Mixtape Mondays – Usher Mix

I love you too, Usher!

The countdown has begun for Usher’s OMG Tour in Australia, and I recently picked up my tickets for the event and got to gaze at them with awe-struck wonder.

Currently, these tickets sit in a crystal vault, with a disco ball revolving above it. And with angels playing harps nearby. That is how much I dig Usher.

There are three songs of his that hold a particularly special place in my heart. I don’t think I shock anyone when I say that the letter “U” is involved in all of their titles.

U Remind Me

We’ve all heard about looks that can kill, but who would’ve thought they could kill a relationship?

I love this song because you can take it two ways. First, a guy is refuses to get together with a new girl because she looks to similar to someone who broke his heart in the past. Second, it can be interpreted as a guy refusing to get back together with an ex-girlfriend, because even though she looks the same physically, the heartbreak she caused him previously has changed the way that he perceives her.

Plus, how f**king sick is the little dance interlude he does in the clip to the sound “U, U, U, U, U, U, U?” And this song will go down in history as the one that introduced me to his red beanie over a white beanie combo.

U-Turn

 I like to think of this song as my instruction manual on how to play R&B twister. I will do the dance moves to this song on command. Even in very, very public places.

U Make Me Wanna

This is the song that first turned me into an Usher fangirl.

“What’s sad is that I love her, but I’m falling for you”

Truly a great dilemma.

Some might even call it an EPIC one 😉

 

Source

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

6 responses to “Mixtape Mondays – Usher Mix

  • Sara

    i’m surprised you have never listened to justin bieber if you love usher this much. usher’s his producer, ya know.

    • Spidey Sense

      Oh, I know, I know! I haven’t actively tried to NOT listen to Biebs… it’s just that I tend not to listen to top 40 anymore. I actually just find a random song, through recommendation or on a TV show, and if I love it enough I’ll buy the artist’s whole album and take a chance. I’ve discovered some of my favourite music that way.

  • Gen

    Usher! Love this man. Grew up on his music and I love that after all this time he’s still bringing it. That’s talent ladies and gentlemen. I love your picks, “U Make Me Wanna,” was constantly sung by yours truly when I was like 11 and didn’t understand what the hell the song was about lol.

    • Spidey Sense

      He truly is the consummate entertainer. Plus I love that he ain’t afraid to be cheesy and use the letter U in practically 90% of his song titles!

      I should make a mixtape about songs whose meaning I didn’t understand as a kid when I was singing them loud and proud. Next’s Too Close springs immediately to mind… Definitely listen to it if you’ve never heard of it, and you’ll know what I mean 😉

      • Gen

        Next’s “Too Close” was one of my favorite songs! I still listen to it regularly lol.

        That sounds like a pretty good idea if you ask me. The 90s were great lol.

        • Spidey Sense

          I love Too Close! 90s music was just so unafraid to be cheeky and even when songs were suggestive they usually had a bubblegum edge where it wasn’t too big a deal that it didn’t matter. Or at least, that’s the only reason why I can rationalise my parental units allowing me to listen to songs that could have warped my impressionable young mind with the subject matter!

Leave a Reply

