Buffy Rewatch – The Dark Age

buffythedarkage

Source

I thought I’d do something a little different for this review and do a stream of consciousness review.

Now, thoughts!

– THE DARK AGE. In which we find out what the hell is up with Giles.
– And the rest was silence. Silence and BLUE GOO.
– Giles has a significant dream for once! I was half-expecting Jenny to be in his bed. No luck.
– Really, Willow? Your fantasy involves Ziti?
– I still don’t get Xander’s choice of Amy Yip. Seems like one of those references that got dated about a day after the episode aired.
– The image of Baby Giles in Tweed Diapers is awesome.
– I love Jenny freaking Giles out by saying she destroyed his book.
– Giles is the sexiest fuddy-duddy!
– “No, I think I’d like to stay in.” HOTT
– KISSING! HOTT
– “I’ll see if I can make you squirm.” HOTT
– “It was a one-way street. I was going one way!” One of my all-time favorite Cordelia lines. Very Clueless.
– Wouldn’t you WANT the vamps to be getting blood from the blood bank rather than actual people? Well, I guess the blood is supposed to go to actual people who need transfusions. Still… where does Angel get his blood from? Because if I had to guess I’d say it’s the blood bank.
– ONLY TWO NAMES LEFT ON THE LIST OH NOES
– TATTOO OH NOES
– DEAD GUY WAKING UP OH NOES
– Saturday computer school with Ms. Calendar!
– ETHAN RAYNE OH NOES
– “It’s one of my virtues. …Not really.”
– Giles has such an old-school phone, it’s cute.
– “Why did he call him Ripper?” “Oh.”
– “This is what happens when you have school on Saturday.”
– NOES THE DEMON IS IN JENNY
– Your old-school phone is now DEAD
– I LOVE THAT OLD PICTURE OF GILES SO MUCH I WANT IT FOR MY WALL
– SO I CAN STARE AT IT AND SWOON
– SERIOUSLY ;jdfklsafl;j;akl
– Again, TATTOO OH NOES
– “If you two aren’t with me 110%, then get the hell out of my library!” Okay, so Willow should be a teacher and/or librarian and/or drill sergeant.
– ACID ON SKIN JESUS FUCKING CHRIST
– It’s like the Dark Mark! Giles can SENSE it!
– I really like the solution they come up with, with Angel and Angel’s VampDemon fighting Eyghon or however you spell that. And the way Angel’s face goes all wonky for a while. Hee.
– Jenny But of course because this is a Whedon show, nobody ever gets to be in a happy relationship. SIGH. JOSS WHEDON WHY MUST YOU CRUSH ALL OF OUR SHIPPING DREAMS.
– I like how Buffy cheers him up at the end by saying they have something in common and then letting him insult her music.
– “Bay City Rollers! That’s music.” LOLOL GILES. I would have thought you’d go for Vivaldi or something.

About Spidey Sense

Pop culture junkie, fangirl, arts and theatre lover, and The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and The Walking Dead obsessive. View all posts by Spidey Sense

One response to “Buffy Rewatch – The Dark Age

  • Andre

    Another episode I barely remember. The most vivid recollection was the demon’s mysoginism and Giles’ ripper behavior, but apart from that. I think the demon was pretty underwhelming. And did he seriously never possess a vampire before?
    Yeah can’t really say much about this episode.

Leave a Reply

