many complex relationships on The Vampire Diaries, Katherine’s and Damon’s was always the one I understood least. (Perhaps, because I was always so OBSESSED with Delena, Kefan and Forwood ;)). The coupling just held so many question marks for me — well, no longer, thanks to you!

    The way you described Damon as having this unconditional love for Katherine, despite the fact that, at least on some level, he truly (1) KNEW who she was; (2) knew the self-destructive, all-consuming impact his love for her was having on him; (3) and knew that she was incapable of loving him the same way in return, only makes me love Damon MORE! After all, who hasn’t experienced those type of seemingly inexplicable self-destructive feelings of love for another human being? (well . . . maybe not for 145 years, but still!) It just makes Damon that much more relatable as a character. Because, as we all know, love may be blind, but it still knows how to find you (and beat the crap out of you) every once in a while.

    I also adore the song choices you selected for this mix. Who knew N’Sync was so deep? 🙂 And that Spoon song you chose remains one of my favorites. I fell in love with it, when they played it on Veronica Mars (though I suspect it’s even older than that show.)

    It’s funny. Because even before you posted it here, the “I cut my feelings off, made me untouchable for life” line always reminded me of The Vampire Diaries, and its constant discussion of whether vampires are capable of “turning off their humanity.” It’s also a song I tend to sing to myself, whenever I am feeling particularly emotional; and that excessive emotionality starts to become destructive all-consuming. It never works, of course (turning off my feelings, that is). But it’s definitely a cool concept.

    I love your idea of Damon ultimately killing Katherine, and the poetic justice such an event would have. I can picture the scene in my head now. Damon and Katherine are having a SUPER sexy Battle Royale. He gets her to the point of no return. She’s completely helpless. All he has to do is make the final thrust.

    She starts taunting him, telling him he doesn’t have the guts. And he hesitates, crying and shaking, as the rest of the Scooby Gang watches in horror. Then Damon kisses Katherine deeply, and you think he’s chickened out. But when he pulls away, the stake is lodged in her heart. As Katherine dies, her last words to Damon are, “I lied, when I said I never loved you, Damon. I always did, and I always will.”

    Damon falls to the ground, sobbing like a baby (once he’s thrown Katherine off a cliff, or something, to make it seem more final. After all, we all saw what happened with Elijah! 😉 ). And Elena and Stefan both rush to comfort him, as the screen fades to black.

    (Then Ian Somerhalder wins a much deserved Emmy for his performance, of course. ;))

    • Spidey Sense

      Aww, *blush*!

      I admit, I get fixated on my favourite ships too. If asked, I could reel off a spiel of facts about Kefan, Forwood and, of course, Delena, without blinking.

      But when I was preparing for this post, I was shocked at how little I had examined this couple.

      I mean, Damon is THE character of the Vampire Diaries for us, and Katherine not only turned him, but she made Damon Damon. The pains the writers have taken in drawing parallels between her behaviour and Damon’s is evidence of that. So to understand who he is and the potential for his redemption, and what needs to happen for him to truly achieve this redemption, is firmly rooted in his relationship with her.

      In some ways, his relationship with Katherine has helped the Delena relationship be as special as it is. You would think that seeing the identical doppelganger of his lost love would be enough to turn Damon’s head, and that he might consider trying to replace Katherine with Elena. Yet Damon and Elena start the series as antagonists almost, and Damon clearly considers Elena a separate entity to Katherine, which makes his developing feelings for Elena on her own terms more believable. And this wouldn’t have been possible unless he was so consumed by Katherine that his feelings for her didn’t flicker to Elena at all initially.

      Damon’s capacity to love deeply is what keeps him in the anti-hero and not villain camp for me. Even if I can’t justify a character’s actions, if I can understand that they are motivated by a purer emotion it means that I can swallow them. So things like snapping Jeremy’s neck, which monstrous when written baldly like that, seem almost sympathetic in context.

      I think that the fact that Damon is so often a slave to his emotions might partly explain his popularity (the rest, of course, can be attributed to his insane hotness!). Who hasn’t done something stupid in the name of love or infatuation? Sure, the scale of Damon’s actions are obviously quite different, but as you so awesomely say, he is such a relatable character. Similarly, while I love the “good” version of Stefan, it is so nice that this is tempered by hints of darkness and the occasionally explosion of his “bad Stefan” side – perfection is intimidating and unrealistic.

      Haha, I will always champion the viewpoint that boy band music is so shallow that it is deep. Certainly, there are universal themes explored in their songs, which means that if I am ever at a loss for a mixtape track to include, boy bands are a reliable fallback.
      Besides, I’ll readily admit that I love trash, but at least if I am blogging about it in a semi-intelligent way and engaging with the stuff beyond a passive level, than I figure that I am covered.

      I love the Spoon song so much, and it was absolutely perfect in setting the tone for the “Veronica in detective mode” scene it was used in. I felt a bit agonised about using this song because it is a track that could be applied to so many of the angst-ridden couples I have coming up. But given Damon spent 145 years with his humanity switched off because of this woman, how could I not?

      The concept of being able to turn of your feelings completely is so cool. There have been so many times in the past when I’ve wished this was possible, so this was definitely the most awesome power that the Vampire Diaries vamps have. And unlike some vamps who lose their humanity against their will, the fact that this is a conscious choice is really interesting and a unique concept (as far as I know) in the vamp genre.

      I LOVE your idea for Katherine’s death at Damon’s hands. I think the love he had for her leaves the kind of scar you never fully get over, and I couldn’t imagine him killing her in cold blood; it would be an emotional decision that he would almost regret once doing. Kind of like how a suicidal person can regret jumping once they’ve launched themselves off the top of a building. In many ways killing Katherine would be like committing suicide, since she made him the vamp he now is.

      You know, it is criminal that none of the actors on this show are likely to get Emmy recognition, when they knock it out of the park every week. There aren’t just gorgeous ciphers on our screens; they create these complex, incredible individuals that clearly we can analyse and re-analyse ad nauseam. To be honest, there are plenty award favourite shows whose characters I can’t say the same thing about.

      Eh, the opinion of us bloggers is more important anyway!

  • Marc

    One question: Why use the spoon cover when you could have gone with original version by Pink Floyd? Eh? Eh?

    • Marc

      Oh, right, no clip. Nevermind.

    • Spidey Sense

      My brother will kill me for saying this, but I had no idea that this Spoon song was originally a Pink Floyd track.

      But I bet you know already from my mixtapes that my music head is largely stuck in the 1990s.

      I’ll rely on you to keep educating me 😉

      • Marc

        I’m even starting to doubt it’s a Pink Floyd song O.o

        I’ve been searching and searching and kind find it – my album collection is no help because I veer more towards the weirder side such as Ummagumma, Atom Heart Mother and A Saucerful of Secrets.

        So, uh, probably worth getting a second opinion.

  • imaginarymen

    Oooh another fabulous post Cherie!! I love the mixtape idea and have done many in my day – so I love all your song picks and great justification (w/ hot sexy pics and gifs!) to illustrate your point.

    Re-watching S1 w/ VictiMom, we are just at the part where Damon reveals his “Diabolical Master Plan” and seeing his hope being pinned on her rescue – knowing full well the outcome will not be what he wants – is heartbreaking.

    There’s still something to be said about Damon’s eternal love for Katherine which he is open and honest about from the start – and Stefan’s belief that he never loved her and was compelled to – yet he’s the brother who carries her picture around and starts a relationship with a girl who looks just like her. I’m hoping the fab writers get around to unwinding that little story.

    Also – “Tearin’ Up My Heart” is awesome. That is all.

    • Spidey Sense

      Awww! That means a lot coming from the person who introduced me to the Music Sex God all lesser gods must bow down before. And hot sexy pics will ALWAYS be a major theme of Spidey, shirtfulness be damned!

      Before Kat was humanised this season, finding out that she was not in the tomb made me want to punch her in her cute mouth. And I am not a violent person, promise!

      The thought of someone toying with our Damon and destroying his relationship with his brother, and then not even caring enough to give him closure for 145 years is something I still can’t quite fathom.

      It’s frankly amazing I can like Katherine as much as I do, even though her actions still make me steaming mad. Guess I admire a girl who doesn’t half-ass it with the crazy; she is whole-heartedly committed!

      Has your VictiMom seen Gorgeous Irresistible Wrecked Damon yet? Is this her first time watching s1 and you’re re-watching with her, or is she re-watching too? I CANNOT WAIT to hear what her first reaction is, if she is yet to see this many-splendoured sight for the first time.

      The writers are so good and it is no accident that there is a definite feeling of closure to the Datherine storyline now, whereas when I analysed Katherine and Stefan in their own mixtape there are still so many blanks left to fill in.

      For example, what was Stefan like on human blood? Is he more compatible with her on human blood than bunny blood? (assuming blood impacts your personality as I think it probably does). When exactly did he start hating her enough to change his tune from “you didn’t know her Lexi” to “The thing is, Katherine, is that I hate you?” Stefan has been putting his feelings aside for so long that I don’t think he has dealt with them, and I am looking forward to this biting him in the ass. Particularly as he is the brother usually ruled by his head, and not his heart.

      The interesting thing about Delena versus Stelena is that because Damon was Elena’s antagonist to begin with he wasn’t interested with impressing her; it was clear he viewed her as an entirely separate entity to Katherine, who he was obsessed with reuniting with.

      Whereas I believe in Stefan’s love for Elena, but I just can’t quite fight the feeling that there is some blur between Elena and Katherine in his heart. I predict something major will happen that will force him to confront feelings for her once and for all.

      Oh, and no one will ever convince me that boy band songs are anything but little sunbursts, rainbows and kittens of brilliance.

  • I turn my camera on lyrics spoon | ZuluPhoto

    […] Mixtape Mondays – Anti Love – Spidey Damon & Spidette Katherine … […]

Leave a Reply

