Tyler/Caroline Season Two Deleted Scene!

Two lines were egregiously removed from Vampire Diaries episode The Descent in season two.

One was Rose’s line, “It’s okay to love them both, you know”, which would have had an entirely different feel coming from Rose, as opposed to Katherine in the finale, what with Kat being such an unreliable narrator with a vested interest in the Salvatores remaining obsessed with her for eternity. The vested being her own belief that it is impossible for anyone to get over her. 😉

For Tyler/Caroline fans, it was his line, “Anything you need, I’m right here.”

Luckily, the season two DVD Gods have bestowed upon us a deleted scene containing this line. Click here for the original source when the delted scene leaked

Let’s dissect it, shall we?

GIFs courtesy of the lovely Cath from Caroline Forbes – The Vampire Diaries Tumblr

The scene kicks off with Tyler asking about Matt World.

Tyler: Why can’t you be with him?

Spidey: Tyler, did you forget the “I get it” scene already? C’mon, that’s my favourite, and I know you KNOW why Caroline is reluctant to be with Matt.

Caroline: I don’t wanna hurt him. Tyler: It’s not like you’re gonna rip out his jugular.

Captain Cardboard The Tool Haters: Dammit!

Spidey: Just wait til season three, maybe things will change. 😉

Other highlights of the clip: Tyler wonders if vampirism comes from Caroline’s dad’s side of the family. Aww, he thinks vampirism might be a gene like werewolfism is. I wonder if he thought Caroline would have to kill someone to trigger a vamp gene too. I do like that we are reminded of how Tyler is constantly questioning everything and everyone around him, even someone he trusts implicitly at this point like Caroline. He didn’t just swallow her explanation about being the only vampire in town; he wanted to understand how that was possible, and just assumed that it ran in her bloodline like the werewolf gene ran in his. So, I don’t think Tyler was clueless in this scene. He may live in a world where vampire/werewolf lore is well established in pop culture, but as a TV character living in a fictional world he doesn’t necessarily know how much of that is true and how much is Stephenie Meyer. I mean, Caroline hasn’t sparkled yet.

The seeds of Tyler’s belief that Caroline was purely lying to him were sowed in this scene. We have Caroline dodge his question about her vampirism, and then hug him to distract him about Elene’a situation, which he fleetingly has noticed. When he later talked to Jules, this strange behaviour on Caroline’s part would have appeared in a whole new light.

Tyler/Caroline huggage! Hands on waist!

Tyler thinking Caroline’s fear that Matt will reject her is absurd, since obviously he can’t contemplate how anyone wouldn’t dig someone so incredible is just made of win and rainbow sparkles.

Jules has a chat with Tyler at the end and asks if Caroline is his girlfriend. I LOVE that he hesitates before defining their relationship. Oh Jules, you may have ended up being a Forwood Unicorn Stomper, but you picked up on the vibe pretty quickly between them, I’ll give you that!

I’m not surprised they left this scene out. Tyler’s friendly concern for Matt/Caroline, even with the undertone of sexual tension throughout the scene, would have felt out of place before The Kiss. I mean, the whole proviso for The Kiss is that the knowledge Caroline stayed with him, even though she knew that a werewolf bite is fatal for vampires, meant his feelings got the better of him. As much as I adore every aspect of this scene, having friendly banter first and then the intense scene later would have felt weird, since you think Tyler would be itching to address the werewolf bite issue more strongly immediately. Then again, this scene showed it was obviously on his mind, and it could have just been by the final act that everything built up to a point where he couldn’t take it anymore.

So, yeah, I consider this canon.

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

11 responses to “Tyler/Caroline Season Two Deleted Scene!

  • Jo

    HAHA i loved it all and Jules foreshadowing what’s to come was classic! the hug was so sweet i sort of think that Tyler was a little disappointed tho cause our favorite wolf is already feeling the urges bless him. ❤ he's so adorable with his comment about caroline's father coming form a vampire line like his was. and she looked so pretty when he said he'd be around when she needed him. shy flirty smiles ftw y'all. 😉 chemistry at it's finest.

  • Charlotte

    Finally! We got that line from him. I am glad that they took it out though during the episode. Especially after what went down in the following episode. Also, it would have seem stupid for him to mention why to her when like you said he already said that he understood in a previous episode. It would have seemed like his short term memory got screwed up or something after transforming. Ahhh, the thought of Caroline ripping out Matt’s jugular will forever be in my mind now when I think of that tool. I didn’t think about it at first, but I can see why he might think vampirism is a gene thing like his is. Yay! Tyler and Caroline hug! I love his look when she says Matt might reject her. Of course Tyler would thinks it’s absurd, but then again this is Matt we’re talking about here. One of the biggest jerks to ever live…..hopefully for not much longer. Hehehe. Do you think this scene would have worked somewhere else? Maybe before or at least some of the conversation, but not all of that scene. I wonder if Jules was thinking what is it with Lockwood men and vampire women. First his uncle Mason then him. Didn’t Tyler’s dad hit on Anna’s mom too? Lockwood men and their vampires. 😉 I’ve been itching to get to your other posts too, but I haven’t had the time. It’s driving me crazy. Well, I will try to get to those posts as soon as I can. Talk to you later Spidey!

    • Spidey Sense

      I am just constantly impressed by how much foreshadowing and double meanings are packed into Tyler/Caroline scenes. Fingers crossed this attention to detail by the writers continues! Jules always strikes me as someone who is “with it”, so her noticing the Tyler/Caroline vibes was fabulous! TC hugging never fails to make me squee like a 16 year old. Tyler was definitely waking up to his feelings, as evident in his pause before defining what he and Caroline are, but also just his general demeanour towards Caroline. You can just TELL when people have that energy between them, you know?

      You are totally right about Lockwood men and their vampire fetish. Though Mrs Lockwood is not immune. I distinctly recall her flirting with Damon Salvatore drunkenly on a number of occasions 😉

      Yeah, I’m convinced the writers deliberately left out this scene because taunting us with the image of Matt’s jugular being ripped out, right before plunging us into Matt World, would have been cruel. Hehe!

  • oxymoron417

    Aw, I’m very glad we got to see this scene, and as awesome it was between the subtlety and the smiles, and the looks, and Tyler trusting her implicitly and being so cute with his “Does the Vampire-ism run on your dad’s side” as well as the comforting her regarding Matt being an uber douchesnozzle and dumping her being a crazy idea, I have to admit, it didn’t feel right with the episode.

    But I do wish it had been kept in, because I’m a crazy fangirl.

    Floved Jules asking if Caroline was his girlfriend. FORESHADOW.

    “I’m not surprised they left this scene out. Tyler’s friendly concern for Matt/Caroline, even with the undertone of sexual tension throughout the scene, would have felt out of place before The Kiss. I mean, the whole proviso for The Kiss is that the knowledge Caroline stayed with him, even though she knew that a werewolf bite is fatal for vampires, meant his feelings got the better of him. As much as I adore every aspect of this scene, having friendly banter first and then the intense scene later would have felt weird, since you think Tyler would be itching to address the werewolf bite issue more strongly immediately. Then again, this scene showed it was obviously on his mind, and it could have just been by the final act that everything built up to a point where he couldn’t take it anymore.”

    I agree, it would have felt out of place.

    “Tyler thinking Caroline’s fear that Matt will reject her is absurd, since obviously he can’t contemplate how anyone wouldn’t dig someone so incredible is just made of win and rainbow sparkles.”

    I am stealing that, ‘made of win and rainbow sparkes’. So great!!

    “Jules has a chat with Tyler at the end and asks if Caroline is his girlfriend. I LOVE that he hesitates before defining their relationship. Oh Jules, you may have ended up being a Forwood Unicorn Stomper, but you picked up on the vibe pretty quickly between them, I’ll give you that!”

    Hehe, yeah, Tyler, just friends. Lie! Denial!

    This is the second time. Remember at the Grill when she called Caroline his “little blonde vampire.”

    Jules, if you weren’t a torturing bitch I’d like you.

    By the way, you should check my new fic out on my tumblr, where Caroline gives Matt a piece of her mind!

    • Spidey Sense

      It’s interesting to me that Tyler, as much as he trusted Caroline, was still questioning and wondering and just generally being perceptive about their situation. Where a lot of people might have just accepted her explanation, Tyler is the type of person who will follow up is something doesn’t make sense. That’s why his lack of questioning in Daddy Issues/Crying Wolf, though understandable given the major physical and emotional transformations his life was going through at the time, just plain frustrated me. Tyler is remarkably astute about people’s motivations for doing things and is good at connecting the dots, or at least seeing when they are unconnected. It’s part of why he was an effective bully – he knew how to hit people where it would hurt most.

      This scene would have been good to include because it established his POV and persistence in questioning things as to why he would believe Jules so easily. In fact, I think that sections of it could have been included in the EyeFlirting (TM Amy) earlier in the episode, with the ending being the discovery that were bites are fatal to vamps. I honestly think the power of the kiss would have been dimishes and the TC scenes would have been disjointed had the scene been placed in the episode as is stands. It just would have been awesome if Tyler questioning the vampire bloodline and a few other things had been mentioned in his early conversation with Caroline, which was all too brief and cut short by a Caratty cockblocker.

      Hehe! Get used to rainbow sparkles and unicorn-related references in my recaps Forwood are my unicorn, and when I get excited about cuteness in my recaps I’ll throw out phrases like “a litter of puppies were born” and “Care Bares learned how to use their rainbow flares for the first time” 😉 I’ve loved unicorns in an ironic yet also unironic way ever since my Veronica Mars fandom days, so hence this little meme.

      Like 12 mentioned, it was hilarious seeing the wheels turning and cogs ticking away when Tyler was asked about whether Caroline is his girlfriend. Like Caroline, he is so used to perceiving his old acquaintance in a particular way that it must be weird re-adjusting his worldview all of a sudden.

      YESSSSSS! You’ve written new fic, and it centres around 3×01 no less? Unicorn bunnies are hopping all over the place! LOL, I just realized that bunnies like chewing on Caratts. Destiny!

      Your fic is amazing! Thanks for feeding my Tyler/Caroline love during this last month hiatus home stretch 😉

  • Gen

    My brain is fried so I won’t do an in depth comment like on your speculation post. I’m merely here to fangirl and flail. I woke up early this morning to a spam of messages in my tumblr inbox, most notably from Cath and you, about this scene. I believe you, Cath and I have probably had the, “That scene better be in the S2 DVD deleted scenes special features,” conversation once or twice. So I was ecstatic to finally be able to feast my eyes upon the perfectness that is our beautiful OTP. I was just having a twitter convo with Paloma about how mind blowing it is that Trevino and Candice can be so incredibly talented/hot/adorable/sexy all at the same time. I’ve come to the conclusion that they were genetically manufactured in some special lab for this type of human being, where only MT and CA were perfect success. The chemistry these two have in their scenes is so amazing it’s unbelievable at times. They cannot be that perfect? And yet you watch that scene and it’s not to hard to believe that truth. Tyler’s understanding of Caroline’s insecurities and fears was so believable that it makes it sting a little more remembering what happened in the very next episode. Caroline was so at ease with being herself and not hiding those neurotic tendencies because she whole-heartily trusts Tyler just as he did her and probably more so. 12_12_12’s reaction post pretty much sums up everything I feel about the scene. From giving the fans a little more insight to why Tyler did what he did in “Daddy Issues” to Caroline’s ease with being completely okay with having her little freak out moment with Tyler. Everything about this scene has swoon-worthy stamped all over it. Le sigh.

    • Spidey Sense

      GEN HE HAD HIS HANDS ON HER FREAKING WAIST! FLAIL FLAIL FLAIL

      Now, with that out of the way… 😉

      I was doing my final sweep of Tumblr/Twitter/spoiler boards as has been the case lately because you never know when something like TC SEX OMG is going to turn up on your dash.

      The “anything you need, I’m here” line made me melt SO MUCH when I saw that damn promo for The Descent, because I could hardly believe that Tyler Lockwood was expressing that romantic sentiment. It made me weak at the knees so having it removed made me shake my fist angrily at the writers. Given what went down afterwards, I think Paloma was right that Tyler was have been portrayed in an overwhelmingly negative light to offer unconditional caring and to not deliver, however confusing the situation he was embedded in became. So now we can revel in the awesomeness of our OTP. I can hardly wait for the season to begin, so we can get recapping and giffing and just generally flailing all over the place. It will be amazing and we will have no regrets.

      I definitely agree that Trevino and Candice were hatched in pods or something – genetics like that surely can’t be pure luck, right? Right?! Tyler/Caroline do have an unusual mix of sexy cuteness. Usually couples can pull off one or the other, but just like Caroline can switch emotionally gears really quickly, this couple can achieve every level of adorable that exists. On a meta level, the simple fact is, some actors just have oodles of chemistry, and then there are the portrayers of the Dawsons and Joeys that, well… Seriously though, every interaction between Candice and Roerig has been devoid of any passion, every makeout seemed clinical and orchestrated. Which of course, they were, but I forget that acting magic is at play when Trevino is gazing at Candice with those soulful eyes of his and she is lighting up in response. I don’t blame her though, I’d look like a human light bulb if I were her around Trevino 😉

      The best thing about the whole scene was definitely that Tyler and Caroline were completely themselves, so filter free and happy in each other’s presence. Caroline just has these little explosions of quirkiness and Tyler is snarky and completely and totally direct. I love that their personalities not only mesh, but they bring out the best in each other. I’m looking forward to them exchanging I Trust Yous in some format as much as I Love You. Remember Buffy’s line “I love you, but I don’t know if I trust you” to Angel? I want Tyler/Caroline to have it all, and be them against the world. And to have vampire puppies.

  • Gen

    Oh and CATH’S GIFS FTW!!

  • kjewls

    Sometimes when you see a deleted scene, it makes you wish it was included in the series. I remember seeing the TVD promos with Rose’s line and Tyler’s line in them, and being FURIOUS that they weren’t in their respective episodes.

    But now, all things considered, I think Kevin Williamson and co. made the right decision about both of them. As you mentioned the “It’s OK to Love them both” line was a lot more powerful coming from Katherine, than from Rose. After all, Katherine represents a part of Elena that she knows deep down is there, but isn’t quite ready to accept.

    Elena views Katherine as sadistic, heartless, manipulative and shallow. She sees what loving Katherine did to the Salvatore Brothers’ relationship. And she despises it. Elena probably looks in the mirror everyday, sees Katherine’s face staring back at her, and vows never to be like her.

    And yet, here she is, juggling the affections of the same two brothers that Katherine did, all those years ago. Experiencing feelings for both of them that she isn’t quite ready to allow herself to understand. Does that make her any better than Katherine was? She hopes so . . . but probably isn’t so sure, anymore.

    As for Tyler and Caroline, as sweet as this scene was, it does seem to negate the unspoken understanding that Tyler and Caroline had about the importance of honesty in a relationship. And it was THAT understanding that made Tyler so very hurt, when he learned that Caroline was dishonest with him. Additionally, Tyler mentioned that Caroline should just tell her mother what she was, when we know full well that Tyler has not told HIS own mother yet. So, that would sort of contradict our assumption that Tyler, like Caroline, realizes to some extent that knowledge has the power to put his loved ones at risk.

    I too thought it was interesting that Tyler immediately assumed that vampirism was genetic. (I guess, back when he was dating Vicki, she never forced him to see the Twilight movies with her. They were probably too busy having sex and getting high to go on a proper date. :)) Poor Caroline! You could see in her face, how tempted she was to explain to him that, “Hey DUMMY! I’m not a vampire, because it’s in my genetic, I’m a vampire, because I’m dead. DUH!”

    And yet, as Tyler reminded her, for Caroline to explain the ins and outs of vampiric transformation to him, would mean admitting that there was at least one other vampire in town, who turned her. I mean, sure, she could have explained away Katherine’s presence, as a random, one-time occurrence, but that would just pile lies, on top of more lies, wouldn’t it?

    As awful as Jules was, you can see in this scene that she really did seem to take a maternal interest in Tyler. She caught the undeniable chemistry between Tyler and Caroline, the minute she saw that extended hug between them. And when she sees Tyler blink extra hard, before answering whether Caroline is his girlfriend, (as if to say, “Not yet, but someday soon, I hope!”), you see a trace of sadness pass Jules’ visage.

    After all, in her mind, she believes that Caroline helped the Salvatore brothers kill Mason, and is manipulating the emotions of someone she cares about (much like Katherine ACTUALLY did with Mason, earlier in the season). Jules knows that Tyler is in for a world of hurt, when he learns about all this. And though she sucks, in general, and I’m not sorry she’s dead, I can’t help but feel sympathy for Jules, in her burden to be the messenger of that specific brand of bad news.

    On a lighter note, since, in earlier episodes, we had mainly seen Caroline “taking care” of Tyler and supporting him, it was really nice to see the tables turned here. In this scene, we have the usually stoic, “I’m not big on feelings,” Alpha male, making a genuine effort to support Caroline, advise her on her love life (no matter how painful it must be for him to do that), and reassure her that everything will be OK, even if some part of him probably knows that it won’t be. The fact that this “sensitive side” of Tyler is not native to his personality — given who his dad is, it’s certainly not how he was raised — and yet, he’s offering it up anyway, show’s just how much he cares for his Vampire Barbie.

  • Je t'adore

    This scene was beautiful, I can’t believe they cut it from the ep. This is why I’m mad at this show: it’s all about Elena, Damon and Stefan. God forbid they give other people more screentime. Sorry, rant.
    So about this scene, I loved how Tyler showed his appreciation for Caroline, for her being there for him when he needed it the most. She always calmed him down when he was upset, scared or mad. Now it was his turn and he did a splendid job.
    I’m always late to the party, I’m sorry chica. Everyone already commented and you guys pretty much said what was on my mind so I won’t bore you with my take on this deleted scene.
    Thank you for putting my gifs in your post. My photoshop was acting up that day and after I fixed it, I made better gifs of this scene. I’m sorry for the bad quality of these ones, they are pre-fixed photoshop. lol
    Also hi Gen and Julie.

    • Spidey Sense

      Hey Cath!

      Look at it this way bb – quality over quantity! Every bit of Tyler/Caroline we get is so packed of awesome, win and rainbow sparkles in season two that I’ll cut the writers slack… because all signs point to them upgrading the screentime of these characters in season three, so I think they’ve taken notice of fan response and love.

      I loved Tyler being there for Caroline the way she had been for him. Having a comforting presence from someone taken her seriously is equally as dramatic for The Placeholder Caroline as Tyler having someone come through for him like Caroline did during the transformation.

      Thank you so much for your quality GIFs. You and Gen are both flawless, and once I’d YouTubed the scene to death I just knew you’d have GIFs up instantly and there they were. I’ll update the GIFs when my computer stops being the slow bitch it currently is being 😉

Leave a Reply

